We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mara Sopa Lodge to your Saves list
Mara Sopa Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Martlesham Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were forced to stay at the Sopa Lodge when Somak Holidays let us down. We had booked 2 nights at Keekorok and told last minute that it was over-booked.

It was dark, dingy and not very welcoming. The rooms were below average - the walls were so thin I could hear the gent next door snoring and pretty much every aspect of the couple's conversation the following morning. The food was average, the service average. I think that about sums it up!

(No fitness centre and didn't get room service)

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    217
    81
    18
    10
See reviews for
114
192
34
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Nice room and food. It was a large lodge so it had a bit of a resort feel -- a bit impersonal, but good facilities. Pool with a view overlooking the Masai Mara was wonderful. Beware the baboons that hang around :p

Only negative was that the hot water ran out -- awful!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for 1 day during our safari trip and we really loved it. The plan was that we would arrive during lunch but we arrived later and they kept the restaurant open for us so that we could have lunch. We really loved that because we arrived at three and lunch was till two. The ambiance is great, especially the bar and lounge with all the wooden materials. In the evening there was a Masaai Mara show wich we loved. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are clean and not so big.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed at Mara Sopa Lodge for 3 nights and my experience was good. The lodge is situated within the Masai Mara National Park and one feel very close to nature while staying in Sopa lodge. The rooms are precious and well maintained. The bathroom was clean and supplied with hot water. The dining hall is bit and staffs are friendly. There are many options of food in lunch and dinner starting from vegan options to many meat and fish options. The lodge organize BBQ for dinner once or twice a week, while I was there for 3 nights the BBQ was there for one night. The breakfast were serve early morning starting from 6:30 am in the morning and there are many options for breakfast. The lodge also organize Masai tribal dance few times a week which is very entertaining. At around 10 pm every night the lodge feed wild animals (jackal and hyena) which is also a interesting site for animal enthusiast. The only negative thing I found was the exorbitant high price for alcohol are water in the lodge. One small (500 ml) bottle of water cost 200 Kenyan Shilling while I bought 1.5 liter bottle from Nairobi supermarket for 60 Kenyan Shilling. Overall, I will recommend this lodge as a nice place to stay while in Masai Mara.

Room Tip: If you are afraid of walking alone at night, try to take rooms near to the main building of the lodg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This lodge is huge with a lot of rooms. We reserved 6 rooms for 12 people. It was a good stay.

* All meals are included in our package. Decent selections. Drinks are charged separately.
* Water and electronic are not served 24 hours. They have strict hours in the morning and night. I can understand that is to save the energy but felt inconvenient.
* The rooms were clean and basic. A lot of mosquitoes even with the net hanging.
* There is no internet. They said it has been broken for a while.
* Location is good, inside the park. Convenient for games.
* There are some activities at night, like feeding Coyotes, Baboons...
* The stuff are friendly but they like to grab your luggage aggressively for tips.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koumac, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed with my husband at Mara Sopa Lodge for two nights in September 2012.
That's a big lodge with all the facilities.
It's made of a main building (nice wooden structure with restaurant and bar) and of many bungalows around it. Some of the bungalows are quite far but peaceful and there are watchmen at night to make sure you get to your room safely.
When you arrive, the people at the reception will give you plenty of useful information (like timetables for meals, hot water and electricity, activities, etc.).
The main activities are bushbaby feeding at the bar around 6pm, and hyena feeding at the other bar down the swimming pool at 10pm. You need to be patient sometimes for the hyenas since they are very shy. It seems they always come though.
About the restaurant and bar, food is ok, service is slow and drinks are really expensive.
You don't need to go far from the lodge to see lions since it's located in a good area to spot them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our group of 8 stayed at the Mara Sopa Lodge during the Masai Mara leg of our safari in early July. It was truly an adventure for us and we loved it! Guests are assigned to their own bungalows which are sprawled across the property. Ours was further out from the main hall (where the pool, reception and dining rooms are located) but it wasn't a major trek. We found our rooms to be very comfortable and the furniture was beautiful. We ate well during all of the meals. The food is served buffet style and there were many delicious options every night. There are no tvs (except for the one in the main building lounge) but they do have live entertainment, workshops and activities, including the nightly hyena feeding, which you will not want to miss. The lodge staff was very helpful and accommodating. The manager, Brian, was there during most of our stay and was very helpful both during and after our stay. Overall all it was a wonderful stay. I would definitely recommend it and go there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#63 of 131 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
34.9 mi away
Sentrim Mara
Sentrim Mara
#90 of 131 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
34.9 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#54 of 131 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Sopa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mara Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.