We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara River Lodge
Save
You added Mara River Lodge to your Saves list
Keekorok - North East Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Mombasa, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beyond expectation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

After spending two days at another lodge, we had to move to Mara River Lodge. What we experienced there, was way beyond expectation, both for us two grownups and our three boys. The location was amazing, the hotel is situated next to The Mara river, and in the water was literary hundreds of hippos. At seven in the evening all of these amazing animals started wandering out of the water, next to the lodge, to feed. A magical experience, repeated every night. At six in the morning, they came back. We were safe, inside the fence.
Everything about this lodge was excellent, we were extremely happy that we ended up here, just because our booked lodge was overbooked.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Director of Sales at Mara River Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your visit was unexpected with the overbooking with the other property but we are so pleased that you came to us. The staff were delighted to read your review and I thank you for taking the time to do it.

Hope we shall see you and the family again.

Warm regards


Veronica Otter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
2
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Once booked thought it might be a bit far from the entrance gate of the Maasai Mara. However when we arrived we were excited seeing the 50-75 hippos taking their sunbath in front of the bar of the lodge. What a welcome after a day long driving from Nakuru! Friendly and helpful staff, cool towel and drink and still a game drive before sunset. Since Maasai Mara takes 45 minutes we did the periphery near the lodge. What a surprise to immediately see so many animals: zebra, wildebeest, thomson gazelle, impala, topi gazelle and eland with young of only 1 day old, buffalo, giraf, pride of lions and 2 cheetahs. Not a bad start! Lodge is under new South African Management and delivers superb quality. It is worthwhile the extra drive to the park entrance!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Director of Sales at Mara River Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
I am delighted you had a wonderful stay with us. The refreshing towels after a drive from Nakuru must have been a warm welcome.

Its amazing just how much wildlife you saw right outside our property but what a wonderful way to start your stay with us.

I hope you will return

Warm Regards


Veronica Otter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Before we left for Kenya, I had serious reservations about this place, I had read some bad reviews etc. However, it turned out to be the best of all the accommodation through our entire 9 day safari through Masai Mara & Serengiti! The resort has gone through some extensive renovations & the new management has brought in a bunch of new people who simply do not know how to say 'NO' to any guest request! Loved the location, its right along the bend of the Mara river, loved the resort itself, little things like the hippo viewing station, library, outside seating, view from the restaurant, nice rooms etc. etc. But most of all loved the service & the staff there!

The approach to the resort is quite long, but they have an air strip right next to it where charter flight & Kenyan airways flies into. Infact we found out that if you book with the lodge they can offer a package inclusive of flight, stay, meals & game drives at fairly reasonable rates! Next time, that's what we'd be doing. Yes the Park West Gate is a bit way off, but there are enough game drive right next to the resort along the river. That's where we saw the famous Cheetah brothers!

The rooms are quite well done, with a huge comfy bed (I think it can fit 6) & the window looks out into the river. Each room has a verandah with vantage viewing points. The bathrooms are very modern & very clean.

The bar and the restaurant couldn't have been located better - plenty of Hippo viewing & loads of other animals. They also store some good South African wines there. The food was great & the chef went out of his way to please. We asked for some local African dishes & next day that's what we got! My daughter was especially taken care of, the chef painstakingly prepared food that she loved, after speaking to her (she's only 4!). Breakfast was sumptuous as well & the packed lunch really extensive.

We wanted to do a Bush dinner, however, there were some logistics issue with that on the day, so as a make good, they did a surprise dinner for just our family next to the pool. It was a candlelit dinner (candles around the whole pool & along the pathways) We had barbecue, great African dishes & a very special fish dish for the little one - all complimentary! It was just beautiful!

The staff are very knowledgeable about the birds & animals of the Mara & they are fantastic to talk to. We had a fantastic time here & wish we could have stayed longer!

So if you are going to Masai Mara, dont think twice just go the the Mara River Resort!

Room Tip: All rooms are good with views of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Set up in a Serene Location, this lodge is the best place to stay in for. Right at the bank of the Mara River, there are lots of Hippos just adjacent to the Hotel.

This Hotel is good in very terms, like Service, Accommodation, Comfort, Food, Surroundings, etc etc.

Just a part lagging is that, this Hotel is a bit far from the Entrance Gate of the Maasai Mara National Park, the drive takes around 30 - 45 Minutes and also the road to this Hotel is a bit rough and abysmal. This is the only negative part for this hotel.

Rest all the things are just Great !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara River Lodge

Address: Keekorok - North East Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara River Lodge commands one of most spectacular views in the Serengeti - Mara ecosystem; the lodge lies on the Mara River at the edge of Maasai Mara Game Reserve and overlooks deep pools where crocodiles and hippos bask all day. Painted in traditional Maasai red ochre and lit by hundreds of lanterns, the lodge is surrounded by indigenous trees and plants and is an attractive complement to the local environment. Guests can see hippos across the river from their tables as they sit down to enjoy the international cuisine on offer. Families of hippos spend their days basking in the deep pools beyond the bars and restaurant throughout the day. After a hot day's safari Maasai warriors in full regalia greet guests as they return to their 'bush home'. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara River Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.