We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic destination in Southwest Kenya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mara Serena Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic destination in Southwest Kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I recently took a safari photo adventure with my Son to Kenya. This was the last place we stayed at on our 10 day adventure. To say the least, it was a fantastic place to have closed out our trip to Kenya. The lodge is located very close to the Mara Mari River. The facility was fantastic in so many ways! Great views of the Savanna, on the North end of the Serengeti. Excellent food and hospitality. Great game drives! The ballon ride was the final highlight of the stay! I would love to go back and see the Great Migration!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room. All rooms have a fantastic view of the massive savanna!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    142
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
143
204
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights in March 2013 at the Mara Serena Safari Lodge while on a small group safari. This lodge is dramatically situated on a high tree-covered ridge above the tall grass savannah of the Masai Mara Reserve. If I could, I would give the location six stars! The design and decoration of the ultramodern rooms in this sprawling lodge complex draw upon traditional Maasai art and architectural forms. Our room, really a small suite with a bedroom and a small sitting room looking out and down from the ridge, was most delightful and comfortable. Free WiFi was much appreciated. Meals, served buffet style, were excellent. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. I appreciated relaxing in the swimming pool in between early morning and late afternoon game drives.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here during our Christmas vacation in 2012. Even though it is an old hotel, my family and I had the most amazing time at this hotel. We loved waking up at the crack of dawn to go on safari and loved coming back to our home away from home. The staff was extremely friendly, welcoming and accommodating! The food was good and the rooms were clean. We will definately be going back! Can't wait! :-) Keep it up! Mara Serena you're doing a brilliant job!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

One of the best places deep in the Masai territory, and very close to the Mara river. Very well located - close to airstrip where you get spectacular sunset views. Wildlife starts literally at the gate! Spectacularly perched on a hilltop, you can see the usual suspects with a good binoculars. The rooms are shaped in a semicircle - the furthest are the lowest and closest to wildlife but have the most strenuous walk as well with deer baboons etc at the doorstep! Excellently located for the great crossing, and we got daily views well before the troops came in from the numerous resorts just outside the deep jungle! All the big 5, lions with kill, scampering varieties of all antelopes, zebras, giraffes, hyenas, fox, wildebeest, crocs, birds galore, cheetahs - you name it's all very close!
Excellent food with local, continental, and Indian dishes. Friendly and helpful staff. Free tea coffee and cookiesat the lookout overlooking the quaint swimming pool with one of the best views possible!

Room Tip: Far ones are good, but only for the fittest who survive the steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our last stop on our two week safari and our least favourite. Although the views were second to none and the service and food were excellent we felt very hemmed in with very little outside space to roam around in and the Masai 'pods' really squashed together. The two days we spent there were very busy with nearly all the rooms full and there was nowhere that we could go to get some peace and quiet away from the crowds.

The rooms were quite ostentatious but I'm sure the majority of people would love them.
I must add that the quality of everything was very good but somehow we felt the lodge lacked that personal touch that we'd become used to and we felt just one of the crowd.

I cannot fault the amenities but perhaps this lodge just wasn't for us being extremely busy and noisy. Also if you did have any mobility problems it could be difficult as there is quite a steep walk if you are in one of the lower rooms.

Most people would love this place but if you are looking for tranquillity and and peacefulness then perhaps this place would not be for you either.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility problems make sure you get a room that is at the top of the steep path. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Mara Serena Safari Lodge is situated in an excellent location within the Masai Mara Reserve. Rooms are tasteful and clean. Dining is a little 'cafeteria' like in atmosphere but food was more than adequate. Reception can be a little chaotic early evening but it sorts out eventually. Nice sized pool to cool off in after safari days. Highly recommend the Hot Air Balloon Safari - amazing experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbots Bromley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Customer service is second to none - nothing was too much trouble for Dan who sorted out little niggles with a smile and was terribly apologetic when we were charged game fees twice. The room looks like termite mounds from the outside and are very Gaudi internally! However very comfortable. Food was excellent especially breakfast by the hippo pool and candlelight bush supper.
Excellent would definitely return!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Serena Safari Lodge, set on a saddle of a hill, overlooks the 1,800 square km of rolling plains at an altitude of 1625 meters at the Masai Mara Triangle, one of the world's richest wildlife sanctuaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Mara Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Serena Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Serena Safari Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Serena Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.