We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking location for game drives” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mara Sopa Lodge to your Saves list
Mara Sopa Lodge
C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Cracking location for game drives”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as the first stop on the 5 night Kenya classic safari, it is literally right in one of the entrances to the park which makes for easy arrival and superb access to game drives. The first evening game drive from here was like safaris greatest hits seeing 4 of the 'big 5' within that time. Rooms are nice and spacious, although the adjoining walls are very thin which meant we could hear our next door neighbour urinate! Staff were friendly and food was tasty and of a good variety. This is not a 5 star safari lodge but my advice would be to stay somewhere like this because in actuality you will spend very little time in the hotel and even less in your room. This hotel had everything needed for an outstanding safari. We also took the balloon safari from this hotelx which was the highlight of the holiday,pricey but when will we ever do that again?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    207
    74
    17
    9
See reviews for
105
184
30
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Friendly welcome with hot towels and fruit juice, the lodges are arranged along a hill side overlooking a valley. The lodges are spacious and a split into two rooms per lodge, note that the dividing wall is very thin and so you can hear most of what is going on next door. As with a lot of lodges the water and electricity are not on during the afternoon and the night so you need to plan showers and charging electrical goods. The food was good and the buffet gave a good choice. A great base to see the Masai Mara.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Aussie
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

And now I was here. A horrible road to get there but it was all worth it. The lodge was excellent providing good food, buffett style for lunch and dinner in a very African style building. Very comfortable beds with nets and clean neat ensuite.. A good opportunity for relaxing , no TV no WIFI and no Phone. The safari drives here were amazing I loved every minute.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a honeymoon suite for ourselves and it was absolutely stunning. The scenery was great and our room was on an elevation so we had complete privacy. The staff were very friendly and as we had called ahead and informed that we were vegetarians they had quite a spread for us as well. Unforgetable

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple the suites higher up have more privacy and the walk is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed 2 nights on the Mara Sopa Lodge. We only were at the hotel at night, because during the day we were doing game views. The hotel was perfect for the purpose. The staff were very friendly. The lodge were near the places where did the game views. We were lucky to see all animals, almost all of the big five. The only one we missed was the leopard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Buffet food was great - pity no wifi - unlike the other more expensive lodges. The rooms were a bit far from the main hall but the staff were very friendly and helpful and at night would walk you to your rooms (they're all stationed along the walks in case people get scared). the rooms were massive - the bathrooms were clean and large as well. laundry service was quick and cheap. safari was great -saw four of the big five (except the rhino). the masai village is also within walking distance which was nice. u must try the hot air balloon ride at dawn - they pick u up from the lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Mara sopa lodge is excellent to get in the mood for the safari. It's well kept, clean. and in the night you hear a lot of animals.
The rooms are really nice and big.
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner was excellent lovely food and buffet style.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.