We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and flamboyant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Save Saved
You added Mara Serena Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Noisy and flamboyant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our last stop on our two week safari and our least favourite. Although the views were second to none and the service and food were excellent we felt very hemmed in with very little outside space to roam around in and the Masai 'pods' really squashed together. The two days we spent there were very busy with nearly all the rooms full and there was nowhere that we could go to get some peace and quiet away from the crowds.

The rooms were quite ostentatious but I'm sure the majority of people would love them.
I must add that the quality of everything was very good but somehow we felt the lodge lacked that personal touch that we'd become used to and we felt just one of the crowd.

I cannot fault the amenities but perhaps this lodge just wasn't for us being extremely busy and noisy. Also if you did have any mobility problems it could be difficult as there is quite a steep walk if you are in one of the lower rooms.

Most people would love this place but if you are looking for tranquillity and and peacefulness then perhaps this place would not be for you either.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility problems make sure you get a room that is at the top of the steep path. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    137
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
132
193
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Mara Serena Safari Lodge is situated in an excellent location within the Masai Mara Reserve. Rooms are tasteful and clean. Dining is a little 'cafeteria' like in atmosphere but food was more than adequate. Reception can be a little chaotic early evening but it sorts out eventually. Nice sized pool to cool off in after safari days. Highly recommend the Hot Air Balloon Safari - amazing experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbots Bromley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Customer service is second to none - nothing was too much trouble for Dan who sorted out little niggles with a smile and was terribly apologetic when we were charged game fees twice. The room looks like termite mounds from the outside and are very Gaudi internally! However very comfortable. Food was excellent especially breakfast by the hippo pool and candlelight bush supper.
Excellent would definitely return!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 at the end of our amazing safari in Kenya. The position of the lodge cannot be faulted with amazing, far reaching views down over the grasslands to the Mara River. All of the reception areas and the rooms were like stone pods and we kept expecting 'Fred & Wilma' (the Flintstones) to appear at any time. Our biggest disappointment was the attitude of the Dining Room Manager towards us. She obviously wanted to finish early on both evenings we stayed there and insisted that we went in for dinner even though we had just sat down for a pre-dinner drink. On the second evening she sat us in a part of the dining room where there were no other guests, while everybody else was in the area with views over the river, and then while we were eating proceeded to set all the tables around us for breakfast, making us feel extremely unwelcome and uncomfortable.

However, that is the only complaint we had.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our stay at this property was part of our tour which was arranged by Lion World Tours of Canada and run locally by Pollman Tours. This is a first class property with great amenities and staff who are very accomodating and friendly especially if you make an effort to speak Swahili. Rooms were extremely clean and decorated well. Location of rooms is overlooking the plain on an escarpment . I would try to get lower number rooms as they are a little farther from the main lodge so view is better and probably a little quieter but honestly noise wasn't a problem. Another point that is important to travelers is the exchange rate and pricing at the gift shop. Both of these are well within line especially considering the distance from Nairobi ( 7+hours). There is a Maasai cultural program given AT THE LODGE for USD20 and well worth it. Semi-mandatory dancing with the Maasai but the information presented (our presenter was Ole Reko) was both fascinating and well done. Food was very good while the "Active Cooking Station"- pasta, crepes, vegetarian was really excellent bordering on superb. Proximity to very fruitful areas for the game drives also minimized travel time and maximized viewing time.

Room Tip: As per my review the lower the room number the farther from the lodge. Keep this in mind for noise s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We flew in to the Mara and went straight to the lodge for lunch. It is in a very impressive position on a ridge overlooking the Mara with all the rooms having magnificant views. The food was amazingly good with the usual perfect service from the well trained waiters. The safaris were brilliant as the lodge is in the park. The biggest thrill is the Special Breakfast which I feel cannot be repeated anywhere else in the world. An optional extra is a visit to the Masaii village, a tourist attraction, but if you are very lucky the staff support a Masaii school on occasional visits which is a wonderful experience. A plentiful supply of biros comes in very handy ! Altogether, having been to Kenya 16 times, this is the only place to go in the Mara.

Room Tip: Everwhere overlooks the Mara. If you are slightly disabled ask to be near the Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were very disappointed when we checked in (after an 11 hour dusty drive) to find that the pool had just closed for no reason just as we walked in at 5:30pm and it was not supposed to close for at least another hour!

The pool hours were not honoured and were posted differently at the pool and in the room book.

BUT when we complained to the manager Daniel, he made it right by doing something very special to make up for the inconvenience. Thank you Daniel :)

Overall we had a lovely stay and we enjoyed the pool the next day. Happy we stayed for 2 nights.

Food was excellent and service was good.

View from our rooms and from the restaurant and pool was absolutely amazing!

Location right in the centre of the Masai Mara park and game reserve was very convenient.

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mara Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Serena Safari Lodge, set on a saddle of a hill, overlooks the 1,800 square km of rolling plains at an altitude of 1625 meters at the Masai Mara Triangle, one of the world's richest wildlife sanctuaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mara Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Serena Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Serena Safari Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Serena Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.