We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“masai hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Intrepids Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mara Intrepids Club to your Saves list
Mara Intrepids Club
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   C14 Keekorok,, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“masai hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

friendly, courteous service from all personel in the camp. excellent food both at the buffet breakfast and lunch and at the sit down dinner. highlight:the "bush" breakfast, a kind of picnic breakfast held outside the camp perimeter at the river edge. nice cocktails around a camp fire at the bar. don't miss the viewing tower that looks out of the camp into the surrounding bush from a height of aboit 10 metres.

Room Tip: you can't go wrong here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hello Guest,
We are glad you came, you saw and immensely enjoyed. So grateful you had time post some feedback on this forum.
The team looks forward to hosting you again.
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    67
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
135
234
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Maasai Mara is one of the most amazing places we've ever visited. The game drives here are amazing - despite being on a "group tour" it feels like you're own private safari. We had Rafeal and he was charismatic and smart, finding us all the animals other than the leopard. The tents on this site are luxurious and more than anything I could have imagined. Perfect vacation spot. Food, also excellent. Service personal and attentive. Just be careful of the tip box - after we tipped we were told that it didn't include personnel you come into contact with (wait staff and the people who clean the tent) and had to tip again (Which is different than in the other hotels we encountered).

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
So glad you had a nice time in Mara Intrepids. Have noted comment on the Tip Box and will review the procedures.
We look forward to hosting you again.
Good Day
The Mara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Memories for a lifetime. The unbelievable service, the location for seeing game, the delicious food, I don't know what is better than the other. I also have to add that I arrived ill and they had a doctor on the premises who came immediately, gave me medicine for strep and an ear infection. He checked on me every day I was there. He was so wonderful and calming when you think about having a higher fever and strep out in the wild! Within days I was almost back to normal. The staff was so caring and thoughtful and kept bringing me hot soup, etc, and were very concerned about me. I would say that if I was to get sick, the Mara Intrepids Camp was wonderful with the zippered walls and the care I received. It was much better than be stuck inside a hotel room. My sister went on game drives two or three times a day with Rueben and she said he was amazing. She showed me great pictures. I do want to add that on the 40 minute drive to the tented camp from the air strip, I saw giraffe, hippos, wildebeest, elephants, etc. I also want to say that our next destinations were to the Ngorongo Crater and Seregenti but we saw more animals in Masai Mara.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello,
We are glad you found our Units to have people who care. That is our identity. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Good day
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our second trip to Mara Intrepids in as many years. Again, the game drives were phenomenal and management made every effort to make our stay absolutely seamless. Having stayed at many lodges and camps in the Mara, Intrepids has the best viewing I've encountered. Guides are particularly knowledgeable, on both trips we had a vehicle solely for our parties use, and with many leopard resident in the area chances of spotting one are quite high.

Recommend tents lower than 26 if looking for view. Higher numbers (14 and above) have less privacy but great views of the river. Tents 9-12 are close to camp center, so quite convenient, and provide more privacy. Camp has many activities for children at the Adventurer's Club and though we were not traveling with kids, this seemed a nice amenity. Sister camp "Explorer" does not allow children if you are looking for the more secluded holiday.

HIGHLY recommend Intrepids if you are going to the Mara for game viewing.

Room Tip: Recommend tents lower than 26 if looking for view. Higher numbers (14 and above) have less privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Good Morning,
Thank you for visiting and for posting comments in the Tripadvisor forum. We hope to host you again soon
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Four days of wonderful experiences. Saw lion, wildebeest, hyena and water buffalo even before we arrived at the camp. Our guide/driver, Samson - The Leopard King - was brilliant, constantly seeking out new animals and fantastic vistas including a visit to the Serengeti border and wildebeest and zebra crossing the river. Found a couple of cheetahs just after they'd made a kill and caught lions mating! Spotted servals on two occasions. Superb meals with the added entertainment of bushbabies in the rafters. Super tents with en suite facilities, four-poster beds and a hippo in the river at the bottom of the garden. Staff delightful especially Edwin, Musa, Francis & Dennis. A fantastic holiday for all three generations of our family. Shop superb value - Masai shukas, soapstone carvings and lots of other souvenirs. Cheaper than anywhere else. Sadly no time to try out the swimming pool - too busy on the drives. Absolutely fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
So glad you came, you saw and you enjoyed. thanks for posting a review on the Tripadvisor Forum.
Good Day.
God Bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Absolutely our best family vacation ever. As a family we have traveled around the world many times, had many luxury vacations, but none of them compares to our time at the Intrepid. We just returned from a 3 night, all inclusive vacation, including the games drives. The Intrepis is one of the few luxury tent facilities, that has a pool and a fence around the club. For children, this was incredibly important so that they could move freely inside the facility without being concerned about animals getting too close. The pool was also a fine distraction on our few free moments.

The tents are unbelievably luxurious suites, masquerading as tents. The family tents are incredible and are recommended for any family of 3-6 people. 3 large tents artfully brought together into 2 bedrooms, 2 bethrooms, and a large livingroom. Beautiful hard wood floors. Exquisite hardwood furniture and decorations. Each bathroom with double sinks, and decorative wood furnishings. The family tent has a large furnished porch with a lovely view overlooking a river. The kids would run back to the room after our 3 hour game drive, just to see if they could spot hippos or elephants from the porch.

Most importantly, the service was exceptional. The Intrepid assigns to each family or group a specific guide/driver, tent attendant, and waiter to you by name and who will provide personalized service to you for your entire stay. Upon arrival you will be picked up at the airstrip, we were picked up by our guide Parmesau. He was truly superb. His knowledge, understanding and passion for the Mara animals was infectious. We didnt want our game drives to end. Imagine 12 and 13 year old children sitting still, on the edge of their seats in the vehicle for 6 hours a day? No complaining or fighting or whining! They couldnt wait for the next game drive, thanks to Parmesau. he was able to locate every anmial that we wanted to see; rhino, leopard(and cubs), lions, giraffe, a fight between a hyena and a lion, animals migrating across the mara river, etc. We came to learn that he was the head of all of the guides, which was absolutely evident. Parmesau even gave nightly presentations on specific aspects of the Mara, which my kids didnt miss a minute of. ( by the way the Intrepid Land Rovers are specifically made to order and unique to the Mara. No other company has these same comfortable yet tough vehicles)

As for Gedion, our tent attendant, and Abigail, our waiter, they were also extremely detail oriented and supported for each and every request that we made of them. The hot water bottles in our beds at night, and the 6am coffee and hot cocoa delivered to the tent before the morning drives were wonderful.

On our last night at the Intrepid, we were treated by the camp manager Mr Edwin Nyamanga to a superb private BBQ with him, which included a Masai performance. We cant thank Edwin and his entire team for making our holiday and stay at the Intrepid, Beyond Outstanding.

Room Tip: Family Tents
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are glad you enjoyed immensely. We look forward to hosting you again soon
The Mara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

After Samburu Intrepids, the Mara Intrepids was the next stop on our journey. For first time readers, to call the accommodation a "tent" is misleading. They are similar to hotel rooms with amenities such as separate toilet, shower and a comfortable bed. Waking up early in the morning was a pleasure because we were were greeted with coffee/tea and homemade cookies. We were in tent #30 which was located furthest away from the restaurant and central area. Walking there was a bit far because you had to cross over a bridge and at night it was a bit disconcerting because of poor lighting. We felt that our tent was due for an upgrade because it was not as clean as our Samburu tent and as well the toilet seat was chipped and damaged. Sometimes the toilet would not flush properly. Perhaps being nitpicky, but we were paying top dollar for accommodation. The water for showers was on a scheduled time but if you needed it, they would make it available. Again we understand that we are in an area with water issues. We had the pleasure of hearing a hippo graze near our tent at nightime- I did not mind but my wife was concerned. Oh well, we were in Africa after all so that enhanced the ambience. The breakfast buffet was varied and the food was well prepared. The same goes for lunch and dinner. There was always a choice depending upon your dietary needs. The staff and in particular Dennis, deserve compliments because of their kindness and their attention to service. Dennis is a gentleman who always went out of his way to ensure things were running smoothly.. He has a great sense of humour and is a real asset to the Mara Intrepids. Our joke was, "What time is it Dennis?" and he would reply it's "TT Steve", which translated to "Tusker Time". Tom as well was very good although it was usually Dennis who looked after our table. The evening talks with John, the Masai warrior were informative. On safari we spent most of our time with Samson,and he was very patient and knowledgeable. WiFi sometimes can be inconsistent but again, we were in the middle of the Masai Mara. The grounds were well maintained and there were no safety issues whatsoever. I have no hesitation in recommending Mara Intrepids for future travellers.

Room Tip: If you want to hear hippos grazing at night, choose tent #30 but it is furthest away from the dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this review. We take note of the things you liked and the ones which could have been better.
All this have been posted on my screen to be worked on for your future visit, and all you will sent to us and all other esteemed Guests.
We are glad you came and indeed it is TT time
Regards,
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Intrepids Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Intrepids Club

Address: C14 Keekorok,, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mara Intrepids Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Mara Intrepids Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Intrepids Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Intrepids Club Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Intrepids Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.