We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful safari at Mara Intrepids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Intrepids Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mara Intrepids Club to your Saves list
Mara Intrepids Club
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   C14 Keekorok,, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful safari at Mara Intrepids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We just returned from a twelve day trip to Kenya. The highlight of the trip was our stay at Mara Intrepids. I was a little anxious about the prospect of staying in a tented camp as opposed to a lodge, but I am so happy we decided on Mara Intrepids. I can't think of anything that could have improved the quality of our stay! We were in tent 11. It was very close to the dining room, pool, and reception area - which we loved. The tent was very comfortable: cozy beds, two sinks, plenty of space for the three of us, and hot water when we needed it! Great shower! The morning wake up service included delivery of hot coffee to our tent. It was wonderful because the mornings were chilly! When we returned from dinner, there were hot water bottles placed in our beds! The food was delicious and the dining room staff was always friendly and helpful - especially Julius. They always asked about our game drives and seemed genuinely interested in our animal sightings. Vincent, our guide, was very knowledgeable about animal behavior. We saw many different animals on each drive. Vincent was very personable and went above and beyond, ensuring we had a great experience. He suggested we take a breakfast picnic one morning - so we were out for almost six hours. We loved him! We enjoyed Joseph's nightly talks about Masai Mara. He was fun to listen to and we learned a great deal. I would recommend this to camp without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello Guest,
We are so glad you had a memorable visit to the Mara Intrepids. We all look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
The Mara Intrepids Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    66
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
134
228
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Great place for a family safari. The game viewing was fantastic. John was great and knowledgeable and considerate. But the lodge really gave the edge. We've stayed at many places in east Africa and this was by far the best and relaxing. Warm attentive (but not too attentive) staff. Thank you Dennis in the restaurant and suzanne at the front desk. Perfect atmosphere. The kids club was great <thank you joseph and rosemary). We were in tent 26 great near our families family tent 27 and 28 perfect location would recommend it and go back. Very slight downside was it was hard to get hot water had to run and run and was never fully piping hot

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello Guest,
So glad you had a Ball. The Mara Team recognizes that the Guests is the reason why are there. We are committed to excellence. I am glad we had a WOW effect on your experience at the Unit.
So glad you came.
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

As a couple with an 11 year old, we came here with very high expectations for our 4 night stay, on this- our 4th trip to Kenya/ Tanzania. We had read all the reviews on trip advisor and accordingly reserved a family tent. We even got an e-mail confirmation. However when we reached, we were very disappointed to be told that the family tent was a large tent, actually comprising 2 tents with a common large living area and all such tents were already reserved/booked for others. This was not according to any of the reviews that I had read and Edwin Nyamanaga could not explain the e-mail confirmation. So we were allotted a standard tent instead.
Edwin, of course, checked his math and quickly offered us private safari vehicle (we had booked on shared basis) with one of his best guides- Samson. Samson patiently heard what we were really interested to watch and then made it his mission- he ensured that we did see our very first (and second) migration crossing the river and almost our first kill. One may wonder why every traveler opines his/her guide is the best! (even I used to). Probably for the training and the tribal savannah instincts. However, I must say this for Samson- he seemed to be able to smell his way to the action, way ahead of the others and then I would watch jealously as they poured in when he radioed them. I wanted the action all to myself with the peace and quiet, but he had his duty and allegiance to keep...what could I say? On the 2nd day the vehicle broke down due to a defective battery and we were in the wild for almost 2 hours waiting for a back-up vehicle. And then on the last morning Samson proceeded on his vacation before the game drive leaving us with a substitute!
For the rest, I leave it to the other reviews on trip advisor: there’s no denying that the property is simply outstanding, the security is reassuring, the food is to die for, the service is humbling, the air-strip is just outside and most importantly- the high density of predators (lions/ leaopards/ cheetahs) around this camp is amazing. So you are bound to be thrilled. Even though we arrived when the migration was almost gone, we still managed to see 2 river crossings, an unsuccessful attempted kill, 3 cheetahs and 4 cubs, umpteen lions, 2 leopards, etc.
Summary - Mara Intrepids is a notch lower than what I expected it to be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello Guest,
Thank you for this review. We note the wonderful comments and we are grateful. We do also note your concerns about the reservations and the vehicle and this will be followed up with precision first to know why it happened and most important to ensure it happens not again.
Kind Regards,
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed from 19 - 22 Dec 12. Just after arrival set off on our first game drive which was fantastic. This was our first safari so nothing to compare it against but it surpassed our expectations. We were woke up for our early morning game drive with tea and hot chocolate and nothing was too much much trouble for the super friendly staff. Each drive we saw different animals and apparently this site is centrally located so its easier to see a wider variety of animals. We got lucky as we saw a black rhino and a leopard. The tents were luxurious and the food was excellent - was expecting buffet but the food was approaching high end gourmet. Overall a wonderful experience and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a tent by the river which meant we could see baboons from our terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hello Guest,
It was indeed our pleasure to host you. We do look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Till then it is a Happy new year from us.
The Mara intrepid Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

As part of our Seven day Safari with Lets go wild Safaris we stopped here for the Last two Nights. This is truly an amazing camp, outstanding in every way, tents unbelievable, the food was excellent both at the buffet breakfast, lunch and at the sit down dinner, The staff were so helpful, polite and ever smiling, We had Raphael as our guide and he was smart and polite, finding us all the animals including the Big5.The game drives were phenomenal and the wildlife truly wonderful, we saw 35 different species, This is one of those luxury tent resorts and they are amazing definitely 5 star in every way, Having stayed at many lodges and camps while on our seven day safari, Intrepids out shined the rest and we are glad it was our last stop. Big thank you to the Management and all the staff, Alex & Maggie

Room Tip: The Tent next to the pool gives you a better view of the river to the left there is a sandy area whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hello Guest,
So glad you had a blast. We are so honored we were of service to you.
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne, UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We researched long and hard before deciding to stay at Intrepid, we certainly made a good choice. We flew from Nairobi with Safarilink - a remarkably smooth flight on a 13 seater plane (one of those next to the pilot!). We were met at the 'airport' by our driver and driven a few hundred meters to the camp. From the moment we arrived we were treated like valued guests. We have never stayed at such a friendly place. Our tent was very luxurious with a wonderful view of the river from our veranda. Our attendant, Musa, went out of his way to make our stay memorable - the same can be said for all the staff at the camp. Our waiter, Kirkland, immediately remembered our names which was very impressive. What can I say about the food? It was fantastic, every meal was a gourmet's dream.
Of course we were staying there to go on Safari and this experience was everything we had hoped for. Plenty of animals , we saw the Big 5 easily, and particularly enjoyed seeing some of the lions we had seen on the TV at home.
You can feel very confident choosing this camp, you will have a wonderful experience and will long to return.

Room Tip: Some of the tents are quite a walk from the Restaurant and central area, look at the camp plan if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
So glad you liked your experiences in Mara Intrepids. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was on safari in September and stayed at MIC for 4 nights. This is a very well run luxury camp. We were made to feel very welcome from the minute we arrived to the all too soon moment we had to leave. The room steward Musa was always smiling and ably and quickly responded to any request we had, the dining staff were attentive and pleasant with special note of thanks to Denis who made every meal one to look forward to. Our guides, Tappen, Samson and Silas were all excellent and guided us on fantastic wildlife viewing and a much greater understanding of the Mara ecosystem. I highly recommend spending your time at the Mara at MIC.

Note that is a two minute drive from one of the main airstrips in the Mara as well so coming and going were done with exceptional ease.

Room Tip: This is a luxury tented camp. There really isn't a bad spot to be had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Hi,
So glad you had a Ball. We can only look forward to seeing you again soon.
the Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Intrepids Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Intrepids Club

Address: C14 Keekorok,, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mara Intrepids Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Mara Intrepids Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Intrepids Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Intrepids Club Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Intrepids Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.