We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aventure camping , poroni bush camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei

Save Saved
You added Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei
Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Aventure camping , poroni bush camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The whole experience was magnificent the guys at the camps were great animals what can I say there are thousands I especially like lions and this is the place to go I would of seen 60 lions in 6 days my favorite camp was the bush camp these guys know everything Johnathan and George were the spotters and they don't miss a thing these guys will do what ever you want one night we stayed out with dinner in the car just to witness a lion hunt and kill as the lions were eating so were we thankyou very much gamewatchers you are the best I will be back phil perth western australia

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
7
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We don't camp but the 5 of us were warm and comfortable in our sleeping bags and roomy tents. The food was great and plentiful. The wildlife was stunning and the guides did everything they could to track down everything we wanted to see. The early starts were no problem although it was a little chilly at first. We would totally recommend this site and we would say that you don't need more expensive or up-market accommodation.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just been from a 6 nights Gamewatchers Safari trip ... 3 nights in Ambesoli (Selenki Conservancy) and 3 nights here in Mara Oi Kinyei conservancy and what an experience .. Amazing!

The camps are brilliant ... toilet/shower facilities are surprisingly clean with flush toilets n hot showers. The tents area is all properly fenced so no security risk of unwanted wild visitors in the night. Staff is very good and takes care of all your needs and the food is lovely .. they really take care of you!

Guides - probably the best safari guides in the world! Simon and Jeffrey - they know their business very well .. where to spot wildlife and how to give you the best experience. Very flexible according to your needs and very pleasant people both of them - we saw lions, cheetas - everything. They know Mara very well too - they know how to keep you away from the crowds but still find the best of the wildlife in the reserve.

A small note on the comparison between Ambesoli and Mara Adventure camps (both from Gamewatchers) - Mara camp has slightly better facility than Ambesoli probably because its a bit older whereas the service and staff in Ambesoli was a bit better than here. There is no problem with Mara but in Ambesoli, staff was everywhere and just always there to attend you .. in Mara we felt at a few occasions that they've less people than Ambesoli and they are busy in themselves. But again this comparison is also because we visited Ambesoli first so may be we were kind of spoiled there... otherwise we'd not even have noticed it.

All in all great - we'll go again and are highly recommending them to all out friends. And the same recommendation goes to all the TA readers - a must do - it may be a bit expensive than the ordinary safari - but the experience I think outweighs in multitudes!

Take Care!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest of Dean
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It may be dome tents but that is as far as 'roughing it' goes.

You get a mattress to sleep on (bring your own sleeping bag or hire one), a pillow, ensuite shower and toilet, charging facilities for laptops and batteries, superb food, comfy chairs, hammocks................. and then there is the main reason you go, the wildlife.

Games drives in 4x4 open sided vehicles in a private conservancy that directly benefits he locals. The manger, Jackson, is superb as are all the staff from water carries to guides..... they are all I would say, better than anything you will get in a lodge.

We have stayed both here and at the camp in Amboseli and to show how good it is as I type this next years trip is already booked.

Simply fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was travelling with 3 kids and wanted three things to work out on a safari trip...1) see a good variety of animals 2) be with guides who can spare time to talk and explain the landscape and animal behaviour 3) not have a load of other characters exclaiming 'Oh My God' every 10 seconds in the same vehicle.
And what a winner this place is....first of all, the drive from the airstrip to the camp is about 30 mins, and you'll see plenty of game straight away to whet the appetite. As it was mid-day, there was a take it easy approach until time to do the 4 pm to sundown drive...and it was then that I realised we had hit the spot. We were in our own truck with Jesphat and Tipa and I can tell you that is a team to be with...they tootled around, and then within a little while J said 'Listen' and sure enough you could hear some gazelle 'coughing'...and your man T starts figuring out where the cheetah/leopard/lion was likely to be. We found the cheetah shortly afterwards, 3 of them padding gently through the bush..and J eased the landrover to have a decent watch. My kids were fascinated, and I realised that my love of Africa was being passed on...with the help of J and T.
That same evening we drove around seeing lions, more cheetah and a whole host of other animals. Then stopped for a sundowner and saw the clearest views of Venus I can recall. It was a grand evening...we returned back to the camp and met the other people for dinner. Mixture of Brits, Italians, very easy company. The next day we went into the Mara proper, and it is there you realise what you'd get if you were based there. Frankly, stacks of vehicles seemed to be roaming around...full of Chinese with telephoto lenses that stuck out a yard or two. Makes you wonder why they don't simply line up on a hill and snap away from there. But we ducked and dived a bit with J telling us more and more, and T working his way down and through river crossings that looked 100% impassable. We saw the lot...wildebeest doing their swim with death across the Mara river, crocs looking lazily on..leopard, lions..and so on. It was as if the J and T team were on a mission to show us the best of the park in one day...and they gave it 100%...just rhino to see close-up next time.

We had a bit of a ear-flapping experience with an elephant...causing T to use the reverse gear for the first time that day...but as the tusker was making it clear that we should shove off...we wisely did so. It is a wonderful place to spend a day, the wide open savannah is as you'd expect, and it is the right way to see wildlife.
So you return...back to the camp, tired, and full of what you've seen..swapping stories with others there around the campfire.
The camp is perfect..the tents are just what you'd want, with two comfortable mattresses. Food was excellent, and the camp manager (Johnathan) has it all running smoothly. My three kids will not forget the experience, and the icing on the cake was that they all got up early (6ish) to see animals AND had a shower. Now you try getting that to happen with 16 and 13 year olds....
I'd definitely recommend the camp to those who don't want the whole rose-petal strewn bed malarky...but want a base, friendly staff, and plenty of animal viewing. And if you get that team of J and T assigned to you..you'll not go wrong. Jesphat has excellent English, is extremely knowledgable on the wildlife and is a massively interesting person to talk to about Maasai customs and practices. Tipa too, and his expertise with the driving was something to behold.

I've been to a fair few places in Africa, and I'm putting this one high up there...I like the proximity of the animals, simplicity of the camp, the quality of the staff/guides, the organisation (which was faultless), and the care and attention that was given to us...even though we passed through for just 2 nights. My kids said the whole 2 days was 'rad..sick' and so on. And were smiling big time when saying so.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This camp is brilliantly run, friendly and focused on ensuring it's guests have a great time. The staff seem to genuinely love what they do and share their enthusiasm and extensive knowledge of the animals - and the local community benefits. A slight blip with transfers was sorted out swiftly at some cost to Gamewatchers (who had to pay for a plane just for us)- demonstrating the excellent calibre of the company and the people who work there. The camping was actually very comfortable - with proper mattresses, clean bathrooms and the food great. This is a great option for families where you get the benefit of expert guides, without having to pay for "luxury" accommodation. We would love to return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I can not recommend Jonathan and his team enough for being such wonderful hosts. From the charming wake up calls to evening camp fire tales,every need of ours was thought of and taken care. The food was outstanding. Their knowledge of the African wildlife was superb! We were taken to see so many cats, cubs, lions, leopards, cheetahs and all the other wonderful animals. This was a real African experience and I am so pleased we chose game watchers as our guides for the week. An experience I will never forget, will always miss and hope to return to!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei

Address: Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei is sited in Ol Kinyei Wildife Conservancy in the Maasai Mara. For those for whom the wildlife safari experience is more important than the accommodation, and who are prepared to sleep in small tents in sleeping bags with an element of “roughing it”, this gives an opportunity for an exceptional and exclusive wildlife experience with high quality guiding but at a much lower price than expensive up-market safari lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Ol Kinyei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.