We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as Good as I thought” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mara Sopa Lodge to your Saves list
Mara Sopa Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Nairobi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not as Good as I thought”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I had the choice of Mara Sopa and Keekorok and decided to go with Sopa based on reviews on Tripadvisor. We were in for a shock. First, the rooms have THIN walls. Woe unto you if you have noisy neighbours, you shall hear EVERYTHING. The food is below par, the dining room is FILTHY. We had to change our rooms since there was no hot water in the room we first got.

Good point for the hotel was that we had the same waiter for the two nights we were there and he was EXCELLENT. Not a saving grace but highly welcome.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    210
    77
    17
    9
See reviews for
107
189
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We at Silverbird Adventure are greatly concerned about the posting by SaintUK about the lose of his money through credit card fraud.
Let's put things straight. We have been in operation since 2001 and at no time have we ever been involved in credit card fraud. Its even more unfortunate that SaintsUK chose to post a rather unfortunate comments about our company in complete disregard to the harm such a post does to our company. While we acknowledge the pain of loosing money through fraud, its highly irresponsible of you to go on and post such a damaging comment without any proof that we are in any way involved in the issue. Check your facts first. For your information, it takes time and effort to build a company so stop destroying our efforts!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Great lodge set on a slope with great views of the surrounding hills and plains, nicely camouflaged too, blends well with the environment. Had no qualms bout anything rooms were large and spacious great for small kids to play around between game drives, meals were nice not too many choices, the pool was cold so not much action there. Have a wildlife feeding area frequented by jackals,hyenas, civet cats & mongoose.
All in all very nice and friendly staff.

Room Tip: All rooms basically alike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

I took a group of eight students to the lodge.Our trip was ruined when 80 Euro was stolen.When we asked the lodge to investigate they told us " these things happen" and" you guys can afford it".We are just too frightened to go back there.Better to pay a bit more for something more secure.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

We satyed here for the last two nights of our safari in the massi mara. What a lovely lodge, cold flannels and juice on arrival and both given with a smile. The staff were great , we never waited/wanted for anything. Pool was lovely and clean with lots of little lizards running about :)
Our room had 2 double beds, dressing table , safe and shower and fresh bottled water morning and night. A really comfortable stay. I noticed some people complain there is no t.v , we did'nt miss this at all as we were out early and back late and to be honest why would you want to watch tv whilst safari?? there's too much to talk about.
The food was ediable as was it in all lodges we stayed and you have to expect that it is just that. Afterall its AFRICA! But we weren't there to experience fantastic food we were there to see the animals, we saw the BIG FIVE the first day in the massi mara within 2hours!!!!!! And also again the second day there , we were so lucky! Most amazing experience of my life so the fact that the food wasn't the best and water and electricity was limited it didn't matter. Every part of our stay here was fantastic and i'd definitley go back.

Room Tip: Hyena feeding in the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed in room #65 for two nights. The location is amazing. Monkeys everywhere. Watched Masaii dancers perform and hyenas feeding. The room was fine – comfy – no telephone or TV. Nice little porch. Water and electricity is available at specific times (no hot water or electricity during the day, no hot water after 10pm). The food is just awful – almost inedible for lunch and dinner – breakfast by far the best, make sure to eat a big first meal. There is absolutely no soundproofing between rooms – you will hear *everything* your neighbors say/do. Staff is nice and helpful. There’s a small bar downstairs, next to hyena feeding area, where the staff goes and there are few tourists – check it out. Have lots of small-bill shillings, as you'll need/want to tip all the time. Had amazing game drives. Loved the ride in, looking at all the Masaii people.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

What a great place to relax. We booked this through a tour company Silverbird Adventure Tours and Travel (more on this in a minute). I really did not know what to expect. The rooms are large. They are not modern with no TV's but this doesn't matter when on safari. The food is amazing and the service is excellent. I visited with friends, but I would certainly go back with my family. The lodge is in the park and within 15 minutes you are seeing Lion, Elephants etc etc. Thanks Sopa.

Regarding Silverbird Adventure, not again. Out of 5 of us three of our credit cards were cloned as a direct result of booking through them. They may offer reasonable prices but you will run the risk of your credit/debit card being cloned, thus having no money for your holiday of a lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Sopa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.