We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great location, great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basecamp Masai Mara

Save Saved
You added Basecamp Masai Mara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Basecamp Masai Mara
Talek, C14, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Experience the Migration
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Great place, great location, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

All AAA here, perfect location to go on game drives. Just be prepared that you are not the only only one out there.

Tents are great, food and service perfect. Manager Saif a really nice guy who will do anything to make you feel even more comfortable. Relocated us to a nicer tent upon request. No 16,15 and 5 are the best tents BTW.

Beware of the "Masai village visit". Entrance fee 20$, ok so far, nice dance and talk. However, in the end they get a little pushy trying to sell you 2$ jewelry for 50$ upwards.

Other than that a place in paradise.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
24
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Masai Mara Basecamp! Loved the privacy the "tents" offered and the silence and wild life there. The staff were super friendly, making us feel very welcome and happy. This place really opened my eyes for Eco-tourism and will make me think twice before booking other holidays around the world. I have recommended this to many people and might even return one day! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We just arrived to Nairobi after a fantastic three night stay at the lodge. Everything has been so nice, and everything from gourmet meals, children activities, friendly staff and not least the Eco based and sustainable travel, giving back to the Masai society, exceeds all our expectations.
We also wants to tell how satisfied we have been with our guide, Agnes. She has so much knowledge about the animals, the nature and what to do and not to do to preserve the delicate ecosystem. In addition she was fantastic with our to kids, and showed us so many unforgettable scenes. We will return as soon as possible!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Worked out absolutely perfect for our Honeymoon. Only stayed a couple of nights, which is fine, but could have easily stayed more. Basecamp is a really special place. Not only is it luxurious and secluded, but it is eco-friendly and run by local Maasai people. Amazing attention to detail. Beautiful safari tents. Views overlooking Maasai Mara. Really feel in the heart of the wild. Food 5*. Completely flexible around us, things ran like clockwork and even without us having to ask - just like they were psychic! I priced up about 20 of the best rated camps in the Masai Mara and this was the best value. But I can't see what more we could have had! We will still remember this place on our 50th Wedding anniversary and I expect will have been back a few times since as well!

We went on Safari in Zambia and Tanzania, before coming to Kenya. The Masai Mara was our absolute favourite, no competition. We saw more animals up close and beautiful scenery than in any other National Park. Amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Basecamp with its location in Talek is the ideal starting point for safari in Masai Mara, located next to the river and with the national park on the other side. The Masai guides were outstanding, and guided us to all the big five, and most often we were there well ahead of other vehicles. Of special note was a female lion playing with her two cubbs, and following a cheeta on a succesful hunt. Being located next to a Masai village we also got to experience some of the local culture, and see how the community programs initiated and managed by the Basecamp Foundation is helping the local school and the local women. We enjoyed the food very much, well prepared and served.
We also spent three days at Basecamp Eagleview in the nearby Naiboisho Wildlife Conservancy, where the wildlife is as amazing as Masai Mara, but there are less camps and tourists. A fantastic view of the savannah from the terrace of our cottage, we could overlook the wildlife even from our bed in the luxurious tent. Again the food was great, and the facilities overall were brand new and with the best standard. We also enjoyed two walking safaries with the Masai guides, a unique experience being part of it all on foot!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We experienced closer contact with all the animals we hoped to see than what we have dreamed. With experienced and knowledgeable Masai guides we felt safe, though we were only 3-4 meters away from elephants, lions and leopards. A cheetah on the roof, touching us, added to the experience. So did a cheetah hunting and killing, lions mating, elephants playing an giraffes fighting. Beautiful savannahs, thousands of wildbeasts, zebras and antelopes and much, much more. Walking safaris, breakfast on the savannah and bush camping were exciting. But a great safari has to be put into context, to make the experience complete. Great food, personal and friendly service and very convenient and spacious cottages and facilities. Both Basecamp Talek and Eagle View included a private deck with a magnificent view and the outdoor shower was fun and added to the experience. Eagle View was brand new and luxurious. Basecamp has successfully made the experience complete, balancing very high standard camps, wilderness, eco tourism and safari with close contact with Masai culture and people. A holistic experience. Truly exceptional! We enjoyed every minute of almost 40 hours of safaris divided on 7 days. 3 days at the main camp at Talek, one night at the bush camp and two nights at Eagle View was perfect. We enjoyed the variation, which added to the experience. Not one dull moment. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The permanent tents are spacious, clean and surrounded by beauty! We went when there were no mosquitoes so the outdoor bathrooms were not a problem. The private, outdoor shower was amazing. The food was excellent and the staff was helpful, attentive and knowledgeable. There were many options for the safari and we saw plenty of animals. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Basecamp Masai Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Masai Mara

Address: Talek, C14, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp Masai Mara provides 12 spacious and luxurious tents, bordering the Masai Mara National reserve, on a lush peninsula in the Talek River, with spectacular views of the savannah. You have your own veranda overlooking the river, bathroom en-suite with a hot solar heated shower open to the sky. Enjoy the amazing wildlife from your tent, the fig-tree platform, or in the open-air bar - a responsible approach to the classic safari ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Basecamp Masai Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basecamp Masai Mara Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Basecamp Masai Mara Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basecamp Masai Mara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.