We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara

Save Saved
You added Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Olare Ntiakitiak)   |  
Hotel amenities
Tripoli, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent as expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Excellent as expected
What I usually expect when visiting a Kempinski property is the professional and friendly stuff. My expectations were fulfilled during our two-night stay. Moreover, food was great, the tents were spacious, luxurious and clean. There is no fence around the camp. In our second day, two lions tried to wonder between the tents but the Maasai guards prevented them using traditional means. It was a thrilling experience although we did not feel unsecure at any time. 24-hour electricity, wireless internet in public areas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIMER1, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara as your resort of choice in the Mara.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to experience the thrills of being in the Mara - wildlife within proximity of the resort.
Look forward to having you back with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
22
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Olare Mara Kempinski made our first time in Kenya wonderful!
We stayed two nights at Olare Mara Kempinski and we really enjoyed out time!
The service is ecellent, the food delicious and the accommondation very luxurious.
The tents are in general tidy and comfortable like everything in the camp.
We had five game drives, always with cold drinks on board. It was impressing to see all the different animals.
We had a really good guide (Phillip). He showed us many wonderful places and animals.
We could enjoy cold drinks at the sunset, breakfast in the bush next to a hippo in the river, a surprise for our parents who had silver wedding- it was just amazing!!

Hopefully we see you soon!
Regrads from Germany

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIMER1, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for selecting Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara as your resort of choice in the Mara.
Many thanks for the compliments on accommodation, service and food. It is our aim to make each safari journey memorable – we believe life should be lived in style even whilst on Safari .
It’s always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their game drives, we will most definitely pass on your compliments to Philip.
Our best wishes to your parents celebrating 25 years together, wishing them every happiness together.
Look forward to having you back in the Mara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Olare Mara Kempinski. It was an amazing experience. It could not be better located, right in the heart of the Mara conservancy. Our tent was beautiful and luxurious; it was just a tent in name, better than many 5 star hotel rooms I have stayed in. The staff are incredible, friendly, attentive and taking care of all our needs. The Manager Peter and Chef Santosh made us feel right at home by providing us with food which were not only tastefully prepared but beautifully served. The massages that we got in the privacy of our huge tent was fabulous.

Our guide, Rafael took great care of us, making sure that we got to have the best game drives ever! Although, it is a fairly new Kempinski property (taken over in January 2013), the location, the facilities and the service makes it a true winner. Our only recommendations would be to expand the choices offered for lunch and dinner as the main course was limited to just one choice; increasing the voltage of the lights in the room so that one can read; and installing solar heaters to heat the pool so that one can enjoy the beautiful pool and poolside bar. All in all, it was one of the best vacations we have taken.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIMER1, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback on your recent stay at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara.
We are pleased to hear that you were happy with the location of the resort, Olare Orok Conservancy, safari in the conservancy is indeed exclusive.
Thank you for the compliments on our tents, food and massage treatments. We will let our colleagues in the Mara know that you were happy with your stay.
We will most definitely look into your recommendations and hope that we can have the pleasure of hosting you once again in the Masai Mara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

i stayed in many many hotels, i was rarely impressed but at olare kempinski you will be astonished by the special care you get, from check-in till check-out even after ( they gave us some iced water and other drinks for our way back to nairobi by car )
tents are huge , very finely decorated , the luxury is every where, lobby , restaurant, fire camp area. people are very friendly and respectful , food is fantastic, especially the home made bread, all ingredients are of a very high quality. after each meal the chef is coming to your table asking if you enjoyed your meal and he was getting always the same reply EXCELLENT.
I will not mention names but i would like to thank you all for this formidable stay we spent in your camp and we are already planning our next visit in spetember.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIMER1, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you staying at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai as your preferred resort in the Masai Mara.

Glad to hear you were happy with the product - spacious tents, public areas, service, and food. I am also delighted to hear that our colleagues were able to make your stay that extra bit special.

Look forward to having you back with us in September, if we can be of any assistance with your reservation please let us know.

Best wishes from the Mara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed three nights in Olare Mara Kempinski.
The location is certainly one of the best in the whole area.
It was an incredible experience!
Our tent was huge and comfortable.
At nights we could hear the nearby hippos and the lions in the distance.
Our guide Raphael / Mutula was very good who enjoyed showing us many different animals.
We also enjoyed drinks at Sunset and a Breakfast in the Bush.
The personnel were very polite and helpful.
Asante sana/ Thanks a lot to all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIMER1, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara.
Olare Orok Conservancy is indeed a great location, our resident animals sure do know how to make a safari truly memorable.
Glad to hear that you also enjoyed the outdoor dining experiences - dining in the midst of the Mara is indeed magical.
We will pass on your compliments to our colleagues in the Mara and look forward to having you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at the Olare Mara Kempinski at the middle of February. From the first moment all throughout the entire 3 days it was a dream! The rooms are top notch, with the most comfortable bed ever, the tent is kept to a great condition and felt like I was the first guest to ever stay in it. The amenities are the best quality I've got the chance to use, and in general i wish I had more time to chill-out and spend in the room and surrounding. The hotel is clean, tidy and have great natural ambiance to it. The main area is like stepping into somebody's living room, and make you feel comfortable immediately. My game ride guide Bernard was the nicest, kindest, open hearted person I could hope for as we had 3 full days to pass together. He was a great guide with vast understanding, exciting stories and great spotting the wildlife. Thank you Bernard!
The rest of the team were simply beautiful. Paulin,John,Rahel,the Askari who kept me safe from the hippos ;) and many more who I can't recall their names (sorry!)
The camp manager Peter and the chef Santosh who made my time there joyful! And made sure to make special off the menu food for me as I'm vegetarian!
It was really the best vacation of my life and I wish I could stay for few more days. Will definitely come back!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIMER1, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with your tent and the ambiance of the resort. Glad to also hear that your game drive experiences were interesting and enjoyable. We will most definitely pass your compliments to our colleagues in the Masai Mara. We would be happy to have you back with us once again and are grateful that Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara will hold a special place in your travel memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our first time in Kenya was unique experience.The all inclusive package was worth every penny.We saw all the big cats and the surroundings.I strongly recommend Olare Mara Kempinski to all who would visit Masai Mara.
Exceptional food prepared by chef Santosh and caring approach of Peter manager spoiled us.
We are looking forward for a next time soon.
Dilek&Isluc Ongan from Istanbul

Room Tip: Tent nr. 12 just stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIMER1, General Manager at Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for selecting Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara as your preferred resort in the Masai Mara. We are pleased to hear that your game drive experiences and your overall stay were enjoyable.
We will pass on your compliments to both Peter and Santosh and look forward to having you back with us in the Mara in the near future. If there is anything that we can do to assist with your future reservation, we would be delighted to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara

Address: Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Olare Ntiakitiak)
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara is located in Olare Orok Conservancy. The resort comprises of 12 deluxe suites tents of which 1 is a honeymoon suite. The deluxe suites cover an area of 80 sq m and are furnished in the classic style of the grand African safaris, with large four poster beds and reproduction furniture, offset by modern amenities. The honeymoon suite has its very own plunge pool, ideal for watching the sun set over the Mara and toasting to life together with champagne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.