We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotelsclick.com
Mara Sopa Lodge
C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley (Masai Mara Reserve) | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
London, England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I would agree with other travellers' reviews. This was one of the lodges that we stayed at on a Pollmans/ Rangers safari, and this room was probably the "worst" but by no means was it bad. Here are the things that made it worst: pillows were awful, hardly any stuffing; there is a dearth of sockets in the room (so if you're staying here, remember to pack an extension lead). Food was pretty much the same every day. The porters are rather pushy: I know they want tips but it would be better if that was not quite so obvious.
On the plus side, the mosquito net was one that went all around the bed (rather than hanging centrally from a ceiling hook) . Complimentary drinking water (500 ml each) was supplied daily.
The night feed was interesting. Bird watching was easy from the balcony.
The Masai dance (evening entertainment) needed some explanation - none of us could work out the significance of the dance.
All in all this was OK: the pool was nice, but watch for baboons who can easily access the balcony.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    174
    64
    16
    8
See reviews for
89
161
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Staying at Mara Sopa was fun because we were in a big group but we have visited much better lodges in the Mara. The rooms were average, with pretty poor scenic views and hot water ran out after 5 minutes. The food was also average and often ran out early... the desserts were not very good at all. The service was good and staff were attentive and polite. There was no WiFi at the lodge which is sad for the modern traveler has smart phones, iPads, laptops that require WiFi connectivity.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumming, ga
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The roads in and out of the Mara Sopa were in desperate need of repair...a telling comment on the Mara Reserve...not on the the Sopa Management. There is a huge difference between the Mara Reserve ad the adjacent Mara Conservancy when it comes to money invested in building decent all-weather roads and their subsequent upkeep. Many of the roads were nearly impassable in early January. The reserve is poorly managed considering the tourist dollars generated by these game reserves.

With that said, a stay at the Sopa will not disappoint most travelers. The friendly staff looked after all our needs. The buffet food was quite good and plentiful, the wine, beer and beverages were fairly priced, and the rooms were clean and well attended to by the staff.

Please note that like many Eco-friendly rural game lodges in Africa, the Mara Sopa had limited hours with electricity and hot water. You will need to organize your day a bit to assure warm showers and properly charged camera batteries.

This lodge is located just inside the gate on the eastern end of the greater Masai Mara Game Reserve. The game in this area were plentiful and there is certainly a change in the terrain from the more open plains areas within the Conservancy to the west. We chose 3 nights in each location and would suggest you try the same if time allows.

We again worked with Julius Nzumbi at JT Safaris to organize our entire trip. You can't go wrong working with them! Email JTSafaris@yahoo.com to put together a reasonably priced turnkey guided safari package.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

this was definitely my least favorite lodge i stayed at during my safari. after staying at the sopa lodge in Samburu I was expecting something great and was looking forward to my stay here. there is no wifi at the lodge (the only lodge I stayed at that didn't have it) and i needed to make changes to my return flights home and was unable to do that there. also, i was surprised that the gift shop was closed when we checked in around 1pm.

the rooms are nice, but the walls were probably the thinnest of any lodge i stayed in and there was no view from the rooms. there are big trees right in front of the rooms that gave you more of a resort feel and less of any africa feel.

the food was not good either.

i will definitely stay somewhere else my next time in masai mara

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at this lodge for 4 days. The rooms were big, comfortable and clean. We could hear the Hyena at night. It was a bit creepy, especially when we were walking back to the room after dinner. The room was a bit of a walk, but we didn't mind. The exercise was good, especially after a good meal. The selection of food was pretty good. We had generous portions of servings. Special mention to Charles who waited on us. He was so polite, warm & friendly. The staff who greeted us as we waked in to the dining room, were friendly, and made you feel welcome.

They had a Hyena feeding time at 2230hrs.....we waited and waited, no hyena's. After a long wait, we saw a baby hyena. It shied away from the wild cats and mongoose who were feeding on the carcass. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Having stayed at the Mara Sopa Lodge before, I booked another stay for a safari trip last week - January 2013. I was so disappointed in the Lodge this time that I would not stay there again. Whether under new management or whatever, the quality of the food served was well below standard and they were so stingy with serving portions that we almost felt quity asking for a little more food. Also, at breakfast, they were out of fruit and other food items by 7:30 in the morning and did not appear to be too interested in replenishing. We also found the bathroom in our room to be unappealingly dirty. The walls and floors needed serious attention.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at this lodge for 2 nights on a 14 day safari.

The rooms were large, clean, and the bed comfortable. The bathrooms were huge and the shower very nice! Excellent pressure and temperature to cool off and clean yourself after a long day of driving.

The food was tasty - they have to appease a large range of diets. Tons of vegetarian indian food. I'm not a fish fan but they had the most fantastic fish ever! The food variety is similar to all the other lodges ie lots of rice, potatoes, bread, and an assortment of meat. It was a buffet style serving process.

In the rooms they give you 2 bottles of water which is nice.

I really enjoyed my stay here and liked the bushbaby feedings that they have. The staff was friendly and nice. Overall considering where you are and how far from civilization this lodge is it is very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve
Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley (Masai Mara Reserve) | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Mara Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mara Sopa Lodge to your Saves list