We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loyk Mara Luxury Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Loyk Mara Luxury Camp to your Saves list
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 1123321, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Odessa, Ukraine
1 review
“Fantastic time!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Visited the Camp with my family in the beginning of August. Could not beleive that in the middle of nowhere you can find such facilities . Its amazing. We found perfect designed tent with huge bed and nice beddings , comfortable bathroom having hot water. Restaurant's zone was small but very cosy where we felt like home...
Food was excellent, thanks both chefs..My son had a birthday on the 2nd day and the staff surprised us with a testy chocolate cake, god knows how did they cook it in savanna ))) But the most amaizing was bush dinner!! We were brought to a bush ,few km away from the camp, the spot was lighted with kerosene lamps all over, tables were beautifully served and the food (barbecue ) was so delicious...under millions of stars..
What can I say, I will never go to lodges again... the atmosphere is absolutely different. I would chose Camp and it definitely will be Loyk!!!
Thanks to all staff and personally to Camp Manager Naftali and the guide , a masai man Gerald..
Hope to visit Kenya and Loyk Mara next year again.

Room Tip: Ask for the tent N 9. I think its the best with an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercy-PR, Public Relations Manager at Loyk Mara Luxury Camp, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Victor,

We are happy you had a good time at the Camp and we met and surpassed all your expectations. Yes, we go out of our way to ensure all guests with Birthdays have the best surprise and your son got just that.

Once you visit Loyk Mara Luxury Camp then you know it becomes your home and you are welcome back and we hope to see you all soon.

All the best with everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    8
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
11
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

What can you say about the most amazing place we have stayed. We spent our one year anniversary at Loyk Mara camp and it was the most incredible time. We were looking for an authentic bush experience and Loyk Mara Camp had it all.. From arriving to the camp with all the staff waiting to greet us with a cold drink to our 5.30am early morning cooked breakfast departure, everything was perfect! The staff were so friendly, efficient and attentive to our every need. We truly felt like we were royalty!

This lodge is also great for game viewing at your doorstep: lions, elephant, hippo and buffalo all wandered through the lodge during our stay! Our most exciting moment was having our bush dinner with lions roaring less than a km away. You do however feel completely safe with your personal Masai guards walking you back and forth from your tent.

The rooms are done so tastefully and were so comfortable. Every detail is thought of, including our favourite of having hot water bottles placed in the bed when you return from dinner and drinks around the fire. The best placed tents are the ones furthest from the dining area and it really is exhilarating walking back and forth from them.

The food is exceptional, 3 course lunches and 4 course dinners. We never knew what the chef would have for us and the dishes were superb. Very talented with varied food. In our 3 days we had, mains of fish, chicken, steak and pork.

Gerard, Henry, David, Daniel, Faith, Silvia, Joseph, John, Frederic and all the 14 staff who met our every need, provided the highest level of service. The most common word you will use when at the camp will be "Asante Sana"(Thanks a lot) as they look after you like royalty. Gerard, our Masai guide gave us insight into their culture and some of his campfire stories had us in hysterics.

The activities on offer included beautiful sundowners, a bush walk in which you learn about the fauna and flora of the surroundings. I now know how to make a Masai toothbrush :) The bush dinner was so intimate under the stars with the chef station right next to the table. Game viewing on the game drives were spectacular as expected. The camp has access to an open air land rover which is ideal for game viewing. The highlight of our drives were seeing a mini crossing at the Talek river of around 50 000 migrating wildebeest.

Thank you to the whole team at Loyk Mara camp! I highly recommend to anyone wanting to visit the Masai Mara to stay at this Lodge as it optimizes a luxury safari experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

If asked, I would make Loyk Mara Camp my home. Visited the luxurious camp with ruputravel.co.ke on 31st May – 2nd June 2013 and the reception we received was exceptional. The tents are tastefully designed, comfortable and clean. Do not get me started on the services, five star rating. Awesome staff ever: the Maasai guards (Big up! to Bill), housekeepers, waiter and chef. If it was not for the Camp Manager (Mercy), I was going to steal the chef, the food was delicious. I loved the game drive, nature walk, sundowner and bonfire. Thank you for the hospitality and the memorable experience of the mara.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Loyk Mara is one of those places that leaves you feeling like royalty-feeling like you cheated them off because the experience is beyond opulent and one to keep going back to. The Loyk family treated me like a king, my luxury tent had amphitheater like unobstructed views of the Massai Mara plains teeming with wildlife, as far my eyes could see. The natural sound tracks that were birds singing, lions roaring, and the orchestra of wilderbeest moving are memorable. My maasai bodyguard enlightened me that wilderbeest are actually called "GNU". Meal times were a celebration of gastronomic pleasures, all meals were pure bliss...The sunrises, sundowners and evening moments by the fireplace are a must experience!!! This is a "must visit" camp!!!!

Room Tip: be sure to try the adventure tent no. 9 and 10 the resident leopard will be taking a peak at you and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercy O, Manager at Loyk Mara Luxury Camp, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Ken,

"OPULENT" this is what Google dictionary has to say about this word - 'Ostentatiously rich and luxurious or lavish' and Loyk Mara Camp completely agrees with you! Rich - in our culinary experience, mixing modern and traditional, plenty of wildlife and space. Luxurious - this is a luxury camp. Lavish - we Bestow fun, pleasure, entertainment, peace and experiences in generous or extravagant quantities upon every guest that comes here.

Ken, it was a great pleasure having you here and we welcome you back so we can bestow more wildlife pleasures and experiences on you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Where do I start, spent my birthday weekend there and everything was awesome from the beginning from the warm reception that we got when we arrived to the Sumptious meals we were served to the game drive and not forgetting watching the sun set over the Mara. My Advise if you want to have the true Mara Experience have it at the Mara Loyk Luxury Camp

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercy O, Manager at Loyk Mara Luxury Camp, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello Giorgio,

Yes you spent your Birthday here and we believe its was a memorable experience for you. So for your next birthdays we hope you will make it a tradition to celebrate them at Loyk Mara Camp with your friends and family.

The count down to your next birthday has started :) see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great staff, great environment, great meals, great chef, great rooms, great, great, great!!!! Need I say more.

Maasai warriors walking you to your tent at night was the most thrilling bit of the trip. The game drive, sundowner, bonfire were all great.

Thanks for a lovely time guys :) 5 thumbs up!!!!!

Room Tip: Oops there was no pool :) EVERYTHING was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercy O, Manager at Loyk Mara Luxury Camp, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Stacey,

It was a pleasure having you at Loyk Mara Camp and we are glad the trip to you was "AWESOME"

We hope to see you back at the Camp for the December Holidays! The swimming pool and spa will be ready at the Camp by them so you can enjoy a relaxing afternoon by the pool side or a super massage at our spa. We also have plans for a tennis court and hopefully we can have a match with you :) now that would be Awesome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I have been to several Tented Camps In mara, amboseli, Tsavo, Samburu and Mt Kenya, but I have never experienced great hospitality and kindness than I did on the weekend of 31st May-2nd June 2013. The Camp Manager (Mercy) gave us an opportunity to experience the Mara and the wild associated with it. The kind of reception I experienced was way beyond my expectations. The staff were great; the Maasai guards, waiter, housekeepers, CHEF and the driver. The tents are great, spacious and with comfortable beds. The scenery around the camp is amazing!! You can actually view game while standing at your terrace/veranda. It was overwhelming to hear the lion roar behind my tent and the presence of Elephants in front of my tent. I almost panicked, but the tents are well protected from any animal attack. The food was wonderful (full continental breakfast, Lunch (packed) and dinner). Do I need to mention the thrilling nature walk offered by the Maasai Guards? This was a memorable experiencing. They educated me on how to handle animal attack..Great!! Finally, the sundowner was spectaculars...will live to remember this...

Loyk Mara Camp, I will surely be back!! Keep Up!!

Room Tip: "If you want a private and exclusive accommodation, Tent no. 9 and 10 are excellent"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercy O, Manager at Loyk Mara Luxury Camp, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello Eliud,

"Hidden Paradise" completely describes Loyk Mara Camp! Heaven on earth at Loyk Mara Camp. From up the Hill after the cobra tree you get a great view of Loyk Mara Camp, hidden deep in the thicket and as you are there you will see nothing else but wilderness around, complete privacy....this is one of the pleasures of visiting Loyk Mara Camp, it's private and exclusive and not forgetting the no. of animals you see around the Camp.

Yes as you mentioned our tents are safe and we always have security outside the tents, the lion outside your tent was probably wishing you a good night sleep and letting you know he is around and you will be safe through the night :)

You are most welcome to return soon and we will have more surprises for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
18.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
18.5 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#13 of 133 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#9 of 133 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loyk Mara Luxury Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loyk Mara Luxury Camp

Address: Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 1123321, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loyk Mara Luxury Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp is exclusively located in Olare Orok Conservancy on the boarder of Ntakitiak River. The Camp has been settled down on 100 acres of private land where you are surrounded by nothing else but exceptional and stunning scenery and a panoramic background view of wildlife. The Camp has 10 fabulously luxurious en-suite rooms designed to accommodate business and leisure travellers with all in room amenities and private verandahs. To ensure personalized service to guests, we work in close guidance with all our staff to offer all round the clock support; this is what marks the difference between a good hotel and a singular hotel. We are fully confident that Loyk Mara Luxury Camp is the perfect choice at any time of the year to have a relaxing holiday, to enjoy a romantic break, to hold a business meeting, to unwind after accumulated stress, to delight in the best conditions of privacy and tranquillity and to regain the well-being that we all need. Our facilities offer all the services and sophistication that is expected of a top class hotel. Luxury and economy aren't usually mentioned in the same breath except by our clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Loyk Mara Luxury Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loyk Mara Luxury Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.