We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay and overnight fun with a bushbaby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Intrepids Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mara Intrepids Club to your Saves list
Mara Intrepids Club
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   C14 Keekorok,, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“A great stay and overnight fun with a bushbaby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights during a 14 day A & K safari through Kenya and Tanzania. It was one of our early tent experiences of the 2 week trip in a permanent tented camp and it was great fun. Upon arriving, we were welcomed graciously with a fruit plate and cookies ( the plate personalized with our names in icing) in our tent. Everyday they refilled with fresh fruit and cookies. The tents are very well maintained though they are a bit close together and personally this would be a camp for couples, friends and families. A more intimate and romantic stay would be, I think from my visit, better at the Mara Explorer Camp nearby where the tents are much further apart and more remote - overall a much smaller camp than Mara Intrepids. I was very impressed with the breakfast and lunch buffets at Mara Intrepids which were extensive and also the vegetarian option offered daily. Dinner was served and was always a treat. Every evening a presentation, mostly educational about the Masai tribes, customs, and the local animals, was offered in the bar area which overlooked the Talek River. One animal that we heard but never saw was a bushbaby. He decided to scream one evening above our tent and it was a good hour later when he finally quieted down and moved on. The locals said that it sounded like a warning noise and that maybe he had seen from his perch high in the tree, a lion across the river. This camp was fenced so you could walk around after dinner by yourself unlike other camps that we visited that were not fenced. We also enjoyed going up to the lookout and watching the small planes land as well as the Marabou Storks sitting in the trees.

Room Tip: The tent that I saw that is close to the river is #18 while #19 and 20 are situated in a lovely grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
hello Guest,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards,
The Mara Intrepid Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    66
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
134
228
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Spent 3 nights here last week. We flew in with SafariLink and got collected by our driver, Ketembo, who was to be our safari driver for our stay. He was an excellent driver and spotter, seeing things we would have NO hope of spotting, a leopard hidden in a bush, a cheetah on a safari truck (yes you heard right!!) a kilometer or more away!

The camp is only 2 minutes drive from the airstrip, so no lomg drive to get there! From arriving to leaving, we were treated like kings and queens. We got a very courteous and friendly welcome, with fruit juice and a nice cold towel, it felt like they were welcoming old friends! We got showed to our tent (number 11) which was a lovely tent with a great view of the river. Calling it loosely a tent, because camping it was not, this is GLAMPING (glamorous camping!!) the tent had 4 poster beds, teak flooring, flush toilet, shower, 2 lovely vanity sinks, a deck with cushioned relaxing chairs, basically all very luxurious. We had stayed at a tented camp in tsavo 2 years ago and we decided this was the way to go. We didn't want to stay in a lodge, to us, a safari didnt mean staying in a brick building not having the true experience of staying in the bush. We feel that staying in a tent does give you that true safari experience, feeling at one with nature, intrepids allows this, but with the luxuries of a 5 star room.

The food was absolutely Michelin quality, I have eaten in many great restaurants, and this was up there with the very best. How they can produce this high quality, high presentation food in the middle of nowhere baffles me (assume they get daily food flown in with the plane that we took into the Mara from Nairobi). The chef Tom has been trained in the very best hotels in Nairobi, and boy, it shows! Kirkland, our waiter, was equally proficient, within a few minutes he had remembered our names and during the stay always welcomed us, by name, with a huge smile and lovely personality.

Musa our tent attendant was fabulous and nothing was too much bother for him, which in fact, was the same for ALL the staff. When passing every team member, you always got a friendly and happy 'Jambo'. You can tell that they really love their job and the camp.

Edwin the manager regularly came up and chatted with us, wanting to know how our experience was going, what we saw that day on our game drives, and anything he could help us with.

There Was also a lovely girl whom I forget her name, but she did a masters in Eastbourne (a small world, my parents live next door to the part of Brighton uni that she studied in!!) her name began with a K. She was absolutely fantastic and so interested in our experience. She was so excited for us when we came back from our drives sharing with her what animals we saw!

Suzanne at reception also deserves a mention and everyone else whom I forget their names!

Tsavo will always be special as it was my first safari, but you can't beat the mara for the amount and different types of animals. In tsavo you could spend half an hour driving looking for animals (tsavo is MUCH bigger than the Mara). In the Mara within metres Of the park gates, you can see animals. We saw pretty much all of those who live there, from all the different antelopes (impala, tommy's, grant gazelles, eland, hartebeest etc), MANY lions (even the marsh pride of Big Cat Diary fame), cheetah (keke's daughter, also from Big Cat Diary, she actually jumped up on a neighbouring safari vehicle much to the amusement and nervousness of the occupants, but this was a regular happening and not unsafe at all), leopards, elephant, giraffe, loads of different birds (we liked the secretary birds!) tons of hippos (one small stretch of the mara river had 50, one started grunting and they all followed suit, a hilarious experience!) Nile crocodiles, baboons, and we were VERY VERY VERY lucky to see a black rhino in the open, one of less than 20 in the park, and they are usually in the bushes, this chap slowly walked from one bush area to the next, all in the vehicle we silent in absolute awe), and so on. The concentration of animals in the mara is second to none, and we feel that you can't beat it.

We did a walking safari with Jospeh, a Maasai. This was a totally different experience to being in the safari truck, he did a great job of talking to us about the various uses of plants and trees, got up close to giraffe and zebra, impala etc, we felt very safe as a ranger, Naomi, came with us to protect us (don't be put off that they have to carry a gun, it's exactly this that made us feel so safe, along with the level of knowledge of Joseph). A real MUST!!

So in conclusion, we were so happy we chose intrepids, after MUCH research We definitely chose the right camp! The individual care and attention we received was the best we have ever experienced in all our travels.

THANK YOU TO ALL THE STAFF! We hope to return. In fact, the percentage of return guests is incredibly high, around 40-50%. I am not at all surprised by this figure.

Room Tip: Tent 11 has a good view of the river (they all overlook the river, but this tent had a lovely patch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hello Guest,
So glad you enjoyed. I notice you have been in Tsavo before. Next time try Voyager Tsavo which we manage too.
I am sure you will like it. Let us know when you come next.
Good Day.
Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is my second visit to Intrepids and while I wrote a review last time I wanted to write another one to just say thank you to the amazing staff who made the trip even more wonderful than last time. I took my friend who had never been on safari before and I asked for Dennis to be the guide. When we were headed out I told him it was my friend's first time and we needed to see 'everything' and everything is what we got and more. He was very sensitive to the more experienced among us as well as the first timer. After 6 years of safaris in Kenya, this has to be one of the best. Dennis is a 'silver' ranked guide and it shows. As far as the camp, it is lovely as always. The tents are very well-maintained and the view of the Talek river just in front of the veranda is lovely. Julius, our waiter, was very keen to be sure we always had what we wanted. After the first meal, he knew the kind of bread, water, condiments we would request and they were on the table waiting for us. Edwin, the manager, was always present and helpful. But, as far as guides go.... Dennis really made the trip for us. Thanks to all for making it yet another excellent adventure.

Room Tip: If you are traveling in a small group - ask for the family tents 1-2. Otherwise, tents 8 - 12 have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hello
We are glad we contributed to an awesome stay at Mara Intrepids. We are glad your Guest was impressed too.
Denis is MAD. "Makes a difference" and I am so honored to be working with him.
Good Day
Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This lodge is located centrally within the Masi Mara and is a good location to be. We saw some amazing animals whilst staying here. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was great, although the choice of the evening meals were sometimes restricted. The lodge was very nice although the tents were a lot closer together than at previous lodges we had stayed, but not close enough to affect your privacy. Our guide here was very good and we would recommend this lodge.

We did a flying safari and beach holiday for our honeymoon 19/10/12 for just over 3 weeks.
we stayed at,
Samburu Intrepids,
Great Rift Valley Lodge And Golf Resort,
Mara Intrepids
then on to nairobi to
Sarova Stanley
and then on to 2 weeks in mombassa to
pinewood beach resort and spa.
please look at all our reviews. We booked this through Virgin but they contracted out to Rhino Safaris and we would therefore reommend booking direct with Rhino Safari as the service we received from Virgin was apalling.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us on this forum. All your compliments noted and shared with the Team.
Your comments on Dinner noted too and this will now be on my screen as I drive the Quality and Product issues for the Group
So glad you came
The Mara Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I spent three days here and as we drove in off the highway to the camp, we were greeted by a herd of elephants crossing the Mara river. When we arrived at camp, to a person, we were all greeted with huge smiles and warm welcomes. The tents were amazing, with decks overlooking the river. Each night when we went to bed, there was a warm hot water bottle tucked in to our amazingly comfortable beds to keep us warm - much appreciated. Each morning prior to going out on our game drive, we were served a pot of coffee, warm milk and small cakes or cookies, delivered to the tent as our wakeup call. We had omlettes made to order, crepes made to order, fresh fruit, juices, yogurts, sausages and bacon, and that was just breakfast. Lunches and dinners were equally delicious. And each day on our two game drives, we saw so many elephants, giraffes, thompson gazelles, leopard, cheetah, guinea hens, wart hogs, zebra, topi, the list just goes on. It was truly the trip of a lifetime and made more so by the graciousness of the people assisting us in the camp. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
So glad you had a nice time in the Mara. You are always welcome again.
Regards,
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

What a amazing camp,,outstanding in every way,,tents unbelievable,,food wow,,game drives superb,,all staff so helpfull,,polite and allways smiling,,wild life truely womderfull,,we saw 42 different species,,5 star in every way,,Big thank you to all staff,,,,eddie g,,uk

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
So glad you had a WOW experience in the Mara.
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary , Alberta , Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

As part of our overall Safari Adventure , we stayed at this resort for 4 nights. We landed at an airstrip 5 minutes from the camp and were greeted by a host of wonderful staff, all wanting to make our stay as comfortable as possible. This is one of those " luxury tent" resorts and they are amazing ! Makes you feel like you are a part of the great outdoors around you. The resort is bounded by an electric fence, so predators cant get in. The daily game rides were AMAZING! The animals that we saw, in large quantities. Lions, hippos, wildebeests, zebras, elephants, cheetahs, ostrich, giraffes, baboons, leopards, buffalos, and more. Best of all - we got to see a 'crossing', animals in migration crossing the Mara river. National Geographic stuff , complete with crocodiles! So so happy that we stayed here. The height of our trip ! We could have stayed here for our entire trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in tent # 26 , right on the river bank. lovely view. A long walk from common area though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hello,
We are glad we were MAD "Made A Difference" to your experiences in this Safari. We all look forward to hosting you and friends that you will refer to us in the not so distant future.
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Intrepids Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Intrepids Club

Address: C14 Keekorok,, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mara Intrepids Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Mara Intrepids Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Intrepids Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Intrepids Club Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Intrepids Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.