We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels to your Saves list
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Food would be OK if you don't eat British or American food.
The accomadation backed onto a laundry, I think, terrible noise and shouting.
The balloon trip was fantastic as was the safari afterwards.
The hippo pool was good, the bar there was open once, the building was padlocked most of the time.
God area to enjoy the MasaiMara park, we saw loads of lions and other animals.
We enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: Try to get room away from the hippo pool, some sort of staff feature backs onto those chalets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulsoodsah, Managing Director at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Grauniad,

Thank you for taking the time out to complete a review and for your comments about our hotel. It's your views and opinions that allow us to continually monitor and improve our services. We have already commenced a major effort in re training all Kitchen Chefs, Service employees to ensure better customer satisfaction.

Once again, many thanks for the feedback which has helped us to identify improvement areas and would place us a step higher in our customer satisfaction. Many thanks. Rahul Sood & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    192
    47
    18
    15
See reviews for
163
207
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blythburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Keekorok for the final three days of our 11 night safari. It has a lovely position within the Masai Mara, enabling many different opportunities for game drives. Even though the great migration had not reached the Mara we were able to see some interesting game, including leopard, lion, cheetah, black rhino and hyena. The hotel has a lovely raised walkway leading to an observation hut above the hippo pool. Unfortunately, on several occasions we tried to visit it, it remained locked - but for what purpose was unclear (it didn't seem that alcohol was left in there when the bar was closed).The public areas are nicely decorated, but I did feel that the 'public' loos near the bar could have done with more regular cleaning - or at least some stronger air freshener.

The rooms themselves were adequate but the bed in ours was a bit lumpy. There was a mosquito net to surround the bed, a telephone to contact reception, a fridge (with a dodgy looking plug sticking out of a socket it wasn't designed for), and a rechargeable lamp for when the electricity was turned off. The bathroom was small, and had an awkward design, engendering some unlikely ballet with the two of us sharing - but the water was warm (although there was no need to use the cold tap...). The towels were not in the least luxurious, being small ( not much bigger than a normal hand towel) rough and quite raggedy - but perhaps I was just unlucky. I guess I am also making mental comparisons with the other lodges where we had stayed.

Food is very much a matter of individual taste, and unfortunately for me the food served at Keekorok was incredibly salty. The buffet selection at lunch and dinner featured a stir fry, a pasta dish (vegetarian), one 'western style' meat dish, one fried fish dish and several vegetarian Indian dishes. I didn't feel that quality ingredients were used (the meat was fairly gristly and fatty), and the dishes that weren't being cooked to order were mostly luke warm.

The staff at Keekorok, however, are genuinely friendly and helpful. For all the criticisms I have made above, it is the location and the people who made this experience worthwhile.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulsoodsah, Managing Director at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Blythspirit68,

Thank you for taking the time out to complete a review and for your comments about our hotel. It's your views and opinions that allow us to continually monitor and improve our services. We have already commenced a major effort in re training all Kitchen Chefs, Service employees to ensure better customer satisfaction.

Once again, many thanks for the feedback which has helped us to identify improvement areas and would place us a step higher in our customer satisfaction. Many thanks. Rahul Sood & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

we stayed there in June as a group of five families..for two nights....the location is ideal as it is within the National Park. The Layout, ambience, comfort of the rooms and other facilities on offer were indeed amazing. There was not a moment when we were left unattended while in the restaurant,
The bath tub and the swimming pool provided good options of relaxation for our tired bodies. There was always everything in abundance and the stafff were so positive. The kids had a great time either swimming or seeing the Hippos or sighting the warthogs......

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulsoodsah, Managing Director at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Gundappa,

We are delighted to read your positive review about our hotel and thank you so much for your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel, our service & our hospitality. Positive comments like yours encourage to build our staff morale. We look forward to welcome you again soon at our hotel. Many thanks. Rahul Sood & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Keekorok Lodge was the first stay in our itinerary for the Safari and it was imperative for it to be good to set the tone for a wonderful safari. We came here with zero expectations and went back totally satisfied. First and foremost, it is situated in the middle of Masaai Mara, very close to the airstrip as well as the balloon site. (we did neither though). Touted as the oldest lodge in Masai mara, it is a beautifully done up place, with no electric fence. In fact most of the fencing is natural through hedges ! And in case you get an eerie feeling, well the place is well protected with armed guards all around the property. Beautiful hut type accommodation, very serene and neat and tastefully done. Neat bathrooms as well. There is no wifi / TV inside the hut, and what a relief it gives to a city traveller ! Before coming over, we were paranoid about contacting a malaria or dengue (inspite of vaccination) and were fully armed with medicines and ointments, full sleeved clothes etc. Never for once did we require any of these defences !

Upon your return from a game drive, you see that the staff has already put across the mosquito net over the bed, so no worries even to the sissy traveller!

The property has great ambience, good spread for travellors across the globe, cultural entertainment( like a masaai tribal dance). There is a hippo pool ( active with Hippos) with the approach from within the property ( about 500 mts away) and is safe and secure.

People have reported that Hippos come grazing , even inside biy we were not witness to that. baboons are daily raiders here, so be careful to lock your things.

Plenty of game available at close proximity, the moment you cross the main gate, so be assured of good sighting.

In the night you will marvel at the almost clear sky above you with so many stars, a sight we from a metro city rarely see due to pollution.

All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable experience, highly recommended.

Room Tip: While doing a Masaai Mara safari, insist on a 4 x 4 vehicle, for better mobility. Also ensure the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulsoodsah, Managing Director at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Shashank_Chandra,


Thank you for your vital feedback. My team and I were elated to read your comments and to know you had a memorable stay with us. Constructive feedback not only helps us to enhance employee morale but also assists us to continue deliver superior product & services. We look forward to welcome you again soon at our hotel. Many thanks. Rahul Sood & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Well located within the park this hotel is really good for kids. Nice swimming pool. active hippo pool with a bar.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool can be noisy during the day (but you will be out for game drives)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulsoodsah, Managing Director at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear BabaJ_10,

Thank you for your time to review our hotel. We are delighted to know you had a pleasant stay with us. My team & I look forward to welcoming you back to Keekorok Lodge. Many thanks. Rahul Sood & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Nice food. Friendly staff. Good location in Reserve - game drives not too far away. Afternoon tea/snacks provided. Wifi available. The hotel is pretty clean. Night entertainment is not bad.
Swimming pool needs cleaning/maintaining!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulsoodsah, Managing Director at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear PravanGopal,

Thank you for taking the time out to complete a review and for your comments about our hotel. It's your views and opinions that allow us to continually monitor and improve our services. We have noted your feedback for cleanliness of swimming pool which we are have improved. The pool attendant cleans the pool twice daily now. We look forward to welcome you again soon at our hotel. Many thanks. Rahul Sood & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed two nights at the lodge as part of our safari for two days with our 10 yrs old son. He enjoyed it so much that for the first time in years, he didnt even ask forTV or Internet to kill the time. Unfortunately we missed the hippos roaming around at night, but I am sure we will come back again to have another wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulsoodsah, Managing Director at Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear JuanCarlos1970,

We are delighted to read your positive review about our hotel and thank you so much for your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel, our service & our hospitality. Positive comments like yours encourage to build our staff morale. We look forward to welcome you again soon at our hotel. Many thanks. Rahul Sood & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels

Address: C14 Keekorok | Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 700 square miles of lush, sun-drenched plains encircle Keekorok Lodge, the oldest property in the Masai Mara Game Reserve in southwest Kenya. The lodge was opened in 1962 and is ideally situated in the direct path of the spectacular animal migration that occurs every year from July to October. Guests can experience unparalleled safari adventures and morning and evening game drives are a must for anyone visiting the reserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keekorok Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.