We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Intrepids Club

Save Saved
You added Mara Intrepids Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mara Intrepids Club
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   C14 Keekorok,, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Wickford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This lodge is located centrally within the Masi Mara and is a good location to be. We saw some amazing animals whilst staying here. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was great, although the choice of the evening meals were sometimes restricted. The lodge was very nice although the tents were a lot closer together than at previous lodges we had stayed, but not close enough to affect your privacy. Our guide here was very good and we would recommend this lodge.

We did a flying safari and beach holiday for our honeymoon 19/10/12 for just over 3 weeks.
we stayed at,
Samburu Intrepids,
Great Rift Valley Lodge And Golf Resort,
Mara Intrepids
then on to nairobi to
Sarova Stanley
and then on to 2 weeks in mombassa to
pinewood beach resort and spa.
please look at all our reviews. We booked this through Virgin but they contracted out to Rhino Safaris and we would therefore reommend booking direct with Rhino Safari as the service we received from Virgin was apalling.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us on this forum. All your compliments noted and shared with the Team.
Your comments on Dinner noted too and this will now be on my screen as I drive the Quality and Product issues for the Group
So glad you came
The Mara Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    400
    59
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
119
204
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I spent three days here and as we drove in off the highway to the camp, we were greeted by a herd of elephants crossing the Mara river. When we arrived at camp, to a person, we were all greeted with huge smiles and warm welcomes. The tents were amazing, with decks overlooking the river. Each night when we went to bed, there was a warm hot water bottle tucked in to our amazingly comfortable beds to keep us warm - much appreciated. Each morning prior to going out on our game drive, we were served a pot of coffee, warm milk and small cakes or cookies, delivered to the tent as our wakeup call. We had omlettes made to order, crepes made to order, fresh fruit, juices, yogurts, sausages and bacon, and that was just breakfast. Lunches and dinners were equally delicious. And each day on our two game drives, we saw so many elephants, giraffes, thompson gazelles, leopard, cheetah, guinea hens, wart hogs, zebra, topi, the list just goes on. It was truly the trip of a lifetime and made more so by the graciousness of the people assisting us in the camp. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
So glad you had a nice time in the Mara. You are always welcome again.
Regards,
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

What a amazing camp,,outstanding in every way,,tents unbelievable,,food wow,,game drives superb,,all staff so helpfull,,polite and allways smiling,,wild life truely womderfull,,we saw 42 different species,,5 star in every way,,Big thank you to all staff,,,,eddie g,,uk

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
So glad you had a WOW experience in the Mara.
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary , Alberta , Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

As part of our overall Safari Adventure , we stayed at this resort for 4 nights. We landed at an airstrip 5 minutes from the camp and were greeted by a host of wonderful staff, all wanting to make our stay as comfortable as possible. This is one of those " luxury tent" resorts and they are amazing ! Makes you feel like you are a part of the great outdoors around you. The resort is bounded by an electric fence, so predators cant get in. The daily game rides were AMAZING! The animals that we saw, in large quantities. Lions, hippos, wildebeests, zebras, elephants, cheetahs, ostrich, giraffes, baboons, leopards, buffalos, and more. Best of all - we got to see a 'crossing', animals in migration crossing the Mara river. National Geographic stuff , complete with crocodiles! So so happy that we stayed here. The height of our trip ! We could have stayed here for our entire trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in tent # 26 , right on the river bank. lovely view. A long walk from common area though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hello,
We are glad we were MAD "Made A Difference" to your experiences in this Safari. We all look forward to hosting you and friends that you will refer to us in the not so distant future.
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

friendly, courteous service from all personel in the camp. excellent food both at the buffet breakfast and lunch and at the sit down dinner. highlight:the "bush" breakfast, a kind of picnic breakfast held outside the camp perimeter at the river edge. nice cocktails around a camp fire at the bar. don't miss the viewing tower that looks out of the camp into the surrounding bush from a height of aboit 10 metres.

Room Tip: you can't go wrong here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hello Guest,
We are glad you came, you saw and immensely enjoyed. So grateful you had time post some feedback on this forum.
The team looks forward to hosting you again.
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Maasai Mara is one of the most amazing places we've ever visited. The game drives here are amazing - despite being on a "group tour" it feels like you're own private safari. We had Rafeal and he was charismatic and smart, finding us all the animals other than the leopard. The tents on this site are luxurious and more than anything I could have imagined. Perfect vacation spot. Food, also excellent. Service personal and attentive. Just be careful of the tip box - after we tipped we were told that it didn't include personnel you come into contact with (wait staff and the people who clean the tent) and had to tip again (Which is different than in the other hotels we encountered).

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
So glad you had a nice time in Mara Intrepids. Have noted comment on the Tip Box and will review the procedures.
We look forward to hosting you again.
Good Day
The Mara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Memories for a lifetime. The unbelievable service, the location for seeing game, the delicious food, I don't know what is better than the other. I also have to add that I arrived ill and they had a doctor on the premises who came immediately, gave me medicine for strep and an ear infection. He checked on me every day I was there. He was so wonderful and calming when you think about having a higher fever and strep out in the wild! Within days I was almost back to normal. The staff was so caring and thoughtful and kept bringing me hot soup, etc, and were very concerned about me. I would say that if I was to get sick, the Mara Intrepids Camp was wonderful with the zippered walls and the care I received. It was much better than be stuck inside a hotel room. My sister went on game drives two or three times a day with Rueben and she said he was amazing. She showed me great pictures. I do want to add that on the 40 minute drive to the tented camp from the air strip, I saw giraffe, hippos, wildebeest, elephants, etc. I also want to say that our next destinations were to the Ngorongo Crater and Seregenti but we saw more animals in Masai Mara.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello,
We are glad you found our Units to have people who care. That is our identity. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Good day
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mara Intrepids Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Intrepids Club

Address: C14 Keekorok,, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mara Intrepids Club 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Mara Intrepids Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Intrepids Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Intrepids Club Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Intrepids Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.