We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your own water.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Sopa Lodge
C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley (Masai Mara Reserve) | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Broadbeach, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bring your own water.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Pros: variety of food, comfortable bed, mosquito net around entire bed.

Cons: very large resort. Overpriced water make sure to bring your own. Hot water and electricy are sporatic.

Staff was nice but clearly always looking for a tip, that gets tiring.

Was booked as part of Wildfun Adventure tours. Would not book again for ourselves. Enjoyed hyena feeding at 10pm.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    180
    65
    15
    8
See reviews for
91
168
23
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent two nights at the Mara Sopa lodge during a ten-day safari. Overall, this place was ok. The food was very generic and very underwhelming, and was the worst we had on our safari. The rooms were nice, but relatively small and the view from the balcony wasn't too great. The pool shuts down after 6pm, which makes it worthless for anyone that wants to be out of the lodge seeing the animals. The location inside the park is nice, except that every time we went out on a game drive we ended up driving back to the park gate to take another road into the reserve. So really, we would have been just as close (if not closer) to the action by staying just outside the park. The staff are friendly but the tip issue is always kind of awkward. Add in the fact that the 'animal feeding' consisted of small cat-like creatures milling around for half an hour (they say there will be hyaenas but they never showed) and the fact that the 'complimentary water' is a pittance and you'll see why this place isn't quite worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hounslow, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very popular lodge for the traveller keeping an eye on budgets. Very Family Friendly, good for kids. Excellent location on the Mara Boundary. The bumpy ride towards the Mara Plains is inevitable for travellers to any lodge - Hope Narok County Council get the message!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during our seven day Kenyan Safari. We were pretty happy with the quality of the room-- size, cleanliness. The decoration is like a handsome, safari, lodge with rich wood colors. It's a little dated looking, but no big deal. The mosquito net is great. It wraps completely around the bed, with the ends attached to the wall and other ends overlapping in the middle. Fool proof. The shower is spacious and kind of inviting. The hot water will run out and the electricity is limited, as it runs on generator. The only thing is, you can hear every word your neighbor is saying as if they are in your room. Terrible. Especially if your neighbors sleep later than you and wake up earlier! It's really because they stack all the guests on top of each other even if the lodge isn't fully booked. Must also be another Kenyan custom, as we do not do that in the US. We value privacy.

Skip the buffet line and the food is decent at the stir fry station, with fresh meats cooked by a chef. Apparently, it's an African thing across the board not to include any sort of beverages with meals (except breakfast). It's kind of inconvenient because water is essential. The staff is friendly, but kind of overly friendly. It's a little awkward. I would not recommend this place to couples as a romantic place because it was overrun with noisy kids when we were there. Perfect for families though! However, it was one of the better places we stayed at and comfortable for a couple of nights.

Oh yeah, this place does not have WiFi, so checking-in to brag on Facebook is a fail.

Room Tip: Try to get a room without a neighbor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

This was the last stop in our safari holiday, and the must basic of the four. The location is great and this was the first one inside the actual park, although still a bumpy drive to where the animals are mainly located. The huts are adequate, however the sound proofing is not and you can hear every word from your neighbour! We had upset stomachs from the previous location so were unable to eat any food while here, but it looked delicious and the meat was freshly cooked while you waited which was different from other lodges. I do feel it is very poor that you are charged for water with meals. Water varies in cost and we bought a load from a supermarket in the end for on the safari and in the room. If you are doing a balloon flight you will find it us about one hour drive away and very very bumpy roads here! There was a small pool at the hotel and I saw the baboons, but they were not near the rooms. Overall a good experience which I'm sure we would have enjoyed more had we not been so ill!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Friendly staff, good food and excellent location. The rooms are quaint with a bush feel to them. The decor is natural and blends well into the landscape. Wildlife abound around the hotel and wandering off the property without a guide is not recommended! The little Masai village is a good place for quick souvenir shopping at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Well in hindsight I would not have taken it! It is not so horrid if one can get used to no fridge and no electricity which is only available at certain hours...yes they have prime position so there is not an alternative unless you want to sleep in the bush next to the wilderness and the animals that prowl.
I was not alone in getting an upset tummy as well as being upset by the reception staff!!! Have fun it will only last 2 nights and the safari should more than make up!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley (Masai Mara Reserve) | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mara Sopa Lodge to your Saves list