We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Beautiful and Great People!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Mara Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Mara Bush Camp
Save Saved
You added Little Mara Bush Camp to your Saves list
Masai Mara | P.O.Box: 39094 Nairobi, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing, Beautiful and Great People!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is my second trip to the Maasai Mara. We stayed in the Mara Bush camp last year, and we were very happy with our experience there. We enjoyed the Little Mara Bush Camp just as well!!

The camp was absolutely beautiful. The tents are larger and on raised platforms. The bedding was comfortable bedding as were bathroom facilities. The tents have a large balcony as well! We watched the hippos returning to the river from their overnight grazing while we took the morning coffee delivered to our room. During the day, there is a pavilion that you can watch the hippos sunning and sleeping. We went there after lunch to relax and play cards. Just magical.

The food was fantastic, and was very fresh and healthy. Can you share the recipe for the lentils, please? Delicious. The desserts were amazing, and there was a different dessert every lunch and dinner. The packed breakfast that we ate on the game drive was very good as well.

But honestly, what made the camp so great was the people there. The manager, Michaela, was so much fun, and enjoyed meeting everyone at the camp and talking with us. After dinner, at the campfire, she told great stories of the animals that surrounded us. She made us feel like we were visiting a family friend at her camp!

The Maasai Warriors escorted us around the camp at night, and we felt very safe. In the morning, they told us what animals they saw walking through the camp at night, and it was very clear they were watching all night long.

I wish I could give them a higher score than 5. The camp and the people working there are just wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michela_2014, Manager at Little Mara Bush Camp, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your nice review! I hope you will be able to come again. I have even more stories now...:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We recently completed 17 days of safari in Zambia and Kenya. We stayed at various tented camps and lodges, but found the Little Mara Bush camp to be the best. The tents were larger and newer than in the nearby Mara Bush Camp and the prepared meals (rather than buffet) were a nice touch. The desserts were amazing and the location terriffic. We loved watching the hippos in the "hippo pool". All the staff were attentive and helpful. The tents at the Little Mara Bush Camp are further apart than at other camps we visited which was nice. I will certainly put the Little Mara on my list of places to return. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We visited Little Mara on the 23rd July which was their opening day. We were 20 of us and I can say that everyone of us enjoyed our stay. The camp manager and all the other staff was very helpful and very accomodating whenever we had any request. The tent were luxurious!! and the furnising were excellant. The location (facing the hippo pool) was immaculate. They place hot water bottle under our pillow at night which was really nice. On one of the days, we also dine under the star which was perfect.In terms of game drive, we were in three different cars, the two cars saw almost all the big 5s in day one expect rhino. You dont have to drive too far to see the games or to go to the river to see the crossing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We were one of the first visitors to the new Little mara bush camp. The camp consists of 8 luxury tents overlooking a river in the Mara and is very much in the wild. The camp is managed by a lovely Italian lady called Michaela who was extremely hospitable and friendly and all the staff were excellent 
The camp is beautifully furnished. The bar area overlooks the river and is a wonderful place to enjoy an evening drink on a comfortable sofa. The small dining room is used for dinner and is in the centre of the camp. Lunch is served in the open in a lovely shaded area.
The beds are lovely and comfortable and are warmed with water bottles. The showers are filled by hand and require you to be quick and economical with water. However, they were more than happy to keep refilling the water. The camp was quite hot in the afternoon, but cooled down in the evening
The food was excellent, our only complaint was the amount of curry they served. Although, it was excellent, we would have preferred something  lighter. They explained that they thought it was what most asians demand and apologised.  It is best to tell them what you want to eat as they are very flexible. The pastry chef deserves a mention as his desserts were yummy.
As the camp is unfenced and in the middle of the wild, the noise from the animals can be quite startling for the light sleeper or novice safarigoer. You may want to pack some earplugs if this applies to you.  Tent 8
is the best located as it overlooks the hippo pool. However, it is noisy and slight smelly due to the gassy hippos, but you soon get used to it. It is a magical spot and you can spend hour observing these massive creatures. The game in the mara is excellent. The camp has a couple of resident leopards and we saw lions, cheetah, elephants , buffalo and everything else excepts for the rhino. A truly wonderful experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Mara Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Mara Bush Camp

Address: Masai Mara | P.O.Box: 39094 Nairobi, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little Mara Bush Camp boasts one of the best and most spectacular locations in the famous Maasai Mara Game Reserve. It is located on the banks of the seasonal Olare Orok River, overlooking a large hippo pool with over 40 hippos at any given time. It is only a 05 minutes drive from Ol Kiombo Airstrip. River crossings during the July to October Migration period are only a short drive away from the camp. With only 8 luxury tents on wooden platforms, Little Mara Bush Camp offers the desired exclusivity for guests who are looking for maximum privacy. Join us in the Bar / Lounge where an array of classic cocktails and sundowners await you. You will find a charging station for your camera batteries and laptops in the Photo Lounge. All 08 Guest Tents (2 are family rooms) are designed with great attention to detail and overlooking the river. The remaining 04 tents are set in the shady Croton Bush Forest. Mahogany furniture and luxurious soft furnishings give it the desired comfort of a luxury Camp with a “bush feeling”. The tents are designed to give you ample space, with a bedroom, en-suite bathroom and a wooden, private veranda / deck with lounge chairs, a writing desk, bathrobes & slippers. Little Mara offers beautiful walk ways with little bridges and a well thought out central fire place to remind you of 'the Out of Africa' atmosphere. One of the most stunning features is the “The Private Hippo Pool” where one can enjoy a cool drink, overlooking Hippos basking in the sun uninterrupted & playing in the river. Little Mara Bush Camp is not fenced and wildlife roams freely. Enjoy nature uninterrupted at this fantastic and most luxurious, very personalized camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Mara Bush Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Mara Bush Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.