We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Tented Camp in the Mara” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Intrepids Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mara Intrepids Club to your Saves list
Mara Intrepids Club
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   C14 Keekorok,, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New London, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Tented Camp in the Mara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in tent 20 during our recent safari in Masai Mara. The Intrepids camp was quite
nice. It is about a quarter mile from the airstrip, and located directly on one of the small
rivers feeding into the Mara, complete with a suspension bridge. The tents are quite large,
and equipped with running water, showers, and toilets. The electicity is provided by generator,
and goes off in the mid-afternoon when most guests on on game drives, and again late at night.
Similarly, hot water is only available at ceretain hours, but you can arrange with the front desk
to have it turned on at any time you like. The pool and bar area are very nice, as is the open
air dining area. Meals were very good, with buffets for breakfast and lunch, and menu service
for dinner. The game drives from the camp were excellent, and we spotted 4 of the Big 5 here
(no rhino).

This is a very good permanent tented camp, and well worth visiting. We would do it again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
It is true we are found where one can see all Animals within a very short circuit. We are glad you enjoyed.
The Mara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    62
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
127
217
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our first stop on our visit to Kenya and nothing else could compare to the experience. Greeted at the airstrip , whisked to the camp, greeted with a lovley tropical drink and bags dropped at tents and out for our first game drive with Tappen in no time. Saw an amazing amount of wildlife on the first evening. Did the long AM drive with lunch by the Mara River next day and was fabulous. Again, Tappen was 'the man' . We chased down the rhino, found a rare antelope, saw the largest croc ever. The tents were lovely. Coffee and biscuts delivered to the tent in the am by John. The food fantastic. Abbie our host every day and eve for meals took the time to know us and greet us by name each time. Love her! Joseph, (aka 'chief') was a wealth of information and enjoyed his talks with our evening 'Tusker' . Would HIGHLY reccomend this place. Maybe do it last though because it will definitly be the highlight of your visit it Africa. Thanks Intrepids.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, COO at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are MAD.. Make a Difference. We are glad we did for you and your colleagues.
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here late June into early July. Our tent number was #15 and I would not recommend this tent. You cannot see the river well and our friends had tent #16 which looked over the river and they saw bush bucks and baboons and hippos from their tent. Their daughters had tent #17 which also had a decent view.
The food was great and staff excellent, wifi sketchy unless you sit near the office but have patience...after all you are in the middle of nowhere. Bring conditioner if you use it.
The wildlife was awesome and we were lucky enough to see the first batch of wildebeest coming in for the great migration...a mere 150,000 wildebeest!!!

Great place,Kenya is awesome!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Tents #16 and 17 good views, #15 not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello Guest,
Thanks for sharing your experiences with the World. For us this is Benchmarking in helps us in our strategic planing.
We are waiting for your next visit
The Mara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is our second trip back to the Intrepids in 6 months. This time we brought our whole family! Edwin was kind enough to upgrade us to the family tent which was really nice, albiet, a bit far of a walk. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and loved our guide John, who was an excellent driver. We managed to see ALL of the Big 5! John was very attentive to our family and very, very knowledgeable, knowing the ins and outs of driving everywhere in the Mara. Our sunrise and sunset stops were amazing and John always knew where to park for the perfect photo op!

The only negative comment I can say is our server this time must have been new and it took quite long to get our food for each course and each meal. To the point that we really didn't want to stay for dessert, especially with children. After a long day of game drives we found this took too long. As well, I think they must have a new chef as our dinner meals were not as good as before. In January are food was fabulous, but this time most of us did not care at all for our dinner entrees. Breakfast and lunch were good, but dinner needs some work. Pasta was very dry with hardly any sauce and not a lot of taste. I will say that the chef after noticing that none of us ate our dinners, came and ask how he could make it better. That we appreciated. We will be back soon! Love the Intrepids!

Room Tip: We also had room 12A again along with the family tent! Perfect tent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear guest,
We are all so glad you enjoyed yourself immensely. The Doors to the Unit remain ever open for you.
Kind Regards,
The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The trip was Amazing and it exceeded our expectations (my brother and I). I simply loved it so much. What a great hospitality as well!!! I would definitely recommend. Mara Intrepids offered a good service, the staff is always smiling, they care of all small details which makes the difference, beautiful nature, the animals etc.The first night, when we went to bed we found hot bags under the blankets (woooow, what a great touch) and much more. I have only compliments and our guide Samson was so friendly and caring !!!! One of the BEST experiences I had so far !!! =)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, COO at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
So glad you enjoyed. How about another visit soon??
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a week long (11th-18th June) honeymoon at Mara Intrepids and we were blown away when we arrived at the camp. The greeting at Olkiombo airstrip was fantastic and we were instantly made to feel at home. We had seen photos of the camp and tents before we left but they were even more impressive in the flesh. We were lucky to get a tent right on the river so we saw hippos, baboons, mongeese, lions and hyenas walking just outside (importantly the other side of the electric fence). The food at the camp is great and the service from our waiter Dennis was superb.

The games drives were fantastic and our guide Matthew was very knowledgeable. everything is close to the camp so even if you're there for a couple of days you will see some fantastic wildlife. Seeing lions hunting Impala was a particular highlight. We were extremely lucky to see leopard's and Black Rhino's both of which are very elusive.

We splashed out on some extras like the balloon safari, village visit and bush dinner all of which were superb and made our honeymoon unforgettable.

Can't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, COO at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We are so glad you liked it.
Regards,
The Mara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our visit to the Masaii Mara was a dream come true. Everything about this camp is outstanding. The tents are beautifully appointed with views of the Talek river and the staff go the extra mile to make your stay memorable.
Situated near the airport, the abundance of wildlife near to this camp is unbelievable. Our driver/ guide, Dennis was fantastic. I highly recommend asking for him personally. His enthusiasm for the wildlife is unmatched and he seems to have a sense of where to go to find the best viewing opportunities while the other drivers sit and wait. Dennis made every game drive an unforgettable experience. I don't think that I have said "wow" so many times in my entire life as I did over the 3 days that we were on game drives with him.
The food at the camp is really good too. There is way too much to eat the number of courses on offer and the staff in the restaurant are very attentive especially Abi who is always ready with a smile and happy to assist with special requests.
The room steward that we had was John. He is a lovely man who did a great job and went out of his way to point out Crocs in the river outside our room. His early morning cup of tea before the game drive was very well appreciated - we were very lucky to have had John looking after us.
The camp has easy access paths throughout and so is suitable for people of all ages. The rooms have small bottles of shampoos and soaps so there is no need to bring your own. Wifi is available at the camp but it is very slow, so best to use the opportunity to escape work and just relax.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hello,
We are all so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge. You are forever invited to visit again
Regards,
The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Intrepids Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Intrepids Club

Address: C14 Keekorok,, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mara Intrepids Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Mara Intrepids Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Intrepids Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Intrepids Club Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Intrepids Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.