We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must do once in your life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loyk Mara Luxury Camp

Save Saved
You added Loyk Mara Luxury Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 1123321, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Must do once in your life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I visited the camp for a short stay and everything was perfect, the warm welcoming, the planning the food.. it was simply PERFECT and even if I stayed only 24h I will never forget them... Thanks to sheila( still remember her cute smile and kindness) , Timothy who show me around and knows a lot about the animal and the amazing Julius the masai who looked after me.. the camp is great the bed is 5stars all the facilities are perfect and The food is good...I even got a open sky movie.. what a treat in the middle of the savannah

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Or
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was our first stop on our vacation in Kenya. Wow! We were treated like loyalty and had a great time from the moment we arrived. Cold drinks and iced towels; sundowners with drinks and appetizers; barbeque dinners by the fire with a Maasai show… The staff just kept the surprises coming. And the tents are beautiful! Let me just say that I do not camp… EVER! But in a tent like this --- anytime. They had all the conveniences one could ask for, plus – their own lock and key and 24 security detail… Oh, and turndown service with hot water bottles… The first night, I almost got a heart attack when my foot touched something warm and furry in the bed. I thought an animal had snuck under the covers! It was just the water bottle. Got a good laugh out of it. The meals were also notable – felt like we were in a 5-star restaurant, except – we were out in the open, in the middle of nowhere…

The camp is in Maasai Mara and is not fenced, so you can see and hear the animals… Or have breakfast with them… And the safari experience was great too --- we saw a ton of animals and had a picnic breakfast (arranged by Loyk Mara) on a little hill, overlooking the hippos bopping in and out of the water…

Great tent camp and good value for money! The only thing that could make it better, would be a swimming pool...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

A tent camp with a palace service
Hard to find the place, but fantastic when arrived
Bush escapade with masai security guards, fantastic drive through wild life
a family experience or a romantic trip: just choose your experience
I will come back
Philippe

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I had a magical weekend at this camp! I had been to the Mara before but the experience was redefined by excellent food, service and attention to detail at this camp. i recommend this camp to the traveler, food lover, nature enthusiast. thanks for the way the staff took care of us and the very knowledgeable guides. Well designed spaces, affordable and wide drinks list, friendly bar man with a great sense of humor!!!!

Room Tip: the furthest most tent has the best balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I returned back from Mara Loyk on Friday, I would like to thank you and your team in the Mara very much for the kind hospitality and service we received.

Your Masai guide Joseph was exceptional he is a very learned young fellow and very cheerful and respectful, words can not describe our time with Joseph. Your other Masai although I did not get to know them very well are also very professional, always smiling and alert.The food was great, your chef got the pastries and all the meals perfect we enjoyed the food.

The accommodation was clean and very comfortable, I felt safe in the tent, we experienced a thunder storm whilst at the camp.

Nafthali ensured we were comfortable and took time to explain things to us, he welcomed us very well and was always around, I like the concept of your camp. We saw 4 Lions near by, Giraffe can be seen from your breakfast table.

Room Tip: If you are elderly you may request a room near by the main dinning room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A friend and I stayed in July this year. I cannot recommend the camp more. We were randomly the only guests there for a couple of nights and it felt like a bespoke luxury experience. The staff were excellent and happy to share local knowledge about the Mara. We felt very safe despite the lack of a fence/perimeter. In fact, this added to the experience as the camp blends in well with the surroundings. Our tent was huge! Two king size beds, awesome bathroom, decked veranda to view the famed sunset...essentially bliss.
On our final night, we were treated to a barbecue out in the bush complete with camp fires and a star lit canopy.
Thank you so much for giving us a once in a lifetime (or maybe not!) experience.

Room Tip: All pretty awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent magnificent honeymoon with my husband some few weeks ago..
At the reception we were served with cool champaign and cookies . Staff warred traditional red sort of blankets , looked like from a movie )) Once we reached our tent we were really surprised they way they arranged our room.. Different flowers all over the big bad, floor and the beautiful bathroom ... Candles made the room even more romantic;-)

Apart of nice and very comfortable Camp want to day about the Nature in Mara.. It's really amazing .. We saw lions, leopard, rhino , thousands of Antelopes and Zebras.. Sunrises , sundowners are really fabulous !

I'm sure we gonna come back to Loyk. Thanks all for everything !!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercy-PR, Public Relations Manager at Loyk Mara Luxury Camp, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Julian,

Thank you for tour review and we are excited you had a wonderful time with your husband at the Camp, this is what we push at achieving with all our clients, personalized service! "Comfort in the Wild" and a perfect honeymoon getaway.

We hope to see you and your husband soon for your Anniversary, we will make it even more special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loyk Mara Luxury Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loyk Mara Luxury Camp

Address: Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 1123321, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 110 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOYK Mara Camp is located in one of the most picturesque places of Masai Mara - Olae Orok conservancy. Each tent is unique, decorated in original style creating unique atmosphere. Tents are equipped by all necessary facilities: shower, hot water, toilet and all necessary accessories. On our Royal beds you will sweet and a quiet sleep under lulling sounds of night savanna.Our camp is opened for married couples and visitors with children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Loyk Mara Luxury Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loyk Mara Luxury Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.