We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Serene Mara Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wajee Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wajee Mara Camp
Save
You added Wajee Mara Camp to your Saves list
Sekenani Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Truly Serene Mara Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My favorite campfire in the world. Comfortable lodgings, fantastic food, great accessibility to the park gate. A truly organic experience for those wishing to see the Mara on a more than reasonable budget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
3
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were an American family with 2 boys and had an incredible experience at this safe, environmentally-friendly, comfortable camp. Monkeys watched us brush our teeth, solar lamps were used to conserve electricity, excellent local meals were served under an open-air tent, and we enjoyed a cozy campfire in the evenings. One of the Masai on staff carried handmade bows and arrows, and taught my sons how to use them. It was big fun and the management is dedicated to creating affordable, eco-friendly access to the magnificent animals of Masai Mara. It's conveniently located close to the park entrance gates. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Wajee Mara Camp is a fantastic, economical and eco-friendly permacamp site just next to the Maasai Mara National Reserve. I've stayed at the camp twice, once during the summer of 2009 and once during the spring of 2011.

The permanent tents are extremely comfortable and safe. The food provided is delicious and satisfying. The staff is welcoming and informative. The site was well-shaded and kept neat.

I was happy to bring my friends back when I returned to Kenya. We had a great time and felt like we weren't imposing on the reserve inside of the part. The trip organizer helped us from Kisumu -> Nairobi -> The Mara. The local guides were excellent at finding animals in the park and teaching us. The accomodations are beyond expectation, especially considering the price.

Great for students, groups, families, couples and singles. We made great friends and I look forward to taking my family some day in the future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

My experience with Wajee Mara Camp was unforgettable. The admin was friendly and fair with pricing and scheduling. Jagi has an extensive knowlege of wildlife and history which enriches the experience. And the company made the trip even more enjoyable. Would highly recommend and use for future trips.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

What an affordable trip it was at Wajee Mara Camp! Found a serene camp, not a spoilt environment, full of trees from which one can shed under, during the scorching heat of the Mara. Accommodate excellent for a natural camp, the staff very friendly and the food is awesome - one can ask for more no end. The packed lunches for the game drives varied day after day. I really recommend Wajee Mara Camp to any group of life.

Room Tip: Suitable for travellers who love natural camps
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were looking for not so expensive Massai Mara safari with accomodation. Wajee Mara camp fullfilled our needs. Fine place close to main entrance, good local kitchen (with typical kenyan smell) and convenient tents. I reccomend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The camp is great with authentic safari look. Beds are comfortable, not so much insects (no spiders!). We came by car from Nairobi and this journey is also an adventure. Service is awesome and for me the food they prepared for us in camp was one of the best I had in Kenya.
Beautiful place to stay when going to Masai Mara... Thank you Moussa :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wajee Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wajee Mara Camp

Address: Sekenani Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wajee Mara Camp is situated in a very good camouflaged and forested area, offering an authentic African experience without sacrificing safety or comfort. Simply designed and built with wood and canvas, the large campfire area and dining area of the camp overlook the surrounding lush forest. The camp comprises 13 standard tents and 6 deluxe self-contained tents furnished in a contemporary yet comfortable style. A private outdoor seating area in front of each tent allows guests to relax and take in sights and sounds of the bush. The camp also features a dining area, kitchen with a professional chef, a shower block with flushing toilets and hot running water; among a host of many other amenities. The camp welcomes adults as well as children of all ages. Our full-board rates include accommodation, all meals and beverages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wajee Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wajee Mara Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.