We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei
Save
You added Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei to your Saves list
Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Gualdo Tadino, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The adventure safari was way and beyond our dreams. Porini works together with the Masai and 'make' camps on their land and provide employment for many which obviously has a knock on effect by hellping the individual's village. Everything was so nice and the staff at both camps really charming and helpful. Sleeing in the tents was extremely comfortable and the food was amazing. Flying into the middle of nowhere added to the excitement and we were met by Wilson & Melita and immediately went on safari! Selenkay conservancy was not teeming with animals but searching for them was very enjoyable the same. Our day in Amboseli was stunning seeing hundreds of elephants who crossed right in front of our vehicle. By the way the Land Cruisers are second to none and there were even sockets to charge your batteries!! Moving onto Ol Kinyei after 3 days and we were met by Jackson and David and the animal sightings just got better and better. A cheetah lying in the grass with giraffes and zebras going quite close to see what animal it was, was fantastic. In the evening we sat next to a big lion family with lots of cubs. Then the adults started to roar and communicate with the dominant male some distance away! Our day in the Mara was incredible with lion and leopard sightings which are always nice but it is also the little animals and birds that make a safari. We saw a huge hippo come out of the river with the most tiny baby in tow! A family of bat eared foxes, a strutting secretary bird, hundreds of vultures with their wings open warming up in the sun and so it goes on....Sundowners were memorable drinking Tusker beer and 'eatings' as they called them.Obviously January is a quieter month and we were the only ones in the camp so we were very spoilt! Would be so much fun with a group of friends or family. A big thanks to everyone at both camps for making it such a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
9
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The guide was exceptional. Adventure camp offers an authentic wildlife experience. I discovered the beauty of the Masai Mara. The best New Year any solo traveller could hope for. Watching a pride of lions is about as good as it gets. The birdlife and wildflowers were also a surprising attraction and the short rains made the whole area verdant. Out of this world.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The adventure camping is great! It was far much better that we had expected. We were impressed by the organization, the toilets and the beauty of the place.
The food was excellent, the chef is great!
As for the game drives, it was an unforgetable experience. The drivers and guides are great spotters and shared a lot of knowledge with us. We got to see all the animals we wanted, including the Big Five!
Also, staying at the conservancies with the Maasai was the best choice we made, I'm so glad we booked the trip with Gamewatcher's. They are great hosts, showed lots of professionalism and kindness. We loved visiting the Maasai village in Selenkay, that was WOW! I also consider that I made good friends there, both in Selenkay and Ol Kiney, and for that I'm forever grateful.
The animals are great, but for me it was the people who made this experience so special and unique.
Besides, it was a very exclusive experience, without all the fuzz and buzz of the National Parks.
This is great value for money! I cannot imagine any better safari option than this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We visited Ol Kinyei after three nights at the Gamewatchers camp at Selenkay. After the great stay we had there it was hard to imagine that Ol Kinyei could be as good - but it was every bit as good. Wilson and George went out of their way to find us everything we asked for including the leopard on the last day. We will do our best to visit the Gamewatchers camps again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Welcomed by the manager, Jackson and staff with a flannel and fruit drink. A lovely setting, with camp fire and guards, flushing loo and shower en-suite 'shed' for each tent. Food was stunning, creative and plentiful. We were surprised wine and beer were on sale,and very reasonable at 850 KES a bottle of wine. Fantastic guide Amos, with great sense of humour and penchant for finding and not disturbing the wildlife too much. Lanterns were solar-powered. We could recharge our batteries each day, and this was a necessity even with spares as we took 6,000 photos and videos over two weeks. The bucket shower of 25 litres pp was more than sufficient, and great fun in it's outside shed-type cubicle. As we travelled at the end of the dry season, there were very few insects, and no mosquitos were seen. We only saw two snakes, and no scorpions or spiders etc. We were untroubled by upset stomachs, which is quite rare. We didn't think we would see one leopard or rhino, as they are shy and rare, but we saw 4 leopards in our fortnight and at least 27 rhinos. It was good to hear lions roaring outside the camp. The sundowners and nightdrives, and walk with the Maasai were unbelievable. Do this holiday for it's environmental reasons, enthusiasm of it's staff, and professionalism. Wow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I have just spent 7 days in the adventure Camp at Ol Kinyei and had the most fantastic time. Thanks to Jackson and his team the camp is a wonderful and friendly place to be.

If I had to list the three best things about my holiday the staff would be top - friendly welcoming gentle and knowledgeable. Always willing to help or even just chat, sharing their knowledge of the animals and the area. Wilson and George our guide and spotter fired us all up with their enthusiasm showing us this beautiful Conservancy and also taking us into the Mara. We learnt so much - not just about the animals but also the vegetation and birds. Richard and Stanley looked after us in camp - again always friendly and happy, Fanuels cooking was amazing, and of course all the other staff around in the background played their part too.

The second would be the setting. The conservancy is a beautiful area, without the vast plains of the Mara but with all the same animals and varied vegetation. I thoroughly enjoyed our day in the Mara but would not have been disappointed if I'd had to spend another day in the Conservancy. We saw fantastic animals and also birds, which sometimes get overshadowed by the large animals. Our guides did not tire explaining names, behaviour and sharing their vast knowledge of the whole ecosystem with us. Fantastic'! The hunt for the leopard lasted all week and meant a couple of really early mornings. Sunrise is as good as sunset and we were rewarded not just by seeing the elusive animal on our last morning, but also by seeing other tremendous things on the way.

Thirdly the accommodation. I slept well on the comfortable mattresses in spacious tents. Stanley looked after this area, lighting the way and our tents and shower rooms for us every evening with really efficient solar lights, sorting out hot showers when needed etc. The bathrooms with flushing toilet and working showers were great. Waking up to the dawn chorus made getting up early in the morning easy, and knowing there was a fence made lying in bed listening to the different noises entertaining! The central area with the dining tent and fire were really sociable, encouraging guests to mingle. We had some lovely evenings with the other guests, reliving our days safari and sharing experiences. The company was good, lively and entertaining and often shared with staff too.

A great experience and definitely to be repeated Thankyou!

Room Tip: Rooms are tents and as far as I am aware there is no choice. The tents are spacious and clean. Well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I spent 3 nights here after the adventure camp in Selenkay. The location of this camp is awesome. It's very secluded.

Animals pass by the perimeter throughout the day and night. Don't worry you are enclosed in a "boma" when you sleep. You can see waterbucks and hear them bark up close. Zebra and wildebeest walked around the outskirts. If you weren't paying attention you wouldn't notice them. Each night, lions would roar and I'd wake up. Hearing them roar is a special treat, the closer the more special.

Sitting around the campfire in the evening, out in the open but you're protected, was very nice. And the cold Tuskers made it even nicer.

The conservancy and the Mara delivered 4 of the big 5 minus the leopard. That's great for 3 nights. One of the highlights was coming back from the Mara after a good downpour and watching two Thompson gazelle's with their horns locked together. They couldn't seem to get untangled for about 15 minutes. Once they got untangled, they were back at it full force. Quite impressive for a small animal.

Ben and Morema were the guides and they are awesome. They know the place very well and help you see things that you wouldn't have without their help. Jackson and his staff made the visit a memorable one. Thanks everyone for a great experience!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei

Address: Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei is sited in Ol Kinyei Wildife Conservancy in the Maasai Mara. For those for whom the wildlife safari experience is more important than the accommodation, and who are prepared to sleep in small tents in sleeping bags with an element of “roughing it”, this gives an opportunity for an exceptional and exclusive wildlife experience with high quality guiding but at a much lower price than expensive up-market safari lodges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.