We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Sopa Lodge
Save Saved
You added Mara Sopa Lodge to your Saves list
C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley (Masai Mara Reserve) | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Lodge with Planer Safari from Nairobi. Whilst our visit was during the migration ewe still enjoyed the wildlife. The stay at the llodge was pleasant and relaxed. People were hospitable and meals were adequate. It was great relaxing on the lapa and next to the swimming pool overlooking the Mara plains.
Each thatched rondawel has 2 rooms. Unfortunately the dividing wall was not a very sound proof barrier.

Room Tip: The distance to the furthest room is quite far (and not level) which make it tiring to move between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    185
    66
    15
    8
See reviews for
94
170
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galax, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I've been to the Masai Mara twice and stayed in the Mara Sopa both times. Truthfully, I liked it better the first time. The property is lovely and the staff are very helpful, the pool is beautiful, but if there's a noisy group on the property you can hear them from five rooms away. The food is average and the distance to the reserve means that you spend a lot of time on really rough roads seeing nothing but Maasai cows and goats.

Next time I visit I'll fly in (the roads are bone jarring) and stay at one of the centrally located lodges.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We loved Sopa Lodge. The rooms were clean and spacious. The ambience was very tranquil. The food was good especially the buffet and the breakfast. We loved having our tea infront of the fireplace. We loved it and will return. Very nice pool area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It is too far from the main entrance to the national reserve. However once you are there, it is awesome. Good choice of food, very attractive property, local style with natural ambience. It comprise of beautiful single story cottages.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Sopa Lodge was a significant part of our enjoyable safari experience. Friendly staff, and good healthy buffet at every meal. Downside: Ceiling partition between rooms are thin so you can hear your neighbor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I would agree with other travellers' reviews. This was one of the lodges that we stayed at on a Pollmans/ Rangers safari, and this room was probably the "worst" but by no means was it bad. Here are the things that made it worst: pillows were awful, hardly any stuffing; there is a dearth of sockets in the room (so if you're staying here, remember to pack an extension lead). Food was pretty much the same every day. The porters are rather pushy: I know they want tips but it would be better if that was not quite so obvious.
On the plus side, the mosquito net was one that went all around the bed (rather than hanging centrally from a ceiling hook) . Complimentary drinking water (500 ml each) was supplied daily.
The night feed was interesting. Bird watching was easy from the balcony.
The Masai dance (evening entertainment) needed some explanation - none of us could work out the significance of the dance.
All in all this was OK: the pool was nice, but watch for baboons who can easily access the balcony.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Staying at Mara Sopa was fun because we were in a big group but we have visited much better lodges in the Mara. The rooms were average, with pretty poor scenic views and hot water ran out after 5 minutes. The food was also average and often ran out early... the desserts were not very good at all. The service was good and staff were attentive and polite. There was no WiFi at the lodge which is sad for the modern traveler has smart phones, iPads, laptops that require WiFi connectivity.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley (Masai Mara Reserve) | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.