We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay at Mara Sopa Lodge” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Sopa Lodge
Save
You added Mara Sopa Lodge to your Saves list
C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley (Masai Mara Reserve) | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Recent stay at Mara Sopa Lodge”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Having stayed at the Mara Sopa Lodge before, I booked another stay for a safari trip last week - January 2013. I was so disappointed in the Lodge this time that I would not stay there again. Whether under new management or whatever, the quality of the food served was well below standard and they were so stingy with serving portions that we almost felt quity asking for a little more food. Also, at breakfast, they were out of fruit and other food items by 7:30 in the morning and did not appear to be too interested in replenishing. We also found the bathroom in our room to be unappealingly dirty. The walls and floors needed serious attention.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    205
    74
    16
    9
See reviews for
104
180
29
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at this lodge for 2 nights on a 14 day safari.

The rooms were large, clean, and the bed comfortable. The bathrooms were huge and the shower very nice! Excellent pressure and temperature to cool off and clean yourself after a long day of driving.

The food was tasty - they have to appease a large range of diets. Tons of vegetarian indian food. I'm not a fish fan but they had the most fantastic fish ever! The food variety is similar to all the other lodges ie lots of rice, potatoes, bread, and an assortment of meat. It was a buffet style serving process.

In the rooms they give you 2 bottles of water which is nice.

I really enjoyed my stay here and liked the bushbaby feedings that they have. The staff was friendly and nice. Overall considering where you are and how far from civilization this lodge is it is very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Pros: variety of food, comfortable bed, mosquito net around entire bed.

Cons: very large resort. Overpriced water make sure to bring your own. Hot water and electricy are sporatic.

Staff was nice but clearly always looking for a tip, that gets tiring.

Was booked as part of Wildfun Adventure tours. Would not book again for ourselves. Enjoyed hyena feeding at 10pm.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent two nights at the Mara Sopa lodge during a ten-day safari. Overall, this place was ok. The food was very generic and very underwhelming, and was the worst we had on our safari. The rooms were nice, but relatively small and the view from the balcony wasn't too great. The pool shuts down after 6pm, which makes it worthless for anyone that wants to be out of the lodge seeing the animals. The location inside the park is nice, except that every time we went out on a game drive we ended up driving back to the park gate to take another road into the reserve. So really, we would have been just as close (if not closer) to the action by staying just outside the park. The staff are friendly but the tip issue is always kind of awkward. Add in the fact that the 'animal feeding' consisted of small cat-like creatures milling around for half an hour (they say there will be hyaenas but they never showed) and the fact that the 'complimentary water' is a pittance and you'll see why this place isn't quite worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hounslow, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very popular lodge for the traveller keeping an eye on budgets. Very Family Friendly, good for kids. Excellent location on the Mara Boundary. The bumpy ride towards the Mara Plains is inevitable for travellers to any lodge - Hope Narok County Council get the message!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during our seven day Kenyan Safari. We were pretty happy with the quality of the room-- size, cleanliness. The decoration is like a handsome, safari, lodge with rich wood colors. It's a little dated looking, but no big deal. The mosquito net is great. It wraps completely around the bed, with the ends attached to the wall and other ends overlapping in the middle. Fool proof. The shower is spacious and kind of inviting. The hot water will run out and the electricity is limited, as it runs on generator. The only thing is, you can hear every word your neighbor is saying as if they are in your room. Terrible. Especially if your neighbors sleep later than you and wake up earlier! It's really because they stack all the guests on top of each other even if the lodge isn't fully booked. Must also be another Kenyan custom, as we do not do that in the US. We value privacy.

Skip the buffet line and the food is decent at the stir fry station, with fresh meats cooked by a chef. Apparently, it's an African thing across the board not to include any sort of beverages with meals (except breakfast). It's kind of inconvenient because water is essential. The staff is friendly, but kind of overly friendly. It's a little awkward. I would not recommend this place to couples as a romantic place because it was overrun with noisy kids when we were there. Perfect for families though! However, it was one of the better places we stayed at and comfortable for a couple of nights.

Oh yeah, this place does not have WiFi, so checking-in to brag on Facebook is a fail.

Room Tip: Try to get a room without a neighbor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

This was the last stop in our safari holiday, and the must basic of the four. The location is great and this was the first one inside the actual park, although still a bumpy drive to where the animals are mainly located. The huts are adequate, however the sound proofing is not and you can hear every word from your neighbour! We had upset stomachs from the previous location so were unable to eat any food while here, but it looked delicious and the meat was freshly cooked while you waited which was different from other lodges. I do feel it is very poor that you are charged for water with meals. Water varies in cost and we bought a load from a supermarket in the end for on the safari and in the room. If you are doing a balloon flight you will find it us about one hour drive away and very very bumpy roads here! There was a small pool at the hotel and I saw the baboons, but they were not near the rooms. Overall a good experience which I'm sure we would have enjoyed more had we not been so ill!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley (Masai Mara Reserve) | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.