We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Big Cat Viewings!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Save Saved
You added Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great Big Cat Viewings!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in March 2014. This was our 4th stay here, our previous stays were in September (2005, 2007 & 2009), March was certainly different, but just as fantastic for big cat viewing.

We have stayed in most of the room types across the lodge and our favourite rooms are the ones along side the lodge exit road. We had room 90 for this visit.

The room had 3 UK power sockets, in room safe and a hairdryer. There was WiFi available at the lodge only.

Power went off between 10am and 12pm, 3pm and 6pm and midnight and 5 am.

The buffet meals were disappointing, and even though we were there early, the food was often already cool.

The staff were really friendly, we especially had great service from James (hippo bar) and Patrick (in the restaurant).

The grounds at Keekorok are the main attraction for staying here (and the great location in the heart of the Mara). The raised walkways are great for bird spotters especially in the morning and of course watching the hippos from the bar is a great relaxing (and smelly) experience.

We thought March might have not been so great for seeing big cats with the migration being many miles away, but we actually saw more lions with big kills than every before! We also had great cheetah sightings too.

Room Tip: Individual chalets along the exit road are best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    166
    39
    13
    14
See reviews for
139
179
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

A wonderful property with exceptionally friendly and helpful team at all levels. We enjoyed fantastic safari tours, excellent food and freedom to relax and enjoy everything about both Keekorok and the Masaai Mara game park.

Time of year may vary, especially during the busy migration period, but our time in early April was blissfully peaceful

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We were initially a little unsure about staying at this Lodge due to the fact it was open.....yes that's right no fencing to keep the wild animals out! The is need to worry at all we felt totally safe, at the end of the evening the Security guy appeared almost immediately to escort back to our Lodge.
On arrival we were welcomed with a refreshing drink and towels to freshen up, what a great touch.
When on the patio area we were greeted by a local who took us to the Hippo pool, on the way he pointed out additional animals which we could have so easily missed if we had walked by ourselves.
Every meal was to good standard, and varied. Our table service guy (Andrew) was excellent, not only in the way he provided drinks, cleared the table but also the way he took time to have conversation with us, he even took a great interest in teaching us Swahili which was a nice touch.
I wished we had spent more time at this Lodge as two days is clearly not enough. On our game drives to this reserve we saw numerous animals with made the whole experience to this Lodge and reserve so memorable.

Room Tip: This is one place you must stay if going to Kenya on a Safari, if you have read any negative reviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The rooms were very spacious and the beds divinely comfortable! The entire place was so beautiful and relaxing. The massage was very relaxing and the hippo bar from where we had an excellent overhead view of the resident hippos in their element was very entertaining. The staff are very warm, welcoming and helpful. The food was very good although the staff at the restaurant need to be trained on what is 'halal' food and what is not. One day they labelled a salad 'carrot' and yet it had pork shreds in it! They apologised and changed the label right away but we felt such errors should not occur since I'm sure you always entertain muslim guests. The cars need to serviced and maintained well as the 4WD function is not working in all your cars and one day we got stuck in the mud and when help came, it also got stuck due to the cars not having 4WD function. The tyres also needed replacement as well as other mechanical problems which we highlighted to your manager Joseph. The balloon safari was the best experience ever!! The pilot was amazing and we had the most memorable time of our lives in the balloon safari. Both take off and landing was so smooth, and the bush breakfast that followed was just amazing. Thank you so much for giving us such wonderful memories that will last us a lifetime!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the hippo pool can get very noisy if you are a light sleeper as the hippo's soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Keekorok is a pretty "traditional" hotel. Not a lot of charm or warmth -- which was a lot different than all the other places I stayed in Kenya. The facilities are all pretty fantastic, don't get me wrong, but there were just a TON of tourists there and it didn't seem like our stay was very special, since we were only a few of many. The food buffet always had great options, though the desserts were pretty disappointing, even though they looked amazing. The hippo bar was pretty neat for about 15 minutes. The rooms were just fine and the grounds were kept well, nice pool and leisure area with hammocks. It was an overall pleasant stay, but I would prefer to stay somewhere smaller, more intimate with a bit more character. Keekorok was a great place to stay but it just didn't live up to some of the other places I stayed in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

This was our first safari experience and everyone at Keekrok Lodge made it better.
Just a mention - our room keys were given to some other guest which the receptionist has to be very careful cos if anything went missing from our room who would be responsible........And also bath and hand towels should always be left in the rooms without the guest constantly asking for them.
Otherwise a brilliant experience - Thank You

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunndalsora, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife, our two friends and I had the fortune to choose this hotel in Masai Mara. A beautiful, remote and posh lodge with a caring staff deep into the reserve took well care of all our needs. A must go there place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Address: C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 700 square miles of lush, sun-drenched plains encircle Keekorok Lodge, the oldest property in the Masai Mara Game Reserve in southwest Kenya. The lodge was opened in 1962 and is ideally situated in the direct path of the spectacular animal migration that occurs every year from July to October. Guests can experience unparalleled safari adventures and morning and evening game drives are a must for anyone visiting the reserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keekorok Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.