We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mara Sopa Lodge to your Saves list
Mara Sopa Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at this lodge for 4 days. The rooms were big, comfortable and clean. We could hear the Hyena at night. It was a bit creepy, especially when we were walking back to the room after dinner. The room was a bit of a walk, but we didn't mind. The exercise was good, especially after a good meal. The selection of food was pretty good. We had generous portions of servings. Special mention to Charles who waited on us. He was so polite, warm & friendly. The staff who greeted us as we waked in to the dining room, were friendly, and made you feel welcome.

They had a Hyena feeding time at 2230hrs.....we waited and waited, no hyena's. After a long wait, we saw a baby hyena. It shied away from the wild cats and mongoose who were feeding on the carcass. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    226
    85
    18
    12
See reviews for
118
197
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Having stayed at the Mara Sopa Lodge before, I booked another stay for a safari trip last week - January 2013. I was so disappointed in the Lodge this time that I would not stay there again. Whether under new management or whatever, the quality of the food served was well below standard and they were so stingy with serving portions that we almost felt quity asking for a little more food. Also, at breakfast, they were out of fruit and other food items by 7:30 in the morning and did not appear to be too interested in replenishing. We also found the bathroom in our room to be unappealingly dirty. The walls and floors needed serious attention.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at this lodge for 2 nights on a 14 day safari.

The rooms were large, clean, and the bed comfortable. The bathrooms were huge and the shower very nice! Excellent pressure and temperature to cool off and clean yourself after a long day of driving.

The food was tasty - they have to appease a large range of diets. Tons of vegetarian indian food. I'm not a fish fan but they had the most fantastic fish ever! The food variety is similar to all the other lodges ie lots of rice, potatoes, bread, and an assortment of meat. It was a buffet style serving process.

In the rooms they give you 2 bottles of water which is nice.

I really enjoyed my stay here and liked the bushbaby feedings that they have. The staff was friendly and nice. Overall considering where you are and how far from civilization this lodge is it is very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Pros: variety of food, comfortable bed, mosquito net around entire bed.

Cons: very large resort. Overpriced water make sure to bring your own. Hot water and electricy are sporatic.

Staff was nice but clearly always looking for a tip, that gets tiring.

Was booked as part of Wildfun Adventure tours. Would not book again for ourselves. Enjoyed hyena feeding at 10pm.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent two nights at the Mara Sopa lodge during a ten-day safari. Overall, this place was ok. The food was very generic and very underwhelming, and was the worst we had on our safari. The rooms were nice, but relatively small and the view from the balcony wasn't too great. The pool shuts down after 6pm, which makes it worthless for anyone that wants to be out of the lodge seeing the animals. The location inside the park is nice, except that every time we went out on a game drive we ended up driving back to the park gate to take another road into the reserve. So really, we would have been just as close (if not closer) to the action by staying just outside the park. The staff are friendly but the tip issue is always kind of awkward. Add in the fact that the 'animal feeding' consisted of small cat-like creatures milling around for half an hour (they say there will be hyaenas but they never showed) and the fact that the 'complimentary water' is a pittance and you'll see why this place isn't quite worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hounslow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very popular lodge for the traveller keeping an eye on budgets. Very Family Friendly, good for kids. Excellent location on the Mara Boundary. The bumpy ride towards the Mara Plains is inevitable for travellers to any lodge - Hope Narok County Council get the message!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during our seven day Kenyan Safari. We were pretty happy with the quality of the room-- size, cleanliness. The decoration is like a handsome, safari, lodge with rich wood colors. It's a little dated looking, but no big deal. The mosquito net is great. It wraps completely around the bed, with the ends attached to the wall and other ends overlapping in the middle. Fool proof. The shower is spacious and kind of inviting. The hot water will run out and the electricity is limited, as it runs on generator. The only thing is, you can hear every word your neighbor is saying as if they are in your room. Terrible. Especially if your neighbors sleep later than you and wake up earlier! It's really because they stack all the guests on top of each other even if the lodge isn't fully booked. Must also be another Kenyan custom, as we do not do that in the US. We value privacy.

Skip the buffet line and the food is decent at the stir fry station, with fresh meats cooked by a chef. Apparently, it's an African thing across the board not to include any sort of beverages with meals (except breakfast). It's kind of inconvenient because water is essential. The staff is friendly, but kind of overly friendly. It's a little awkward. I would not recommend this place to couples as a romantic place because it was overrun with noisy kids when we were there. Perfect for families though! However, it was one of the better places we stayed at and comfortable for a couple of nights.

Oh yeah, this place does not have WiFi, so checking-in to brag on Facebook is a fail.

Room Tip: Try to get a room without a neighbor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
10.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
34.9 mi away
Sentrim Mara
Sentrim Mara
#95 of 134 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
25.6 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#63 of 134 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Ol-moran Tented Camp
#99 of 134 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Sopa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mara Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.