We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Sopa Lodge
Save
You added Mara Sopa Lodge to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

I always heard about Sopa lodge in Maasai mara and thought I would give it a try. I took along with my visitors and it was a great time we spent there. The warm welcome with a glass of juice , great meals, the welcoming friendly staff, very spacious rooms with big beds gave us the relaxation moments we needed. The location is ideal for easy entrance to the park. The swimming pool with the SOPA logo in it adds up more taste!

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    214
    77
    17
    10
See reviews for
111
191
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at the Sopa as part of our safari, seemed to be well located in terms of game drives, the game was relatively near by. Others that we met had stayed else where and seemed to have had long drives before they saw anything of interest. Accommodation was good better than anticipated all clean and comfortable. The food was very good, big buffets with lots of interesting dishes, not fine dining but that was not expected. Given their location far from the nearest wholesaler they do a terrific job and of course have the their garden. We enjoyed the huge choice at each meal. Peter and his team do a great job. They are a very friendly team who are interested in doing their best and their very best for guests. loved the welcoming fires in the lounge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
healdsburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

unfortunately, we don't have much good to say about masai mara. definitely the best things were the incredibly beautiful wide open plains that god made there! the lodging was mediocre. the dining room was so tightly packed that it would have been very illegal in the USA. the food was by far the worst we have ever been served anywhere, from their cold hard white rolls to the gelatin looking (and worse tasting) supposed chocolate mousse. they scrimped in every way possible to cut costs on food. couldn't even get a decent carton of yogurt for breakfast. felt like a cattle run to the trough. the one good thing they had was coffee with real milk, but only in the morning. later it was instant.

the roads were also the worst ever. 2 hrs of bouncing around before we even arrived at the park. then the pot holes were so bad that the drivers went on strike the day we were leaving! and we were bowled over at the brigade of mini-busses! yikes! that was definitely not our cup of tea. felt like a major rip off.

the workers were ALL very nice, but the management has totally created a racket there. no internet, no power most of the day, no hot water during the day. we never knew they had laundry service until we saw the small sign when we were leaving. scant cell service. we just felt really ripped off by the whole experience. we were out in the middle of nowhere without opportunity to contact the company who organized our trip. and we couldn't help but compare it to an incredibly fabulous experience we had for the same price at mwagus camp in ruaha park in tanzania.

Room Tip: No Tips Other Than Don't!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Mara Sopa lodge is one of the first to be built in the Mara and, as a result, I wasn't expecting five star but the accommodation was perfect for my wife and I and our three children. A round chalet with two adjoining rooms and all the facilities you need.
The staff were happy and smiley - if a little disorganised in a Kenyan sort of way - and the food, three full meals a day simultaneously for c 250 guests, was much better than I expected in terms of quality and choice. The vegetables are grown organically from the hotel's adjoining market garden.
Interesting buildings - the main bar around a huge fireplace - is perfect for swapping stories of the day and reviewing photographs, and the view from the hillside location overlooking the hotel's swimming pool is stunning.
Don't complain about the access 'road' - it's all part of the experience!
Don't forget to watch the hyenas being fed at 10pm every night - blink and you'll miss them! - and the walk to the Masai village nearby is a must.
Overall, very pleasantly surprised at how good Mara Sopa was.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 59/60 which were probably as far from the main buiding as one would want if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed in Mara Sopa early May of this year, and loved it. What an excellent location to start our safari. We loved the location of the lodge, as it was set up against a hillside, that provided wonderful views. The staff were very friendly, and warm, and tried very hard to please their guests. The room was cozy, and very clean. Although there were mixed reviews of the food, we had to say it was great. The one strange thing that I do find hard to understand is that bottled water is provided free in the room, but you have to pay for it at meal time. That would be my only complaint. We saw so many wonderful animals on the Mara, that our memories are very extensive. Great time. Loved being greeted with the hot towels after being out on safari all day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is a very nice lodge for vacation in maasai mara. The staff of mara sopa are well behaved and with high class discipline which adds to my liking this Lodge.

Room Tip: Talk to the receptionist as all the rooms are equally good. Early booking is an added advantage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This was the first lodge I stayed in as part of a 13 night Safari in Kenya and Tanzania

Staff

The staff at the hotel, were the best I had during the entire trip. They work hard and like to have a conversation. They were very helpful and friendly. The cleaners do work very hard to keep the rooms tidy.

Food

It was a buffet but theres a big selection and there was always two or three different meals I liked and I am a fussy eater. Breakfast was really good and very filling for a long day on Safari.

Location

The hotel is a good 20 mins from the main gate, but this is due to the condition of the road which is awful, but you do get to see a lot of animals on the way. Otherwise the hotel is in a nice location with good views.

Overall

A very good hotel, that does show its age in places. But with a room improvements here and there and some road improvments it would be perfect. The velvet monkeys do provide some entertainment as do the nightly animal feedings.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Sopa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.