We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTE HEAVEN!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kicheche Mara Camp

Save Saved
You added Kicheche Mara Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kicheche Mara Camp
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Acacia valley, Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTE HEAVEN!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have been on a few safaris and can absolutely recommend Kicheche Mara as a perfect camp to choose for your safari holiday. The camp is in a lovely location and there are great and varying landscapes on the drives you go on. The wildlife is as special as you would hope and more...it is all there for the wonderful guides there to find and show you. The Masai guides are great. We had Joseph who taught us a lot on our drives as well as the walk we took with him. The walk was really special, you get so close up to everything and learn about the plants, footprints, insects etc that you might miss on the drives. They are used to photographers and are sensitive to their requests and needs, and I have to admit that one of the best photos my camera took was one that Joseph took for me of a leopard!
The food in the camp is absolutely outstanding, and it's lovely that they invite you to look round the kitchens and gardens where they grow most of your fresh meals. All the staff were amazing, big smiles, an easy, happy, relaxing and friendly atmosphere abounds in this camp. The tents are very comfortable and are all located with great views of the bush, and you get to see the monkeys close up and some of the game that wanders close by. The security is great, and Masai guides escort you to and from your tent at night. My favourite part was the hot bucket shower ready when we got back from the evening game drive!
Cat was the manager when we were there and really is a perfect host. She runs a friendly and welcoming camp that we had our best times in Kenya in. My family went there for my father's 80th birthday, and Cat and all the Kicheche staff made him feel so special, dancing around the table singing with a cake for him, happy memories!
I couldn't have been more impressed, or have wanted more from my safari. Top marks and thank you Cat, Joseph, all the cooks and team who made us feel so welcome and happy and showed us the wonders of the bush.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    12
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
106
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Drammen
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely worth a visit! Great staff, exciting and great gamedrives, good food, smalltalk around the bonfire, luxurious "tents" and perfect for families! If you are thinking about it - do it!! You will get a lot of wonderful memories ;)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This camp is in the most natural setting imaginable and we were thrilled to watch giraffe, zebra and baboons from our porch.
All the tented rooms and public accommodation sit inconspicuously in the park and our tent - with en suite flushing loo and bucket shower - was better appointed than many hotel rooms I've stayed in.
The seemingly endless number of Masai staff were as friendly as one would wish and were always on hand when required. Food was excellent and varied, with vegetables from the camp's own garden.
Our Masai driver had an encyclopaedic knowledge not just of the animals in the park but also of their habits, and we were amazed when he accurately predicted a cheetah's route through the bush, and then positioned our Landrover so we could watch her take down a young gazelle.
This was our first safari. If we go to Africa again we'll doubtless explore another region, but we were so taken with Kicheche Mara Camp that we'll try to fit in a couple of days' repeat visit.
My one slight disappointment was there wasn't adequate hot water for my wife and I properly to shower AND wash our hair. We got round this by alternating hair washing days but a solar thermal hot water system for each tent would be a vast improvement. However don't let this put you off staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The location of the camp is lovely and the tents themselves are well designed although in the small side. Our guide was superb and took huge trouble to give us interesting experiences and fascinating information. He was always on the look out to make the most of our game drives. And the Mara is a rich experience indeed. However five or six or even seven vehicles jostling for position around a sleepy cheetah made my son and I very uncomfortable and although this didn't happen often it did make us feel sometimes we were in a zoo.

Kicheche have thought out what they aim to provide and the camp seemed very well run. The staff were efficient and the food was good. You are allocated one guide who stays with you during all your game drives so can design as rounded an experience as possible. However there is little flexibility about when game drives and meal times happen and it sometimes felt as though we were being rounded up like a herd of animals. I can appreciate that it's difficult trying to please everyone but maybe more choice could be made available.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it but maybe we should have been bolder about asking for a slightly different programme.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Although not the most luxurious, this camp is located in probably one of the best spots. It will work for you the best in case you have limited time you can spend in Mara region and want the see the very best of diverse wildlife. The best camp service with the most knowledgeable guides with very best driving skills to beat all the others - believe me, you'll need all that if you want to be the first in line to see the crossing with unobstructed view. The size of your camera, coming out to the river bank early...simply DOES NOT matter if you don't have the very best driver in this situation when everything is unpredictable. AND DON'T FORGET TO TIP THEM BIG WAY :-) Check out the photos we took with very small and simple tourist camera :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I returned in November 2012 to Kicheche Mara Camp after having visited the year before. Cat and Charles, who manage the camp now, are a delight. Cat spends the most time with guests, and she is warm, friendly, very knowledgeable and runs a well-organized camp. In short, the same high caliber as you can expect at all Kicheche camps. All the staff are friendly, and they are happy to help you work on improving your Kiswahili, if you're interested. Tents are luxurious, private and with beautiful views. The food is amazing, and they are happy to accommodate a vegetarian. I will return as soon as I can. I love this place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here from the 2nd January 2013 until the 6th January 2013 on our honeymoon and it was absolutely fantastic! It was our first ever safari so we were unsure if this was the right thing to do for our honeymoon but it most definitely was! It was superb from start to finish! Even the trip from the airport (mud strip surrounded by giraffe) turned into a safari trip as we saw most of the animals we were excited about on our trip to the camp. The camp is located in the middle of the bush so our tent was often surrounded by zebra or gazelle.
The tent (this term is used lightly as it is as good if not better than most very nice hotel rooms) was huge and very well furnished. We had a huge comfortable bed, hot bucket shower, flushing toilet, fresh mineral water supply wardrobes and most importantly a spectacular view of the plains and wildlife! Dinner was served in the restaurant (another large tent!) and I honestly don't know how they managed to offer such a diverse variety of food of such good quality when you consider our location. There was even a well stocked bar and they even managed to serve me hot-toddies to combat my cold before bed!
Although the camp was brilliant it was nothing compared to the actual safari. We didn't even have to leave camp to see wildlife. Within 5 minutes of being in the truck we had normally seen lions, giraffe, elephant and no end of other amazing animals and birds. Our guide (David) was very knowledgeable and made sure we saw something different every day. Each day we would do a morning drive and would have breakfast somewhere on the plains. The best one was with over 60 hippos! Then we would have an afternoon nap before going out again for an evening drive that always included a 'sun-downer' (alcoholic drink) whilst watching lions or cheetahs etc. and the sun-set.
All of the staff were excellent and all spoke very good English. Special thanks to Cat who welcomed us on arrival and made sure we ok during our stay. She was very helpful and very welcoming.
As it was our first ever safari we can't compare it to anywhere else. However I honestly can't imagine how it can get any better than this. We met a few other groups and families whilst we were there and most of them had done several safaris before. They all said that they had never been anywhere as good as Kicheche Mara Camp!
A truly fantastic place that we cannot recommend enough. It was a special treat for our honeymoon, but hopefully one day we will be back!!

Room Tip: We were in Mamba tent which was the furthest away from the common area tents. It was a bit of a wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kicheche Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicheche Mara Camp

Address: Acacia valley, Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kicheche Mara Camp 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bush hideaway welcomes you to a different world, centered at the heart of the African wilderness. Experiencing a traditional luxury camp is a must on safari and, with Kicheche, one that is intimate, secluded and in an area surrounded by prolific wildlife. Staying in a bush camp doesn't mean compromising on comfort, the food and service are first class, as are the warmth and experience of Kicheche's staff making your safari an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Kicheche Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kicheche Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kicheche Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kicheche Mara Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.