We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth waiting 15 years for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Intrepids Club

Save Saved
You added Mara Intrepids Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mara Intrepids Club
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   C14 Keekorok,, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth waiting 15 years for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We are just back from four nights at Intrepid Masai Mara and two in Samburu. How lucky is that! The first at Samburu (guide Jelly - terrific - highly recommended!) was so good we were reluctant to go on. How to better the camp, the staff, and leopard in a tree with her cub and lions waiting on the road for us! But the Masai was beyond expectations despite being out of season. What migration is like I cannot guess? We had a fantastic time with encounters with animals you can only dream about - which I had for 15 years! 10 lion cubs running towards us, leopard hunting, crocodiles sliding into the water, hippos grunting, harems of impala, breathtakingly beautiful birds and full grown cheetah on our open car? Beauty beyond ones wildest dreams! And the camp was perfect, out tents were wonderful with space for everything, hot showers, super food, lovely people and if you are lucky enough to go and have Samson as your guide then you are in for a treat! His knowledge and patience was beyond price. Thank you Samson. It was worth waiting 15 years! Stay safe.

Room Tip: We asked for tents next to each other. Worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hello Guest,
This is a great testimony and we have all thoroughly enjoyed reading it. My work is to read all the comments raised and it is such as this one you have written that truly make my day.
So glad you came
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    408
    60
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
123
205
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in March as part of our honeymoon. Having never been on safari before we were unsure what to expect from a camp in the middle of the Masai Mara but any expectations we did have were totally surpassed!

Our tent was lovely with a comfortable four poster bed and the hot water bottles in the evening were a lovely touch. Our room attendant Gideon did a great job in keeping everything topped up.

Meals were fantastic - my only complaint is that there was too much food! We actually skipped a lunch and breakfast because we were still too full from the previous meals. The standard of food on the menu is amazing, especially when you factor in that you are in fact in the middle of the Masai Mara. Abby did a great job of looking after us in the restaurant. Having a dedicated server is a lovely touch - she even came to our tent to see if we wanted some food bringing to us on the morning we decided to skip breakfast.

Of course when you come on safari though the reason is for the game drives and Mara Intrepids seems to be in the most perfect spot for them. We were very lucky to be able to see everything we had hoped for - leopard, elephants, cheetahs, buffalo, lions (we even saw part of a hunt although the buffalo managed to escape!), hippos, crocodiles and even an elusive black rhino. Our driver Rafael was fantastic - with his driving skills he should be a rally driver! Every morning he asked us what we would like to see and each day he managed to find it for us.

Overall we had a wonderful time here and will take away some fantastic memories. All of the staff really go out of their way to help the guests - a fantastic place and we hope we'll be lucky enough to be able to come back at some point!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hello Guest,
We are so elated you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards,
The Mara Intrepids Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our 2 days/nights at The Mara Intrepids just couldn't get any better. The luxury tent was on a riverside site. We enjoyed the river roaring us to sleep every night, the hot water bottles to warm the beds and our wake up call at 6am with hot coffee and goodies to enjoy on our deck with the monkeys watching. Breakfast, lunch & dinner were enjoyed on an outside deck. The swimming pool was lovely. Everything was lovely!! The staff was excellent and strived to please. WiFi, gift shop and plenty amenities were ours to enjoy. Even enjoyed the swinging bridge over the river going to the safari vehicles!

Room Tip: Tents closer to "reservations" have a shorter walk to dining area, pool and shops
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hello Guest,
it is always our pleasure to make sure our Guests are elated. We are glad you made the Voyager
Kind regards,
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

This was the perfect touch of luxury as part of a 3 week trip to Kenya and Uganda. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel rested and at home. The hot water bottles at night and wake up call with hot chocolate were a magical touch. Similarly the manager circulating around guests in the evenings was very impressive. The food was fantastic, a real feast each mealtime. A special mention to George and Abby who were quick to learn our names, most welcoming and highly attentive.
Despite it being rainy season we saw fantastic game and have photos to last forever.
Thank you all for making this such a special part to the trip.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hello Guest,
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Most grateful you got time to post a comment in the TripAdvisor. We all look forward to hosting you again soon.
The Mara Intrepids Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

On arrival from the Great Rift Valley Golf Lodge it was nice to get back to a Luxury Tented Camp! Our Tent was lovely and had everything we needed...comfy beds and even hot water bottles at night. How lovely and not really totally necessary but a lovely touch at the end of a long day. The hotel staff were excellent, and sorted a problem very swiftly with our Hot air balloon booking. We took the Hot Air Balloon ride and strated out at 4.30am in the morning, very early BUT very worth while!! The hotel pool was looking a little bit tired but was very refreshing for a midday swim. The restaurant and food choice was lovely and cultural talks so interesting, not to be missed. The fire pit near the bar and cocktails went down very well after fabulous Safaris with William our driver. We saw all the animals we had hoped to...and more. A highlight was the Hippos at the river crossing wher there were loads all making noises and enjoying the water.

Room Tip: There were no rooms that had fantastic clear river views in our experience but the Tents were excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello Guest,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind Regards,
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you go to Mara Intrepids and you are really into adventures, I suggest you ask for Dixon as your Ranger. He will make your trip worth while. Aside from having really good knowledge about the wild life, he is HILARIOUS! and gets you closer than anyone to the scenes of action. We even had the cheetahs up in the roof of our Safari car (took great pictures). Each game drive was full of surprises, and I could say we had many close encounters thanks to his boldness.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello,
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in Mara Intrepids and indeed agree that Dixon is a Gem. He is currently one of the longest serving Drivers and has made all of us very proud.
We are glad you came.
Kind Regards,
The Mara Intrepids Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The welcome and service through the hotel/lodge was good but not quite as good as that provided at a sister hotel in the Samburu. The safaris under the watchful guide, Paul were very good where we came up adequately close to lions, cheetahs, croc's, hippo's and many more. Could have spent more than the two days here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Mara Intrepids. I have taken note of your comparison of welcome experience between Mara and Samburu. I am sure this is a challenge to the Mara Team and they will want to rise to the occasion, yet congratulations are in order for our Samburu brothers.
Kind Regards,
The Mara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Intrepids Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Intrepids Club

Address: C14 Keekorok,, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mara Intrepids Club 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Mara Intrepids Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Intrepids Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Intrepids Club Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Intrepids Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.