We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base to see the Masai Mara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Sopa Lodge
Save Saved
You added Mara Sopa Lodge to your Saves list
C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley (Masai Mara Reserve) | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A great base to see the Masai Mara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Friendly welcome with hot towels and fruit juice, the lodges are arranged along a hill side overlooking a valley. The lodges are spacious and a split into two rooms per lodge, note that the dividing wall is very thin and so you can hear most of what is going on next door. As with a lot of lodges the water and electricity are not on during the afternoon and the night so you need to plan showers and charging electrical goods. The food was good and the buffet gave a good choice. A great base to see the Masai Mara.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    190
    70
    15
    8
See reviews for
98
173
26
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Aussie
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

And now I was here. A horrible road to get there but it was all worth it. The lodge was excellent providing good food, buffett style for lunch and dinner in a very African style building. Very comfortable beds with nets and clean neat ensuite.. A good opportunity for relaxing , no TV no WIFI and no Phone. The safari drives here were amazing I loved every minute.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a honeymoon suite for ourselves and it was absolutely stunning. The scenery was great and our room was on an elevation so we had complete privacy. The staff were very friendly and as we had called ahead and informed that we were vegetarians they had quite a spread for us as well. Unforgetable

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple the suites higher up have more privacy and the walk is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed 2 nights on the Mara Sopa Lodge. We only were at the hotel at night, because during the day we were doing game views. The hotel was perfect for the purpose. The staff were very friendly. The lodge were near the places where did the game views. We were lucky to see all animals, almost all of the big five. The only one we missed was the leopard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Buffet food was great - pity no wifi - unlike the other more expensive lodges. The rooms were a bit far from the main hall but the staff were very friendly and helpful and at night would walk you to your rooms (they're all stationed along the walks in case people get scared). the rooms were massive - the bathrooms were clean and large as well. laundry service was quick and cheap. safari was great -saw four of the big five (except the rhino). the masai village is also within walking distance which was nice. u must try the hot air balloon ride at dawn - they pick u up from the lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Mara sopa lodge is excellent to get in the mood for the safari. It's well kept, clean. and in the night you hear a lot of animals.
The rooms are really nice and big.
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner was excellent lovely food and buffet style.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We went there as a group of friends, We enjoyed the stay although honestly,we've seen better service elsewhere(especially in the dining area). The rooms are really nice and big,but the service at the dining table could be much better.

The waiters seem unmotivated and not willing to assist in the dining area,but the chefs were really nice,and even took time to chat with us as we picked our food during dinner and breakfast. The Manager is also a really nice man & very welcoming, but it would help if the same cheer was spread to all members of staff

The feeding of bush babies and maasai dances in the evening is a plus,really loved it!

It would help if someone briefed guests upon arrival,as nobody bothered to tell us small details like the issue of hot water not being there all the time,as well as timings when the electricity goes off etc.. There's a lot of assumptions which is a minus on the reception/management bit

The food was nice and well done but if you're the last people to eat,then you miss out on most of it and sometimes it's served cold. Assuming the lodge always knows beforehand the number of people to expect,they should be a little bit more organized to ensure everyone gets enough food

Overall, if one isn't particular on minor details,it's a nice lodge to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley (Masai Mara Reserve) | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.