We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels to your Saves list
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Keekorok is a pretty "traditional" hotel. Not a lot of charm or warmth -- which was a lot different than all the other places I stayed in Kenya. The facilities are all pretty fantastic, don't get me wrong, but there were just a TON of tourists there and it didn't seem like our stay was very special, since we were only a few of many. The food buffet always had great options, though the desserts were pretty disappointing, even though they looked amazing. The hippo bar was pretty neat for about 15 minutes. The rooms were just fine and the grounds were kept well, nice pool and leisure area with hammocks. It was an overall pleasant stay, but I would prefer to stay somewhere smaller, more intimate with a bit more character. Keekorok was a great place to stay but it just didn't live up to some of the other places I stayed in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    198
    52
    19
    15
See reviews for
174
216
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was our first safari experience and everyone at Keekrok Lodge made it better.
Just a mention - our room keys were given to some other guest which the receptionist has to be very careful cos if anything went missing from our room who would be responsible........And also bath and hand towels should always be left in the rooms without the guest constantly asking for them.
Otherwise a brilliant experience - Thank You

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunndalsora, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife, our two friends and I had the fortune to choose this hotel in Masai Mara. A beautiful, remote and posh lodge with a caring staff deep into the reserve took well care of all our needs. A must go there place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Keekorok is a wonderful place for family. I visited with my family and arrived to a mediocre lunch, but the hippo pool in the hotel with an amazing viewing deck compensated for that. Keekorok makes the stay interesting - a group of Masai tribesmen put up a show of their traditional culture which was quite entertaining. The downside was that I encountered a large frog in my room as well was 4-6 terrifyingly large bugs, but it's a small price to pay if you want to stay at a brilliant property. Travel arrangements and wildlife game drives were always pleasant events to look forward to and as a hotel, Keekorak is pretty brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here for two nights as the final leg of a safari trip before a week's R&R on the beach. We had a superb time - the staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming, and the rooms are excellent. One of our travelling companions and I had birthdays while here and the catering team made cakes for us to celebrate - mine was served up at breakfast as we were leaving that day but it is the thought that counts. Food is of a good standard and well presented. Spend time by the Hippo Pool watching these huge creatures come and go, and spot how many other animals you can see - there is a daily record by the bar there. A great spot for visiting the Masaai Mara too.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well located with full length windows overlooking the lawn. If the weather is inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

A lovely welcome with a refreshing towel and cold drink. The staff here were excellent and so friendly.

The rooms we stayed in were fantastic with a huge glass window looking out onto the lawn. There is also a long walkway which leads to a lookout point for the hippo pool which turns into a bar in the evening to watch the hippos coming out of the water to graze which was spectacular. This was lovely to have a drink before dinner in the evening and made the lodge very memorable.

The swimming pool area was lovely and the pool attendant very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent with a good variety and the chefs would constantly be checking to replenish the food and were always very chatty. The lodge was very clean. I would highly recommend this lodge when visiting Maasai Mara.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Set in the middle of the Masai Mara forest range this hotel was amazing. The location is awesome and so were the services. Though being a non kenyan we were looked after well especially by Mr.Mathat, Ms.Victoria, Patrick from the restaurant and Patrick from the reception who went out of the way to ensure that power was supplied unhindered despite rationing as i wan on oxygen machine. The rooms were well maintained and the surroundings were serene.
The only sour point was the food since we were promised indian food it was pathetic even though there was an indian chef who looked through us and unfriendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Address: C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 700 square miles of lush, sun-drenched plains encircle Keekorok Lodge, the oldest property in the Masai Mara Game Reserve in southwest Kenya. The lodge was opened in 1962 and is ideally situated in the direct path of the spectacular animal migration that occurs every year from July to October. Guests can experience unparalleled safari adventures and morning and evening game drives are a must for anyone visiting the reserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keekorok Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.