We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mara Sopa Lodge to your Saves list
Mara Sopa Lodge
C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley (Masai Mara Reserve) | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It is too far from the main entrance to the national reserve. However once you are there, it is awesome. Good choice of food, very attractive property, local style with natural ambience. It comprise of beautiful single story cottages.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    201
    73
    16
    9
See reviews for
101
179
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Sopa Lodge was a significant part of our enjoyable safari experience. Friendly staff, and good healthy buffet at every meal. Downside: Ceiling partition between rooms are thin so you can hear your neighbor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I would agree with other travellers' reviews. This was one of the lodges that we stayed at on a Pollmans/ Rangers safari, and this room was probably the "worst" but by no means was it bad. Here are the things that made it worst: pillows were awful, hardly any stuffing; there is a dearth of sockets in the room (so if you're staying here, remember to pack an extension lead). Food was pretty much the same every day. The porters are rather pushy: I know they want tips but it would be better if that was not quite so obvious.
On the plus side, the mosquito net was one that went all around the bed (rather than hanging centrally from a ceiling hook) . Complimentary drinking water (500 ml each) was supplied daily.
The night feed was interesting. Bird watching was easy from the balcony.
The Masai dance (evening entertainment) needed some explanation - none of us could work out the significance of the dance.
All in all this was OK: the pool was nice, but watch for baboons who can easily access the balcony.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Staying at Mara Sopa was fun because we were in a big group but we have visited much better lodges in the Mara. The rooms were average, with pretty poor scenic views and hot water ran out after 5 minutes. The food was also average and often ran out early... the desserts were not very good at all. The service was good and staff were attentive and polite. There was no WiFi at the lodge which is sad for the modern traveler has smart phones, iPads, laptops that require WiFi connectivity.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumming, ga
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The roads in and out of the Mara Sopa were in desperate need of repair...a telling comment on the Mara Reserve...not on the the Sopa Management. There is a huge difference between the Mara Reserve ad the adjacent Mara Conservancy when it comes to money invested in building decent all-weather roads and their subsequent upkeep. Many of the roads were nearly impassable in early January. The reserve is poorly managed considering the tourist dollars generated by these game reserves.

With that said, a stay at the Sopa will not disappoint most travelers. The friendly staff looked after all our needs. The buffet food was quite good and plentiful, the wine, beer and beverages were fairly priced, and the rooms were clean and well attended to by the staff.

Please note that like many Eco-friendly rural game lodges in Africa, the Mara Sopa had limited hours with electricity and hot water. You will need to organize your day a bit to assure warm showers and properly charged camera batteries.

This lodge is located just inside the gate on the eastern end of the greater Masai Mara Game Reserve. The game in this area were plentiful and there is certainly a change in the terrain from the more open plains areas within the Conservancy to the west. We chose 3 nights in each location and would suggest you try the same if time allows.

We again worked with Julius Nzumbi at JT Safaris to organize our entire trip. You can't go wrong working with them! Email JTSafaris@yahoo.com to put together a reasonably priced turnkey guided safari package.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

this was definitely my least favorite lodge i stayed at during my safari. after staying at the sopa lodge in Samburu I was expecting something great and was looking forward to my stay here. there is no wifi at the lodge (the only lodge I stayed at that didn't have it) and i needed to make changes to my return flights home and was unable to do that there. also, i was surprised that the gift shop was closed when we checked in around 1pm.

the rooms are nice, but the walls were probably the thinnest of any lodge i stayed in and there was no view from the rooms. there are big trees right in front of the rooms that gave you more of a resort feel and less of any africa feel.

the food was not good either.

i will definitely stay somewhere else my next time in masai mara

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at this lodge for 4 days. The rooms were big, comfortable and clean. We could hear the Hyena at night. It was a bit creepy, especially when we were walking back to the room after dinner. The room was a bit of a walk, but we didn't mind. The exercise was good, especially after a good meal. The selection of food was pretty good. We had generous portions of servings. Special mention to Charles who waited on us. He was so polite, warm & friendly. The staff who greeted us as we waked in to the dining room, were friendly, and made you feel welcome.

They had a Hyena feeding time at 2230hrs.....we waited and waited, no hyena's. After a long wait, we saw a baby hyena. It shied away from the wild cats and mongoose who were feeding on the carcass. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley (Masai Mara Reserve) | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mara Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.