We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Keekorok!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Save Saved
You added Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Love Keekorok!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed here three nights at the beginning of October 2009.

We love this lodge so much! This was a our third stay and it never disappoints.

We photographed numerous birds whilst walking around the lodge grounds, watched a few hours old Hippo take its first steps and numerous other game animals from the comfort of the Hippo bar! Other guests had seen a leopard drag a kill up the bank near the Hippo bar and lions hunting near the lodge entrance gate!

What more could you want from a safari base?

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food choice and quality was excellent… next time we go back to Kenya we will base ourselves here for the whole holiday!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    178
    41
    16
    14
See reviews for
154
186
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

This was the first hotel we stayed at on our 3 centre safari. Good location in the Masai Mara with no boundary meaning the animals really do drift in and out of the gardens. Hotel and grounds all very well maintained and staff friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, comfortable and of good standard. Good restaurant and the food was definately the best out of the 3 places we stayed. Nice swimming pool with bar. Hippo pool could be viewed from a lookout/bar which was a good place to go for pre dinner drinks. We had two enjoyable days here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

The Safari experience in the Mara is similar wherever you stay. What sets this lodge apart from the others is its location. Well inside the park, unfenced, and with the most fantastic walkway to a viewing room over the hippo pool, you are guaranteed to be up close to these most elusive animals. We watched them interact for hours.

Other hotel features were excellent - comfort and service was all one might expect. Perhaps the only niggle was the low level of lighting in the rooms - don't try and pack at night as you can't see what you are doing.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

Keekorok was simply superb. The location right in the centre of the Mara is too good. Food and service is excellent. We had hippos grazing outside our rooms at night - its so close to nature. Had a great time here.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

The staff here were very friendly and attentive. The facilities are amazing with spacious grounds to wander in, including a lovely bar overlooking the hippo pool. the restaurant and bar staff are attentive and friendly and the food is very good. If returning to your room after dark, a discreet guard will escort you in case you bump into a grazing hippo on the way as we did - great fun! The rooms are average size for safari lodges, but comfortable and with all the usual amenities.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLACKSTONE,MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

when i arrived at keekorok i had been traveling for a week with only the clothes on my back, turkish air had lost my luggage and up to that point getting them washed was tricky to say the least. i washed underwear every nitebut when i got to the hotel and explained what had happened they had my clothes washed and back in 45 minutes.one problem solved next i went to the gift shop to see if i could find a cord to connect my camera to my laptop to charge my fast fading batteries,alas no cords but when i explained what happened the gentleman behind the counter said " you must take my sony camcorder and bring it back when you are thru . you didn't come all this way not to take pictures!! whithout asking my name or room number he gave me his camcorder...
these are only 2 examples of the great kindness we experienced at keekorok,everyone was great! i would not hesitate to recommend this hotel or go back! kiduos to the staff!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

If you are visiting the Masai Mara then this is the place to stay!!
Everything about Keekorok is fantastic, the grounds, the food, the staff (so friendly and always smiling) the swimming pool, the rooms and of course the hippo pool. We asked to change rooms with a better view of the open park land, we had moved into our new room within minutes!! Outside our window were hippo, waterbuck and zebra grazing, when the guard came to walk us to the main building for dinner he shone his torch straight into the eyes of a hyena who was sitting just outside the lodge boundry! On our last morning we were woken by lions roaring, they sounded terribly close!!
We have stayed at several lodges in Kenya all of which have been very good but Keekorok has got something speical and magical about it, we will return!!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Address: C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 700 square miles of lush, sun-drenched plains encircle Keekorok Lodge, the oldest property in the Masai Mara Game Reserve in southwest Kenya. The lodge was opened in 1962 and is ideally situated in the direct path of the spectacular animal migration that occurs every year from July to October. Guests can experience unparalleled safari adventures and morning and evening game drives are a must for anyone visiting the reserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keekorok Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.