We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mara Intrepid Tented Camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Intrepids Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mara Intrepids Club to your Saves list
Mara Intrepids Club
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   C14 Keekorok,, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mara Intrepid Tented Camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My family spent two weeks on safari through Kenya and Tanzania. The Mara Intrepid was our first tented camp and our favourite accommodation overall. The staff were so friendly, the tents were very comfortable in fact they had the most comfortable beds in our 3 week holiday. The food was very tasty and plenty of variety. Vincent, our driver was amazing, funny and had a great knack for finding Lions. We thoroughly enjoyed our picnic breakfasts with him in the Masai Mara.
I would recommend Mara Intrepid to everyone especially families with young children because they had a fantastic kids club.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello,
Thanks for this wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed.
Good Evening.
Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    67
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
135
234
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We've just had part one of our great adventure in Samburu, fantastic.
Part two.
The Masi Mara is very different, big plains, and due to unseasonal rain, long grass & lot's of wet areas.
Our game driver , Raphael was so knowledgeable, found us all of the major animals, lion, lepard, rhino (1 of about 20 left), cheater, hippo, croc, hyena, elephant, buffalo and numerous other small anamials and birds.
The highlight was the final game drive before flying out when he found a mother cheater and her adolescent cub who joined us by using the roof of our lwb landrover as a viewing platform!

Room Tip: An excellent 5* tented camp with all mod cons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for the support to the intrepids Camps. They are so diverse and one can not miss something to do as you discovered.
So glad you enjoyed immensely.
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

This was our last stay in Kenya and it outstanding & as good as the Intrepid camp we stayed at in Samburu. This camp is in the reserve so the safari starts at the gate which is wonderful as in most cases there is travel to the reserves. Once again the staff and facilities were fabtastic, the pool and massage was very refreshing after a day out on safari.

The food quality was fantastic & lay out of the camp even better than the last. It is larger buffet lunch which was nice as we over ate the entire trip, very hard to say no to good food and so much.

Unfortunately we had heavy rains at night which prevented the out door dinning but they more than made up for it the service and choices. This is a nice experience and you must do the hot air balloon.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello Guest,
So glad you had a nice time. thanks for reverting with these wonderful reviews.
Good Day.
The Mara intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our first visit to Africa and our first Safari. After many months of research and planning we decided to stay at the Mara Intrepids. We read all the reviews and looked through the pictures, and thought we would give it a try.

My husband was not sure about the whole "Tented Camp" thing, as we are used to very nice accommodations. Had we known it was this amazing we would have definitely planned on staying longer! It is a 5 star camp! I will say that the pictures of the tents look exactly as they show in pictures, however, one can not imagine until you see them just how great they really are. They were spotlessly clean, The views breathtaking, down comforters were luxurious, and room service was great!

We had read about the hot water bottles but didn't really appreciate this service until we experienced it! Our wake up call every morning was a tray of coffee or hot chocolate, and some cookies, at the time we requested to rise! We always felt safe, and absolutely loved the staff! We are long time cruisers (32 under our belts!) and are used to cruise ship service and food. Mara Intrepids food met all expectations and was delicious! We enjoyed our picnic breakfast that was packed (recommended by our guide, John) so we could stay out on our game drive longer!

Our driver, John, was very knowledgeable and accommodating, looking for all the animals we requested to see and staying as short or as long as we wished upon spotting them! He knew just were to go to see them.

If you are considering a stay at the Intrepids, book it before it is unavailable as you will not regret a minute of your stay! Our only complaint was we weren't there long enough to enjoy the full facility! The pool looked very relaxing. We are already talking about when we can return!

I am happy to give anyone who would like more detailed info should you have more questions! You can email me personally at kellie@apologia.com

Thank you, Mara Intrepids and staff, for the time of our life!
Mark and Kellie~

Room Tip: We had researched and requested 12 A and it was fabulous! Although there is not a bad tent area in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for becoming our Ambassador. We are so glad you enjoyed every moment of it and cant wait to host you again soon.
Good Day.
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent four days at Mara Intrepids, and it was absolutely wonderful. Everyone on the staff was personable, service oriented, and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Michael was such a knowledgeable driver that we learned a lot about the animals of the Masai Mara. We hope to return with our family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hello Guest,
So glad you had a nice time. We are glad you came.
Regards,
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex, UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent a week at the Mara Intrepids and it will be a week that we will all remember. Staying in a tented camp felt like a real adventure to us and to our 5 children, but it was also so luxurious. All the little touches to make our stay extra special did not go unnoticed or unappreciated - the hot water bottles in our beds at night, the picnic breakfasts in the bush, the massages at the end of the day... The staff were amazingly attentive and thoughtful - our guide got us so close to The Big Five and all the other wonderful animals in the Mara and he taught us so much (he also became our youngest son's new best friend), & 'Chief' who runs the kids adventure club was brilliant with the children & instilled a real love for Africa in them all. It was a magical and unforgettable week. Thank you to the whole team at Intrepids for giving us such special memories...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hello Guest,
We are glad you came and had a such an awesome time. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Regards,
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had stayed at Intrepids in March 2000 for our 10th wedding anniversary and my husband wanted to come back to Kenya for his 50th birthday and in particular to this camp. We came back here in August 2012 and were very surprised that many of the staff remembered us and vice versa. We were treated like royalty and had a fantastic 4 days here on our 2nd visit. Again the food was fantastic and the accommodation spotless. The game viewing was absolutley fantastic and our guide Sakut positioned us fabulously for photo opportunities. He was very knowledgeable and certainly made our trip back to the Mara worthwhile. A big thank you to all the staff at Intrepids who made our stay another memorable one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello Guest,
It is always our pleasure to have repeat Guests and when they give us such raving remarks, we are so glad.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
The Mara Intrepids Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Intrepids Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Intrepids Club

Address: C14 Keekorok,, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mara Intrepids Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Mara Intrepids Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Intrepids Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Intrepids Club Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Intrepids Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.