We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“least favorite” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Sopa Lodge
Save Saved
You added Mara Sopa Lodge to your Saves list
C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley (Masai Mara Reserve) | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“least favorite”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

this was definitely my least favorite lodge i stayed at during my safari. after staying at the sopa lodge in Samburu I was expecting something great and was looking forward to my stay here. there is no wifi at the lodge (the only lodge I stayed at that didn't have it) and i needed to make changes to my return flights home and was unable to do that there. also, i was surprised that the gift shop was closed when we checked in around 1pm.

the rooms are nice, but the walls were probably the thinnest of any lodge i stayed in and there was no view from the rooms. there are big trees right in front of the rooms that gave you more of a resort feel and less of any africa feel.

the food was not good either.

i will definitely stay somewhere else my next time in masai mara

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    185
    67
    15
    8
See reviews for
95
170
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at this lodge for 4 days. The rooms were big, comfortable and clean. We could hear the Hyena at night. It was a bit creepy, especially when we were walking back to the room after dinner. The room was a bit of a walk, but we didn't mind. The exercise was good, especially after a good meal. The selection of food was pretty good. We had generous portions of servings. Special mention to Charles who waited on us. He was so polite, warm & friendly. The staff who greeted us as we waked in to the dining room, were friendly, and made you feel welcome.

They had a Hyena feeding time at 2230hrs.....we waited and waited, no hyena's. After a long wait, we saw a baby hyena. It shied away from the wild cats and mongoose who were feeding on the carcass. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Having stayed at the Mara Sopa Lodge before, I booked another stay for a safari trip last week - January 2013. I was so disappointed in the Lodge this time that I would not stay there again. Whether under new management or whatever, the quality of the food served was well below standard and they were so stingy with serving portions that we almost felt quity asking for a little more food. Also, at breakfast, they were out of fruit and other food items by 7:30 in the morning and did not appear to be too interested in replenishing. We also found the bathroom in our room to be unappealingly dirty. The walls and floors needed serious attention.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at this lodge for 2 nights on a 14 day safari.

The rooms were large, clean, and the bed comfortable. The bathrooms were huge and the shower very nice! Excellent pressure and temperature to cool off and clean yourself after a long day of driving.

The food was tasty - they have to appease a large range of diets. Tons of vegetarian indian food. I'm not a fish fan but they had the most fantastic fish ever! The food variety is similar to all the other lodges ie lots of rice, potatoes, bread, and an assortment of meat. It was a buffet style serving process.

In the rooms they give you 2 bottles of water which is nice.

I really enjoyed my stay here and liked the bushbaby feedings that they have. The staff was friendly and nice. Overall considering where you are and how far from civilization this lodge is it is very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Pros: variety of food, comfortable bed, mosquito net around entire bed.

Cons: very large resort. Overpriced water make sure to bring your own. Hot water and electricy are sporatic.

Staff was nice but clearly always looking for a tip, that gets tiring.

Was booked as part of Wildfun Adventure tours. Would not book again for ourselves. Enjoyed hyena feeding at 10pm.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent two nights at the Mara Sopa lodge during a ten-day safari. Overall, this place was ok. The food was very generic and very underwhelming, and was the worst we had on our safari. The rooms were nice, but relatively small and the view from the balcony wasn't too great. The pool shuts down after 6pm, which makes it worthless for anyone that wants to be out of the lodge seeing the animals. The location inside the park is nice, except that every time we went out on a game drive we ended up driving back to the park gate to take another road into the reserve. So really, we would have been just as close (if not closer) to the action by staying just outside the park. The staff are friendly but the tip issue is always kind of awkward. Add in the fact that the 'animal feeding' consisted of small cat-like creatures milling around for half an hour (they say there will be hyaenas but they never showed) and the fact that the 'complimentary water' is a pittance and you'll see why this place isn't quite worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hounslow, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very popular lodge for the traveller keeping an eye on budgets. Very Family Friendly, good for kids. Excellent location on the Mara Boundary. The bumpy ride towards the Mara Plains is inevitable for travellers to any lodge - Hope Narok County Council get the message!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley (Masai Mara Reserve) | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.