We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded and any all expectations!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of andBeyond Bateleur Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Bateleur Camp
Save Saved
You added andBeyond Bateleur Camp to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Waterbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Exceeded and any all expectations!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Bateleur Camp was not just a place to stay it was an experience. From the moment we landed at the airstrip until we left the service was exceptional. We were greeted at the airstrip by Masibo and our safari driver for the week, Meme. From the moment we met both gentleman we felt right at home. The entire staff embraces you and makes you feel like you truly belong.

The accommodations are amazing. There were 9 tents in our camp. The room is beautiful. Shower and bathroom are very nice. The bed is comfortable and with unbelievable views out the back of the tent. At night when you are sleeping you can hear all of the wildlife and in the morning you can see the hot air balloons before the sunrises. It is absolutely unbelievable.

Meals were unbelievable. The chef, Meshak, is so extremely talented. His soups are to die for! He was even nice enough to provide me with a recipe before I left! Every meal was excellent, clearly so much thought and effort put into all presentations. He came out at every meal to speak with us and make sure all of our needs were being met. There wasn't one thing that we didn't love!!

A special thank you to Bonface who was just the kindest nicest person I've ever met. He is soft spoken but very attentive. He anticipates every need and was just unbelievable. He made me feel so welcome and like a friend.

Portis Meme (the greatest guide EVER!!!) was our safari guide everyday on our trip. He was absolutely amazing!! He would ask what we wanted to see and then make it his mission to find them. We had set no expectations knowing how hard it can be to find some animals. We didn't want anyone to feel pressured but by the end of our trip he had found us the big 5 and we actually were able to see Leopards mating at night. It is clear that Meme is friends with everyone and is respected by every other driver we saw out and the park staff. He, without a doubt, made our trip truly memorable.

There really are no words to fully explain our experience at this amazing camp. If we could rate it higher we would have. While the camp is spectacular and in the most beautiful setting on earth it is the people that made this trip truly unforgettable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
74
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Bateleur is a wonderful camp on the edge of the Masai Mara. It is located on the side of a hill and the view is incredible! is also VERY elegant in decor and service, while remainning rustic and true to the bush experience.The chef cooks very exciting african fusion food, which is quite delicious. The manager and help are so kind!
The animals are very close by, the Masai Mara being a few meters away. While we were there a lion arrived on the terrace following a warthog, it was so wild!
Everyone was astonished!
The guides especially James are the most experienced ever! he knows all about the region, along with every animal, and bird by name and mating habits, quite fascinating!
The only detail is the the butler although very nice, likes to use the lobby with his waiters and friends leaving little room for guests. In the evening, because most guests go to bed to be ready for early safaris, the stay in the lobby for drinks. That is uncomfortable for the guests.

Room Tip: They are all the same luxurious tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Wow, wow, wow!
Everything about this place is incredible.
Whoever is responsible for hiring staff needs to be congratulated. I have never seen a team of people so willing to make guests stays comfortable and memorable. From the arrival at the airstrip, to the singing welcome at the lodge, to the smiling faces of the Bateleur team, nothing was too hard. Special mention to Joseph the manager, jovial and always there with a huge friendly smile. The wait staff, the chefs, Ibraham the barman, Benson our butler(also great musician), our game driver Elly who was so knowledgeable on safari, all deserve mention.
The rooms/cabins are superb. This is luxury tent living, comparable to a 5 star hotel. Beautiful views from each site.
I can't recommend this to highly, and have to say this is one of the most memorable places I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Bateleur side are best. From 1 to 19.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

It was our first time in Kenya....3 nights of magic,the attention of all staff was amazing...Milka the manager was very special and important in all days,high energy....Our driver Benson was very polite,Fantastic! Bateleur Bonifance ,Joseph the chef ....simply the best...we were is right place in the right time to see the great immigration and the crossing of the animals....It was the greatest spectacle of earth ... the most beautiful show of the nature that we could see.I was there with all my family and it was perfect!!!We make our trip with @beyond and was really perfect ...our a get Fred Mittermayer was PERFECT!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed at Bateleur for 5 nights in July. There aren't enough superlatives to describe the experience. Joseph the manager, Joseph the chef, Benson our driver, Abraham and Yegon who looked after us in our room and at meals... these were some of the most outstanding people who we were fortunate to befriend, and truly the staff were the heart of the camp. The tent was beautiful, the meals delicious and the game drives... breathtaking. Even just to sit in our tent or outside by the reception tent and enjoy the views of the Mara were a daily delight. We were fortunate to see the annual migration which was a total bonus - truly an amazing experience! (Thank you Benson!) Everything about Bateleur was first class and &Beyond have done a fantastic job with their social endeavours in the local community. Just a perfect experience all around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Enjoyed 3 days, 2 nights at Bateleur Camp in June, 2013. What made it so wonderful, besides the excellent property, was the Manager, Milka. Milka met us at the airstrip with a beautiful spread of Champagne, coffee, cold drinks, biscuits, and dried fruit chips spread out on a Massai blanket. Then a Bush drive on the through the Mara towards the And Beyond camp. Lovely furnishings, velvet sofas, etc. set in the reception room overlooking the Mara. Her enthusiasm and care for running the camp, having the staff, chef, and all waiting for our vehicles to arrive, and singing us in. Milka is truly a gem. Our "tent', number 16, was enjoyed by Reese Witherspoon for 3 days prior to our arrival. I think Chris Rock also staying in the same tent. Hardly a tent, wood floors, and interiors you must look up on their site. Maasi Warriors escort you to and from your tent after 6:30pm and prior to 6:30 am as the locals (animals) can roam at night.

Instead of the usual "do Not Distrub" plackets for your door, you use a Massai sword propped across your door if you want privacy.

Saved the best for last. The food was beyond belief. Fresh greens grown on the property, soups, and lamb, chicken or fish were served with great aplomb. Wines for lunch and dinner, and of course, "Tuskers" beer, a Kenyan delight.

At night, candles glow everywhere, on tables, floor, and from the trees. Magical. And for the record, the Bush runs yielded plenty of photo ops of the fabulous animals.

If I return to Africa, surely this is a spot I will return to.

Room Tip: Tent 16, a short walk thru the bush from the public area. that said, all tents are quiet, apart fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was my first stay and my first safari. As a solo traveler, I felt so at home and welcomed by the staff. My game driver was fantastic. I couldn't ask for a more perfect trip. The attention to detail by my room steward, the chef's creations, and the entire atmosphere created by the staff was amazing. I would definitely stay here again. My tented lodge was jaw-dropping and perfect for surroundings. I wish I could have spent more time here. I would have done some of the other trips that were offered and gotten a massage!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to andBeyond Bateleur Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Bateleur Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 110 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — andBeyond Bateleur Camp 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among forests on the very edge of the Masai Mara, each elegant tent at andBeyond Bateleur Camp replicates the style and glamour of vintage Africa. A world of hardwood floors, polished silver and sparkling crystal is juxtaposed against the romance of the open Mara plains, with their abundant herds of wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bateleur Camp At Kichwa Tembo Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
AndBeyond Bateleur Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage andBeyond Bateleur Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.