We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities, but problems with hot water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mara Sopa Lodge to your Saves list
Mara Sopa Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good facilities, but problems with hot water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Nice room and food. It was a large lodge so it had a bit of a resort feel -- a bit impersonal, but good facilities. Pool with a view overlooking the Masai Mara was wonderful. Beware the baboons that hang around :p

Only negative was that the hot water ran out -- awful!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    214
    77
    17
    9
See reviews for
111
191
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for 1 day during our safari trip and we really loved it. The plan was that we would arrive during lunch but we arrived later and they kept the restaurant open for us so that we could have lunch. We really loved that because we arrived at three and lunch was till two. The ambiance is great, especially the bar and lounge with all the wooden materials. In the evening there was a Masaai Mara show wich we loved. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are clean and not so big.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed at Mara Sopa Lodge for 3 nights and my experience was good. The lodge is situated within the Masai Mara National Park and one feel very close to nature while staying in Sopa lodge. The rooms are precious and well maintained. The bathroom was clean and supplied with hot water. The dining hall is bit and staffs are friendly. There are many options of food in lunch and dinner starting from vegan options to many meat and fish options. The lodge organize BBQ for dinner once or twice a week, while I was there for 3 nights the BBQ was there for one night. The breakfast were serve early morning starting from 6:30 am in the morning and there are many options for breakfast. The lodge also organize Masai tribal dance few times a week which is very entertaining. At around 10 pm every night the lodge feed wild animals (jackal and hyena) which is also a interesting site for animal enthusiast. The only negative thing I found was the exorbitant high price for alcohol are water in the lodge. One small (500 ml) bottle of water cost 200 Kenyan Shilling while I bought 1.5 liter bottle from Nairobi supermarket for 60 Kenyan Shilling. Overall, I will recommend this lodge as a nice place to stay while in Masai Mara.

Room Tip: If you are afraid of walking alone at night, try to take rooms near to the main building of the lodg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This lodge is huge with a lot of rooms. We reserved 6 rooms for 12 people. It was a good stay.

* All meals are included in our package. Decent selections. Drinks are charged separately.
* Water and electronic are not served 24 hours. They have strict hours in the morning and night. I can understand that is to save the energy but felt inconvenient.
* The rooms were clean and basic. A lot of mosquitoes even with the net hanging.
* There is no internet. They said it has been broken for a while.
* Location is good, inside the park. Convenient for games.
* There are some activities at night, like feeding Coyotes, Baboons...
* The stuff are friendly but they like to grab your luggage aggressively for tips.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koumac, New Caledonia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed with my husband at Mara Sopa Lodge for two nights in September 2012.
That's a big lodge with all the facilities.
It's made of a main building (nice wooden structure with restaurant and bar) and of many bungalows around it. Some of the bungalows are quite far but peaceful and there are watchmen at night to make sure you get to your room safely.
When you arrive, the people at the reception will give you plenty of useful information (like timetables for meals, hot water and electricity, activities, etc.).
The main activities are bushbaby feeding at the bar around 6pm, and hyena feeding at the other bar down the swimming pool at 10pm. You need to be patient sometimes for the hyenas since they are very shy. It seems they always come though.
About the restaurant and bar, food is ok, service is slow and drinks are really expensive.
You don't need to go far from the lodge to see lions since it's located in a good area to spot them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our group of 8 stayed at the Mara Sopa Lodge during the Masai Mara leg of our safari in early July. It was truly an adventure for us and we loved it! Guests are assigned to their own bungalows which are sprawled across the property. Ours was further out from the main hall (where the pool, reception and dining rooms are located) but it wasn't a major trek. We found our rooms to be very comfortable and the furniture was beautiful. We ate well during all of the meals. The food is served buffet style and there were many delicious options every night. There are no tvs (except for the one in the main building lounge) but they do have live entertainment, workshops and activities, including the nightly hyena feeding, which you will not want to miss. The lodge staff was very helpful and accommodating. The manager, Brian, was there during most of our stay and was very helpful both during and after our stay. Overall all it was a wonderful stay. I would definitely recommend it and go there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billericay
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A well run lovely lodge in the Masai mara reserve kenya
Large comfortable room with two large beds
good food and plenty of choice served in a very large dinning room
Bush baby is fed in the bar area and other anilmals at 10 o'clock each night we saw hyena,jackal,african wild cat and honey badger

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Sopa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.