We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and warm service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Save Saved
You added Mara Serena Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Accra, Ghana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food and warm service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The food was great and the service was warm. Enjoyed a champagne bush breakfast that was amazing. We had seminars outdoors which was very refreshing. We had night time camp fires which enhanced the experience. It was a total all round positive experience.

Room Tip: All rooms have panoramic views of the Masai Mara and its wildlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    136
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
131
192
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ft myers Beach,Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just returned from an incredible journey from our home on Fort Myers Beach,Florida to Masai Mara Triangle, Mara Serena Safari Lodge.. Getting there from Nairobi in a vehicle is a horrible experience. It is a good 5 or 6 hours of bouncing,if at all possible save the time and fly from Nairobi.We were fortunate that it had not rained or we might still be making our way there. Once arriving,the care we were given, the setting of the lodge and the abundance of wild life made the drive there all worthwhile. If you have the good fortune to visit here do enjoy the Sundowner and Hippo Breakfast that the lodge offers. A visit to the Masai village was also one that we will not forget.Thanks again to the kind people employed by the lodge!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the # 60"s have a great view and are not too far from lodge.Each individual unit has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Dates of Trip: 29 Oct - 1st Nov
Number of rooms booked : 3
Purpose of trip: Photography course

We were on a photography trip to Masai Mara and stayed at Mara Serena safari lodge. the hotel itself is very cozy and comfortable. the design of the hotel is another story, the view on valley from the room always amuse use with wild life walking around in groups. the choice of colors is very unique and aesthetic. Everyone in the hotel makes you feel like home, whenever we leave the room in the morning (6:30 am) there will be an army waiting to help us carry our equipment to the cars. meals always vary from day to another to take you through different experiences.

I was sick one night and could not make it to dinner so at 10:30 pm I felt hungry and called the reception asking for some food, once the receptionist knew that I was sick he ask the chief to make me a special three course meal and have it delivered to the room in 20 minutes. The next night the waiter from the restaurant came to the room with a menu checking in advance if I will be able to make to the dinner or not, so I can order what I would like for dinner.

Could not ask for anymore !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We spent two nights at the Mara Serena in late October. Nestling high above the Mara River and the plains, the location is absolutely stunning, and an ideal base for game drives in the reserve, which is rich with animals. Sight, sound and smell combined to provide a phenomenal experience: the lion roaring its territorial ownership during the picth black of night, the grceful form of cheetahs moving through the grass and the stench of rotting flesh at the Mara Crossing, where so many wildebeest had lost their lives whilst crossing the river - a glut of corpses way beyond the immediate needs of the crocodiles, vultures and Maribou storks.

Staff throughout the hotel were pleasant and helpful and the food was very good; it was especially nice to have early morning coffee and a light snack before setting off on an early morning game drive. It was wonderful never to have to carry a suitcase, either up or down the relatively challenging incline to access the rooms, or 'pods'. These were clean and had excellent mosquito nets over the main bed, although they are made for two, really and with three of us in the room, it was somewhat cramped. The view over the plains was breath-taking, but they would benefit from mesh over the viewing doors and, given the high temperatures when we were there, a ceiling fan would have been a definite improvement. The lighting towards the rooms is subdued, and I did see that some people sensibly used torches; one elderly lady suffered an unfortunate fall, so I would recommend that, if you have any form of mobility problem, you ask for a room as close to main reception as possible. That said, we had a really positive experience, and would happily return.

Room Tip: Given the steep incline and subdued lighting, ask for a room close to reception: views will not be c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Fabulous Lodge during our two day safari of the Masai Mara. The food was fabulous including their barbeques at dinner. The pool was refreshing with a nice view. The rooms were unique and charming. Wifi was a bit pricey at $20 per day at this lodge, and was totally free at the Ngorongoro Serena Lodge...this was a bit disappointing, especially as the signal wasn't always that great. All and all, I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Great ambiance, perfect holiday destination, great hospitality, great staff and kitchen crew . Had the best holiday with friends at Serena ! Went for the bush diner and the hot air balloon safari it was bliss!! Overall amazing stay!!! ♥♥♥♥♥♥

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Mara Serena because we were in a family group with small children and several nervous travellers on their first trip to Africa. It absolutely suited our needs on that count (with adjoining childrens' rooms) and the safari drives were wonderful (Nicolas a great driver) but my husband and I, having stayed in other safari lodges and hotels in Kenya, were very disappointed in the staff. At Kishwa Temba a couple of years ago, we were given hospitality second to none and would return there rather than the Mara Serena on our next safari. The dining room staff were sleepy and inattentive and we often felt that we were in their way in a crowded dining room and a simple request to move tables was met with complete refusal. However, the rooms were lovely, with views over the savanna and Mara river and it was magical to sit on the balcony or by the pool and spot elephant, lion, hippos as well as all the usual game animals. The location could not be bettered and it was only really the dining and reception staff who let the lodge down. Disappointing, considering the cost.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mara Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Serena Safari Lodge, set on a saddle of a hill, overlooks the 1,800 square km of rolling plains at an altitude of 1625 meters at the Masai Mara Triangle, one of the world's richest wildlife sanctuaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Mara Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Serena Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Serena Safari Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Serena Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.