We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Safari Experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Intrepids Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mara Intrepids Club to your Saves list
Mara Intrepids Club
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   C14 Keekorok,, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Safari Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our luxury tent looked right out of Old Hollywood movies. You entered the tent from a stone patio with 2 chairs. A queen bed with luxe linens floated in the middle of the spacious room under a cloud of mosquito netting. We were there in September. Perhaps that is why we never seemed to need the mosquito net. We were not bothered by flies in the camp either. The bathroom has granite counters, double sinks, separate shower and toilet rooms. There is a desk with electrical connections, a vanity, suitcase bench, bedside table,closet, and coffee stand.The room steward woke us each morning with coffee in time for the early morning game drive. Our driver guide, Koikai, was very knowledgeable and was able to show us a dozen lions, troops of elephant, giraffes, gazelles, hippos, Cape buffalo, a cheetah and a leopard, as well as the huge number of wildbeests and zebra migrating through the Mara. Koikai is Masai and can talk about the Masai lifestyle. He can point out smaller wildlife as well. We saw so much in 4 game drives at this camp that I asked if they stocked the national park. Koikai laughed and said we were lucky but that these animals live in the Mara. I think our luck was a bit of timing and Koikai's skill in spotting the animals. The Range Rover pop-up vehicle was clean and comfortable. Six people could each have a window seat. They provided Masai robes against the early morning chill and bottled water. On your return to the camp from the game drive, staff meets you with juice or coffee/tea and damp cloths to freshen up. It was not terribly dusty in the Mara in September, but it had been at Lake Nakuru. Remember sunblock!
The food in Mara Intrepids was fine, but not gourmet. Service is relaxed in the open air dining area. There are buffet and menu options. The pasta station was a yummy option. You pay for beverages, but the prices are reasonable. They had a program each evening before dinner. The pool was chilly and could have used a brushing. Everything else was very clean. The shop offers the best quality souvenier goods for the best price we saw in Kenya! Wait to get your carvings, Masai fabric, and sisal here.
If only we had hot water in our room, I would rank this camp 5 star. Hot water is supposed to be available during certain hours of each day. We never got much and that was only lukewarm.
On the other hand, the bed stays warm all night after they put hot water bottles under you blankets.
You will be met at the small airstrip and cosseted throughout your safari here. They will check the time of your return flight for you and get you to the airstrip on time when you say goodbye. All you have to do is book the safari.
Don't bother packing special clothing for a safari here. Your jeans or khakis or shorts are fine. The legend about certain colors scaring away the animals or attracting flies was debunked. You do need a jacket for early morning and a sunhat.
Candy and Tom

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi,
Thanks for this review. I have noted your Bouquets. Noted the comment on Food not being Gourmet and the Hot water supply.
We intend to give out Gourmet Food and I prefer that you can get hot water 24/7 and so i will personally follow up on these matters till they are fully addresses.
I am glad you raised them
The Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    67
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
135
235
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I think a visit to Masai Mara must include a stay in the park with the tents! The Mara Intrepids was a great place to experience that. The service was very good including the welcome team with Susan. They definitely let you know about the power outages and hot water outages which are scary at first but totally manageable. The tents are beautiful and very clean inside.

Room Tip: Just keep in mind that the tents have just a zipper to go in and out of and no locks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hello,
We are so glad you were pleasantly surprised.
Good Day
The Mara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at Mara Intrepids Camp for 3 nights in September 2012 after staying 2 nights at their sister camp, Mara Explorers. Having been to Kenya before we knew what to expect from a safari lodge but the time we spent at Explorers & Intrepids exceeded all those expectations. The main thing that stood out at these lodges was the staff. Steve, Godfrey and all the rest of the staff at Explorers, Francis, Abby and the staff at Intrepids and our expert guide Sammy who was with us at both lodges all looked after us so well that we really did feel sad to leave them. The food at both camps was very good and the tents were very comfortable and we quite enjoyed the more rustic feel of a tent over a normal lodge. Sammy was excellent on the game drives, and was very knowledgeable about the area and all the animals. He really got us in to some great positions and the amount of game we saw was amazing. His vehicle was very well kept, well stocked with water/drinks and was completely washed and cleaned after every game drive. I definitely hope to return to Explorers and Intrepids again in the future and would gladly recommend these camps to anyone wishing to see the Mara but also have a great holiday in a relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff around you. Kenya has always held a special place in our hearts and after such a great experience on this trip I can’t wait to go back and visit again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hello Guest,
Thanks for these wow comments. We are glad you came, saw and enjoyed. You always welcome to come again.
God Bless
The Mara Explorer and Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We spent three days at the Intrpids Camp was incredible for the game drives. Our driver guide, Koikai had the experience, knowledge and patience to ensure we saw all the animals of the Masai except the rhino. He also provided us with the viewing of a live kill - right in front of our jeep - a rare sighting.
Dennis was our waiter and he was suberp, going out of his way to meet our needs and quickly figured out our favorite things.
Our only complaint was a problem with hot water in our shower. We informed the staff everyday that we had no hot water and no water pressure but it was not resolved until day 3 - which is unacceptable for the price. We also thought it was foolish to be charging for bottled water when you can't drink the tap water.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hello Guest,
Thank you for this good review. Have taken note of your comment on the Hot Water and Mineral water and all these are now on my screen so they are appropriately resolved.
The Hot Water issue is not excusable!!!
So glad you raised them.
Have a good Day
The Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was the last stop on the Heritage Flying safari that my wife and I booked for our honeymoon.

There are not enough superlatives to describe what a fantastic time we had and what an amazing camp this is. As with all of the Intrepid hotels/camps that we stayed at, the Mara Intrepids doesn't disappoint.

We had a lovely warm welcome and stayed in tent number 26. The tent was superb and had a lovely view over the river. Inside you really couldn't ask for a more. The tent offered a lovely big bed, separate toilet and shower and two sinks with a nice big mirror. At night time, we were even given hot water bottles as the temperatures dropped quite a bit...lovey little touch!

The food, service and hospitality at the hotel was faultless. Every member of staff was so helpful and friendly. It really helped to make our stay extra special. In general, Kenyan people are among the nicest and friendliest we have met on any of our travels around the world.

Their guides are fantastic too. Our guide was Vincent, he was so much fun and felt like a great friend by the end of the trip. He is extremely knowledgeable and took us on game drives that were simply amazing. Experiences we will treasure forever.

My wife and I would highly recommend staying at the Mara Intrepids Club and will most certainly stay there again when we go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
So glad you enjoyed immensely
The Mara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This place is a perfect base for a safari.
Location is great, 2 minutes from the little air strip and right in the middle of the game reserve, when leaving the camp for safari we literally saw lions and elephants within 5 minutes.
The tents are perfect for the purpose, you still have your luxuries but get the adventure as well. The edge of the camp and river was 20 yards from our tent, we saw crocodiles as soon as we arrived and waking up at 3 in the morning to hippos having a sing song is something I won't forget in a hurry!
The staff are so helpful and friendly. Some places I have visited you feel the staff are nice because they have to be, but at Intrepids they are so genuinely kind, all just happy to talk with you.
Edwin the manager came to see us every evening at dinner to chat with us and make sure we had a good day and Joseph our safari guide was great. In the restaurant Tom was so friendly and helpful but Dennis the menace our waiter on most evenings stole the show, so friendly and hilarious at the same time!
The safaris themselves will blow your mind. Highly recommend you take a packed lunch each day and stay in the mara from 6.30 till midday. We got to follow a leopard for two hours whilst it was hunting, a great experience which was only topped by a Cheetah jumping on our land rover and sitting there for two minutes whilst we stood 2 yards away with our bottom jaws on the floor.
I don't know what the other places are like to stay in but not one complaint about Mara Intrepids, a perfect location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hello Guest,
What do I say other than I am glad you came, You saw and You immensely enjoyed. We are gald we had an opportunity to be of service to you and look forward to hosting you again soon
Regards,
The Mara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a 4 night safari at the end of August and we had a fantastic time.
We had tent 29 which was one of the farthest away from reception but still only about a 5 minute walk and in a great location. The tent itself was beautiful complete with four poster bed and ensuite bathroom. The turndown service with hot water bottles and early morning hot drink were fantastic touches.
The meals were as good any top hotel and the service second to none.
Our guide Michael was friendly, very knowledgeable and got us to the heart of all the action. He suggested that we take a packed breakfast every morning (which were superb) to enable us to go further and see more. And what better way to have breakfast than on the plains of Africa.
Overall a truely magical holiday made possible by all the staff at Mara Intrepids.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Intrepids Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are truly very glad you came and enjoyed your stay with us. the Team would love to host you again soon.
Regards
The Mara Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Intrepids Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Intrepids Club

Address: C14 Keekorok,, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mara Intrepids Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Mara Intrepids Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Intrepids Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Intrepids Club Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Intrepids Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.