We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Intrepids Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mara Intrepids Club to your Saves list
Mara Intrepids Club
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   C14 Keekorok,, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This place is amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Mara Intrepids far exceeded our expectations - which were high! Our three night stay was due to be the pinnacle of our 2 week Kenya trip, and wow it was! From the minute we arrived, every member of staff was friendly and welcoming, in a really genuine way. Julius, who assisted us every mealtime, learned our names on day 1 and was fantastic. We generally struggled a bit in Kenya with late evening mealtimes for our 3 young boys (2, 4 and 6 years) but Mara Intrepids were great - they took special orders for the boys at lunchtimes and their food was brought straight away in the evening, no hanging around waiting for the adults to order or for different courses (there were 7!!!) to be finished before bringing the children's food, as so often happens in restaurants. This was really appreciated. The food itself was amazing - everything beautifully presented and tasted great. 4 out of 6 of our party are vegetarian and the choice was very good. As for our game drive guide, Sammy, he was outstanding. He found us amazing and new spectacles every drive and was very patient with our less-patient offspring. How he spotted a leopard's tail in a dense tree, whilst driving, I do not know!! Nothing disappointed, everything delighted. Very much hope to go on more drives with Sammy in the future - only animal not ticked off our list is the elusive black rhino, so certainly need to try again for that one! (Though if you're reading this Sammy, we did manage to see the black rhino that Oscar adopted in Nairobi before flying home!).

Intrepids is situated in a great spot - never drove long before spotting giraffe, a leopard, hippos, and so much more. The airstrip is also a handy 5 minute drive away. We even had the pleasure of seeing a plane surrounded by a dozen or more lions when we made a quick stop to pick up more passengers at a nearly airstrip. Such amazing memories.

I hope we will be fortunate enough to return to Mara Intrepids someday (hopefully soon!).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello Guest,
So glad you enjoyed your stay. WE do invite you to visit again.
Good day.
The Mara Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    66
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
134
228
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UAE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Holiday of a life time. This place completely exceeded our expectations in every way! From the moment we landed every single staff member we came across were just so genuine, friendly and helpful. We travelled with our 10 year old children who also have not stopped talking about their holiday at Mara Intrepids. They were at a great age - wouldn't recommend for younger children. Firstly our family tent was divine and so comfortable to come back to after the game drives, just as you see in the photos - amazing! Beds very comfortable, clean - perfect. Little touchs eg the hot water bottles at night, the morning wake up with the hot chocolates and tea and biscuits - perfect. We were right on the river - had a croc on the bank for our arrival and lots of action noises at night of things running through the river. No matter what time we came back in the morning our 'tent' had always been cleaned and was ready for us again. The food - AMAZING!!! So much food I felt like a hippo when we left. Nelson our personal waiter was lovely and did a fine job for us all and was great with the kids. George deserves a mention too - he does a fine job and is a real character. The wine we felt was good and not over priced. I can not fault the food or service here. The game drives - omg ! Silas our guide was so professional and worked so hard to ensure we saw as much as possible. He really made our holiday and I thank him so much for that. Very impressed with his driving skills too! The girl in the kids club ( I dont remember her name) - so lovely and great with the kids! My children are so not into kids clubs but she managed to convince them to go along with her - they finally did it on the last day and they loved it. Had they done it the first day they would have gone everyday. It was great having the pool to freshen off for the kids. You don't have a lot of time to sit around but it was nice having it there for the kids. The pool is fresh but its nice. You will not go wrong by staying at this wonderful camp. It totally was a holiday of a life time. I would love to return!

Room Tip: Our family tent was fab. It's nice to have the children in the same tent as you especially with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello Guest,
We are so glad you had such a wonderful experience at the Mara Intrepids. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards,
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were at Mara Intrepids for three nights during our stay in Masai Mara. The game drivers at Mara Intrepids are very experienced and do an exceptional job. The location is perfect and the tents are beautiful. The staff are all very friendly and helpful.

Well as for the rest, you really don´t feel the Masai Mara experience in this camp as it´s geared more towards the American tour operators. It´s more like the watered down Disneyland version.

The food is good, especially breakfast and lunch. I wasn´t all that impressed with dinner as it was nouvelle cuisine which I´m not a fan of. I really would have preferred a buffet as is done with lunch.

The camp does seem to have some security issues within the property as we were disturbed in our tent during a late hour by an intruder who was throwing objects at our tent and then running a pointed object along the length of the tent that frightened my girlfriend. I proceeded to phone security and the intruder must have heard this as we could hear him running away. The security people asked us for more information the following day but never heard anything further regarding the incident.

The camp is very nice but in my opinion, not really worth the money. There are so many other camps out there which don´t cost nearly as much and are excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hello Guest,
Thanks for this review. I will follow up on this security issue that you have raised. As you know the unit is in the Reserve and has an Electric Fence all round it. ideally therefore you would hardly get an intruder in such a surrounding. However I will take it up.
Have noted your other comments too.
Kind regards,
The Mara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My family spent two weeks on safari through Kenya and Tanzania. The Mara Intrepid was our first tented camp and our favourite accommodation overall. The staff were so friendly, the tents were very comfortable in fact they had the most comfortable beds in our 3 week holiday. The food was very tasty and plenty of variety. Vincent, our driver was amazing, funny and had a great knack for finding Lions. We thoroughly enjoyed our picnic breakfasts with him in the Masai Mara.
I would recommend Mara Intrepid to everyone especially families with young children because they had a fantastic kids club.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello,
Thanks for this wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed.
Good Evening.
Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We've just had part one of our great adventure in Samburu, fantastic.
Part two.
The Masi Mara is very different, big plains, and due to unseasonal rain, long grass & lot's of wet areas.
Our game driver , Raphael was so knowledgeable, found us all of the major animals, lion, lepard, rhino (1 of about 20 left), cheater, hippo, croc, hyena, elephant, buffalo and numerous other small anamials and birds.
The highlight was the final game drive before flying out when he found a mother cheater and her adolescent cub who joined us by using the roof of our lwb landrover as a viewing platform!

Room Tip: An excellent 5* tented camp with all mod cons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for the support to the intrepids Camps. They are so diverse and one can not miss something to do as you discovered.
So glad you enjoyed immensely.
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

This was our last stay in Kenya and it outstanding & as good as the Intrepid camp we stayed at in Samburu. This camp is in the reserve so the safari starts at the gate which is wonderful as in most cases there is travel to the reserves. Once again the staff and facilities were fabtastic, the pool and massage was very refreshing after a day out on safari.

The food quality was fantastic & lay out of the camp even better than the last. It is larger buffet lunch which was nice as we over ate the entire trip, very hard to say no to good food and so much.

Unfortunately we had heavy rains at night which prevented the out door dinning but they more than made up for it the service and choices. This is a nice experience and you must do the hot air balloon.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello Guest,
So glad you had a nice time. thanks for reverting with these wonderful reviews.
Good Day.
The Mara intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our first visit to Africa and our first Safari. After many months of research and planning we decided to stay at the Mara Intrepids. We read all the reviews and looked through the pictures, and thought we would give it a try.

My husband was not sure about the whole "Tented Camp" thing, as we are used to very nice accommodations. Had we known it was this amazing we would have definitely planned on staying longer! It is a 5 star camp! I will say that the pictures of the tents look exactly as they show in pictures, however, one can not imagine until you see them just how great they really are. They were spotlessly clean, The views breathtaking, down comforters were luxurious, and room service was great!

We had read about the hot water bottles but didn't really appreciate this service until we experienced it! Our wake up call every morning was a tray of coffee or hot chocolate, and some cookies, at the time we requested to rise! We always felt safe, and absolutely loved the staff! We are long time cruisers (32 under our belts!) and are used to cruise ship service and food. Mara Intrepids food met all expectations and was delicious! We enjoyed our picnic breakfast that was packed (recommended by our guide, John) so we could stay out on our game drive longer!

Our driver, John, was very knowledgeable and accommodating, looking for all the animals we requested to see and staying as short or as long as we wished upon spotting them! He knew just were to go to see them.

If you are considering a stay at the Intrepids, book it before it is unavailable as you will not regret a minute of your stay! Our only complaint was we weren't there long enough to enjoy the full facility! The pool looked very relaxing. We are already talking about when we can return!

I am happy to give anyone who would like more detailed info should you have more questions! You can email me personally at kellie@apologia.com

Thank you, Mara Intrepids and staff, for the time of our life!
Mark and Kellie~

Room Tip: We had researched and requested 12 A and it was fabulous! Although there is not a bad tent area in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for becoming our Ambassador. We are so glad you enjoyed every moment of it and cant wait to host you again soon.
Good Day.
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Intrepids Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Intrepids Club

Address: C14 Keekorok,, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mara Intrepids Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Mara Intrepids Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Intrepids Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Intrepids Club Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Intrepids Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.