We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experiences, but worth to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels to your Saves list
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Mixed experiences, but worth to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Keekorok is one of the most prestigious “regular” places to stay if you don’t want to spent outrageous amounts per night (and it’s recommended by Lonely Planet). It’s a big place and very well situated; the moment you drive out of the area you are having your game drive (but that probably applies to all places in the area). In fact, as there are no fences you ARE actually already in the park (although there are some natural barriers). We saw a zebra when we returned late to our chalet. That type of room is small but has all the facilities for a positive stay. But please beware that the chalets come in two, and if you haven’t the rented the other one for your group (we were just with two persons), you have to deal with that. On our first night I got our neighbors to quiet down in the middle of the night, as they woke up very early (probably for a balloon trip) and we could hear every word of their conversations (they were not even speaking out very loud) which seemed to go on forever. We had a little talk the next day, and they were much more quiet the next night. There is Wifi (with OK connection), but that’s only available near the reception (you can pay for 1 hour or for 24 hours). The hippo pool is well-known, and you can reach if by a fine board-walk. There is a good pool, and there are some hammocks within the ground. Every night the local guys from the Masai have their tribal dance. There is a souvenir shop with some good items. Overall, what was best (and which applies to East-Africa in general) is the staff. All of them are friendly, relaxed and very helpful. They are just out to make it a good time for you. Unfortunately, that doesn’t always guarantee positive behavior of guests. Please be beware that this is a multi-cultural place where different people from many different countries (Americas, Europe, Middle-East, Asia) have different ways of behavior. The restaurant is ok, nothing special, and aimed at the large crowds. Finally, the place is visited by people who have something to spend, and the prices are accordingly. Expect to pay a few dollars/Euros for just a cup of coffee. So, for us it was a mixed experience, which nevertheless was positive overall. And you will be absolutely be focused one nature only when on safari!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    204
    52
    19
    16
See reviews for
179
218
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, a family of 5, 2 adults and 3 kids. the rooms were excellent. two rooms with a connecting door, our favorite setup. rooms were clean and well furnished, a beautiful terrace towards the open reserve,
The common areas are also very nice, food was good and settings are very nice. the hippo boardwalk is highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at this lodge for two nights. The accommodation was lovely. The restaurant was great and the food excellent. The highlight of this hotel was the hippo bar where you could enjoy a drink and watch the hippos and other wildlife. The last night was brilliant as we went down to the bar and there was a leopard hunting at the waterhole.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at this lodge for the first 2 nights of our Safari on Maasia Mara national park. Our room was to a good standard and was very comfortable with a terrace overlooking the park - perfect for a sundowner at the end of an exciting long day. There was a kettle, safe, and hair dryer in the room and the bathroom was to a good standard with fluffy towels and hot water plentiful. The food was very good -plenty of choice including a fresh pasta station, and the staff friendly and helpful - well managed. Picnic boxes (which you can order the day before, if out on safari all day), were very good and more than adequate with a piece of chicken, tasty sandwich, fresh fruit, cake, cheese and crackers and a carton of juice).
One night we had a group of Maasia warriors arrive at the Lodge to entertain us with their 'dancing' which was a treat. Afterwards they encouraged the guests to take photographs with them which was a great opportunity.
Take a torch - the path back to the rooms is dark at night and the paving a little uneven.
We would highly recommend this Lodge and considering it is in the middle of nowhere it is amazing how they have achieved the standard of accommodation, food and staff efficiency that they have.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and we were given one away from the restaurant but any room would be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Maasai Mara national park is mind boggling one of the most adventurous reserve parks. Beautiful lodges located in the park surrounded by dense tree and easily can be spotted Hippos & Deer’s. Keekorok Lodge is more than that - the rooms are beautiful, comfortable chilly environment. There are huge lawns and walking areas to chill between game drives. The food was pretty good and I particularly liked the Indian cuisine. Great place. I would certainly visi again with my family.
Spent two nights here and one night in Lake Nakuroo. This is in the game reserve of Masai Mara so plenty of wildlife. Aesthetically design reception /bar/ restaurant with souvenir shop. The food here is buffet service with bar. We found the Indian food good with the Mutton Korma & Kadhai Chicken with Naan. Lunch and evening meals largely catered for the Asian visitors and again could have been hotter. Drinks are a reasonable price and good choice of wines. The rooms are big and had stayed in VIP lodge with the tea/ coffee maker and biscuits and the only room on our trip that had a safe for valuables and a fan. The bed was very cosy and Bathrooms are also very big with shower. We saw Lions, Cheetah, Zebras, Wild Beast, buffalo, giraffe and Baboon, Deer, Antelope from here. Very nice outside pool although a little cold. The game drives start from here and we were lucky to see lions on the first day one game drive. Don't be surprised to see hippos outside your room at night when I get up in mid night. I was woken by the sounds of one munching outside our window. The hippo pool is amazing; there are also lots of other animals wandering about. Masai dancers perform at night which is a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This is the best lodge we stayed in while on safari. The masai mara is the best park we visited too and seen every animal except leopard but they are there somewhere.

Lodge is not fenced in, really cool to have animals on your doorstep at night especially hippos. Food is quite good but alot of curry and when asked for more pasta sauce is seemed a bit of hassle and I never got it. Rooms were fab and we had a fab view out to the park.

Really no complaints at all, super exceeded my expectations of a lodge in the middle of no where and would return again and recommend to everyone

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Maasai Mara national park is mind bogglingly beautiful. After the game drives in the park, it actually doesn't matter how your lodge is as long as it is comfortable and has decent food. :) But Keekorok is more than that - the rooms are beautiful and comfortable. The hippo pool is next door and we had some visitors from the hippo pool late at night at our doorstep! There are verdant lawns and walking areas to chill between game drives. The food was pretty good and I particularly liked the mint tea they were serving in the evenings. Great place. I would certainly not mind going back for a couple of weeks more again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Address: C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 700 square miles of lush, sun-drenched plains encircle Keekorok Lodge, the oldest property in the Masai Mara Game Reserve in southwest Kenya. The lodge was opened in 1962 and is ideally situated in the direct path of the spectacular animal migration that occurs every year from July to October. Guests can experience unparalleled safari adventures and morning and evening game drives are a must for anyone visiting the reserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keekorok Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.