We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Sopa Lodge
Save Saved
You added Mara Sopa Lodge to your Saves list
C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley (Masai Mara Reserve) | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

As opposed to another Sopa lodge I'd reviewed this one was run much better. An awful long walk to the rooms but there are nice chaps to help you with it all.
Nice rooms, nice general areas, great chefs, free wifi in a lovely bar area, great staff.
It's got everything you need to have a great base when discovering the Masai Mara.
Rough roads close to the location but what do you expect?
Very recommended

Room Tip: Try a balloon morning. We went on, not kidding, the Hot Air Balloon company. Can't praise it up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    190
    70
    15
    8
See reviews for
98
173
26
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great place. Nice and quiet location. The staff is friendly and makes everything possible to make you feel at home. Rooms are big and clean, bathroom is big with all the neccesary. The only issue is noise from the next room, but if you have the same hours is not a problem.
Food is good (not great), with a good variety and spices.
Will come back for my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Everything about the lodge is nice, great and friendly staff. Nice and clean rooms. But no power during the day time. Free Wifi in the bar and lobby area with okay speed. The road from the park gate to the lodge is really bad. They need to work on this.

Room Tip: Select rooms near the reception if you have mobility problem or old because some of the rooms are re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The lodge is located in what I consider to be quite a remote area. We seemed to have to drive about 30 minutes before reaching the plains where game viewing became better.

We were assigned room 22 with two queen beds and a single, as we were triple occupancy. It shares a rondavel with room 21.

The room and bathroom was very spacious but was not well light. Hair dryers are available but you must ask at the front desk and it will be provided with deposit. Get it early in the afternoon as they don't have enough for each room. Amenities included 3 complimentary bottles of water (nightly), a safe and bath toiletries. There was limited counter space in the bathroom and limited tabletop surface for our stuff. So we used our third single bed as general "desk" area.

There is free WiFi but is available only in the reception and main bar area.

There are different activities each night--Masai dancing, night feeding of animals (mainly house cats come, we saw mongoose and that's about as exotic as it got).

During meals, we were seated with our bus mates. I think that's how they seat everyone so every single meal, you knew where you sat and with who and who will serve you. Meals are all buffet style.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Reasonably priced, excellent service & very comfortable place in Masai Mara. Rooms & service was good, food was simply outstanding. We had few vegetarian members & they loved the food. Bar was a bit costly, so take your own alcohol & ask for ice. Tea/coffee service was a bit patchy

Room Tip: Stay near the dining hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broolyn, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Only complaint: spent one night only...which was too short, would have loved to spend my entire time there. This place is very charming and I can't express in words how I loved the short time there. Starting with the necessities, wifi is free (best connection in the lobby on iPhone, some connection on iPad in room), several food selections for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Friendly and helpful staff. My tour via Friendly Planet, included a boat ride on Navaisha Lake in which I was able to view birds of different types and hippos. Animals roam the grounds such as giraffes, monkeys, deers, antelopes and the hippos came out at night. It was a fairly safe environment but at night everyone had to be escorted due to animal activities. Spotted a giraffe and hippo after dinner on my way back to the room. There's a gift shop for souvenir purchase. No ironing board nor iron in the room, wash cloth and bath towels provided, and other toiletries. The water pressure was a little low and the water was a little cool. A light jacket is needed for early morning and evenings as it gets a little cooler at those times. I really enjoyed my stay and wished I had spent longer there. Would definitely revisit and it gets my recommendation.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed in the Mara Sopa Lodge for one night while we were on safari, the journey to the lodge took us over an hour and a half over VERY bumpy roads, when we arrived we were met by porters who carried our bags to reception and later to our room. It was an easy sign in no fuss, had a welcome drink and towel to wipe away the dust from the road. Our room was 63 which was a 10 minute walk along a narrow path, so remember the higher the number the further you will have to walk. The rooms are just basic, 2 bottles of water are waiting for you, no tea/coffe facilites, TV or fridge. The hot water goes off at certain times of the day as does the electricity, check the times. This lodge was one of the first to be built in the maasai mara and it could do with a little bit of TLC. The dinning hall is well layed out, good choice of food and the staff are great. The bar area is very comfortable and well decorated. Overall it was a nice stay just wish the journey to it was a bit shorter.

Room Tip: Get a room close to main building, it will save you a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley (Masai Mara Reserve) | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.