We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique and wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basecamp Masai Mara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Basecamp Masai Mara to your Saves list
Basecamp Masai Mara
Talek, C14, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Wilderness Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A unique and wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Having worked for some weeks with one of the Maasai educational projects Basecamp supports at Koiyake Guiding School, I had the amazing good fortune to spend three nights at Basecamp Masai Mara. Having come to know the Maasai people a little better it was wonderful to see their industry and experience their kindness and care in this glorious spot by the Talek river with views across the savannah. This is a most understated and luxurious camp, yet totally eco-friendly and ethically run. Game drives were amazing, and food and comfort was exceptional. I would highly recommend a stay here, or at their sister camp Eagle's View : it must rank as the experience of a lifetime.

Room Tip: All the tents are equally wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
31
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Basecamp Masai Mara is one of the most beautiful and peaceful places I have ever visited. I felt like home as soon as I entered the area. I concept is brilliant, and it feels very up to date, as well as traditional. Masai Mara is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen, and to me it doesn't seem more then fair to encourage eco-friendly initiatives like Basecamp, in my opinion all the lodges should replicate this concept. I had a wonderful time!!

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Basecanp is exactly what you would imagine a trip to Maasi Mara should be. Luxury but with ecologically preserving practices. And commitment to the community it occupies.
Wonderful tents along a river, fabulous with with a lot of variety and lovely service.

Would definitely return

Room Tip: Tents along the river were wonderful. I would not choose the tent that the Obama's stayed in as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at basecamp for two nights in early May which was the rainy season in Kenya.
The staff were very helpful and welcoming and assisted us in everyway possible. The local massai warriors even walked us from our tents to dinner with umbrellas.
The accommodation is simple and natural with open showers (a little cold at this time of year!) and a comfortable long drop toilet (do not let that put you off, it has a comfortable seat).
The food is well presented, fresh and on time. The waiting staff tend to every need including bringing coffee to your tent at 6am before a game drive!
Beer and soft drinks are well priced, but watch the price of spirits!
All in all I would highly recommend this place.....

Room Tip: Choose a river side tent for the pleasure of waking up with a Hippo in front of your balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We enjoyed a fabulous three night safari stay at base camp. How to describe the experience... From the welcome of cold refreshing scented facecloths and fresh juice aftr a very jarring and dusty journey there to the hot water bottles warming the beds after a delicious dinner, the staff had cared for every detail. We got everything we came for and more. Steve, our Masai game guide was so patient and knowledgable and enjoyable. He turned off the engine so there was no vibration for pictures, unlike some of the other outfits we saw. We saw amazing wildlife, yet felt very safe and protected. The philosophy of the camp regarding empowerment of the Masai community and protection of the environment is very refreshing. The meals and service were all exquisite.We are already looking for a way to come back!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

While volunteering in Maai Mahiu we took a quick to Basecamp for one night and it was, for a lack of a better word, magical. The drive was long and very, very bumpy. Be prepared and don’t expect for many stops along the way. The drive allows you to see how the locals live and soak in the Kenyan culture. Once we arrived we were greeted with a fresh glass of juice and then shown to our “rooms” which are actually just tents. This is not a hotel, but rather, a fancy place to camp- having an outdoor shower and exotic animals just a few feet from where you sleep. They have local tribesmen standing guard for you at night in case you need to leave your tent, because the monkeys are not known for friendliness. The food was delish and great customer service was provided by the staff. The dinner house is all open so you can watch the beautiful animals roam while you eat your meals. This place is super romantic so it’s a great spot for couples. I consider staying here one of my greatest adventures yet and I think anyone who has the opportunity to travel here is incredibly lucky in life.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This trip was just fantastic. When arriving at Olkiombo Airstrip, my guides where greeting me a warm welcome before we through a gamedrive headed for the Basecamp.
This Eco-camp was located just beside the Talek-river with breakfast-view over the Savannah with the animals grazing in the chilly morning.
Also here the reception of guests was good. The hospitality of the employees were as expected. The cabins were original, tidy and clean.
The food was good, with starters, main course and desserts every day. The staff were friendly and service-minded and seemed professional. After dark you can hear all the sounds of the Savannah. Especially when you try to sleep in your cabin/tent you can hear the lions roaring and all the monkeys just close up around your cabin.
The game-drive's were great, one in the morning before returning to breakfast and one in the afternoon. It was not hard to discover and see the animals as we actually saw four out of the big 5's the at the first game-drive. You also had the opportunity to do several other activities beside game-drives, but for me I enjoyed the lunches at day time and my private hammock at my terrace with a good book.
After my stay in Basecamp I left for Nairobi.
I would recommend this place for people in all ages, its a perfect place for a two-four day stop. As a solo-traveller you just need to have a open mind to meet new people, and I met new people along the way. I always had someone to share my dinners with although I travelled on my own.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Basecamp Masai Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Masai Mara

Address: Talek, C14, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp Masai Mara provides 12 spacious and luxurious tents, bordering the Masai Mara National reserve, on a lush peninsula in the Talek River, with spectacular views of the savannah. You have your own veranda overlooking the river, bathroom en-suite with a hot solar heated shower open to the sky. Enjoy the amazing wildlife from your tent, the fig-tree platform, or in the open-air bar - a responsible approach to the classic safari ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Basecamp Masai Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basecamp Masai Mara Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Basecamp Masai Mara Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basecamp Masai Mara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.