We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elangata Olerai is an amazing place to relax.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elangata Olerai Luxury Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elangata Olerai Luxury Tented Camp
Save
You added Elangata Olerai Luxury Tented Camp to your Saves list
66146, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Bloomingdale, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Elangata Olerai is an amazing place to relax.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I found the camp to be wonderful. When I was there, I felt as if I was in the movie, "Out of Africa". The location, the amenities and the staff are top notch and I would recommend to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Masai Mara. I had the trip of a lifetime, and now have so many great memories of this area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
15
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We had the pleasure of just returning from Elangata Olerai. Our stay consisted of five days and four nights, and we completely enjoyed the camp. I just read the review of Tampann, and I‘m glad I hadn’t read it before having the opportunity to see it for myself. I have been to camps in Masai Mara National Reserve, Amboseli National Park and Tsavo National Park. Part of the beauty and charm of Africa is that it isn’t like anything in the United States. If you are looking for “Western Experience”, then this land isn’t for you, but why come to Africa if you want five star luxuries, go to New York City.

The Masai Mara National Reserve holds a special place in my heart, because it was the first Reserve I visited on my original trip to Africa. The beauty of the land and the animals that you find there makes it an unforgettable experience, which you will want to repeat again and again. It’s truly an amazing place.

This was my first time staying at the Elangata Olerai camp. When we arrived, we were promptly greeted by the staff, and found them to be friendly, and helpful. I feel they went out of their way to make us feel welcome and safe, even having a local Masai located just outside our tent in the evening. The Masai also can take you on a walking safari, and with their knowledge of the land, plants and animals it is just an incredible experience, I learned so much from him and would recommend doing.

I found the tents to be very roomy and comfortable, with an amazing view of the land. I see they have almost completed the building of some additional tents. The tents were equipped with both a toilet and shower. After we had settled into our tent at night, it is just and marvelous experience to listen to the animals. Some animals we could here off in the distance, but many were very close, you truly are back to nature, but still you feel safe and secure. The meals were excellent and once again the staff went out of their way to assist us in any way.

This is the place to have a truly wonderful African experience. I am always awestruck when I look out over this land, and realize that I’m looking at an area that has never been changed by man, and it is the same place that it was when time began. I read this in another person’s recommendation and I could not agree more with it,

“I cannot imagine how anyone could come away from such a gloriously peaceful and wonderful experience with such negativity. I have never in my life seen something so beautiful as Masai Mara. It would take a truly pompous and bigoted person to not recognize that. But, unfortunately for the world, those people insist on leaving their houses. I fell in love with Kenya in previous travels and had doubts that anything could ever top it, but the camp in Masai Mara proved me wrong. Masai Mara will forever be in my heart and was worth every second. If you're looking for an adventure that is otherworldly and exhilarating beyond belief, then come to the camp at Masai Mara.” These are someone else’s words, but are so true!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I just came back from Masai Mara where I stayed to Elangata Olerai Tented Camp for 4 days and found it to be a very peaceful tented camp. My tent was very large and had a view of a hill in the park, so I spent my time after the safari watching the wild animals on the hill. The food is very good and the staff I found to be very polite and available. The safari on this side of Masai Mara has been one of the best I have ever done. I found the security to be good, with a Masai stationed on the side on my tent providing security starting from the evening and during all night long. The camp is almost finished its renovations and not withstanding everything is perfect, each tent has its own style.The space between the tents are big enought for to be in a perfect privacy. I would like to add that the neighbor’s, the Masai people allow the travelers to get in touch with real Masai people . It was a wonderful experience to do the walking safari where you can learn a lot of secrets of Masai’s knowledge about the nature, medicine and wild animal behavior and you long the way is possible to meet the Maasai with their cattles .Another amazing thing is to hear during the night the sounds of the savannah. Even if they were far from the camp I heard the elephants, hippos and hayenas. . Let me finish by saying, when I am back in Masai Mara I will definitely come back to this peaceful tented camp. I LOVED IT!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

To stay at Elangata Olerai is like walking into a film, you become a part of the wildlife on the savannah. Beautiful surroundings and excellent tents. The staff makes you feel "special" as if they are there just for you, we love it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Masai Mara National Reserve will always be one of the best experiences of my life. It is truly awe-inspiring and breathtaking in its natural beauty and grace. The Elangata Olerai added to our safari experience in so many ways. First, the grounds of the camp are absolutely beautiful. They capture the natural beauty of the surroundings without detracting from it. The tents, buildings, and pathways are immaculately tended-to and it really shows. Second - the tents themselves. They include a bathroom, shower, zip-close windows, power outlets, and amazing beds. The staff had fresh bottled water waiting in our rooms. I felt very comfortable every night of my stay; some nights we didn't even zip our tent closed all the way because the temperature felt so nice. Third, and most importantly - the people. The staff of Elangata Olerai were some of the nicest, most sincere people I met in Kenya. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by the staff, given a short tour, and escorted to our rooms. Every morning after leaving our tents for breakfast we were met with warm smiles and greetings from guards and passing staff and from the staff in the breakfast tent. The Masai warriors who guarded the camp were so friendly and I always felt safe and comfortable around them. I find it extremely offensive that someone would say "the camps have to hire Masai as employees." The camp is in the Masai Mara National Park - in Masai Land. The people who live there every single day are Masai. If you don't like Masai people, don't choose to stay in Masai Land. Masai Mara is one of the most inspiring places I have ever seen and the experience we had there was life changing. The experience is definitely not western - it is African. Most people should expect that if they decide to visit Africa. Everything, from the bumpy road to the tent showers to the smiles of the Masai warriors, left an imprint on me that will never be lost. It astounds me to see that there are people who are so bigoted and pompous to write such a negative review of one of the top wonders of the world. I can't wait to return to Kenya one day and hopefully visit my friends at Elangata Olerai at Masai Mara. The Elangata Olerai did nothing but enrich our Kenyan safari experience. If you are looking for an authentic African experience, this is the place to go. If you are looking for the chance to open yourself to the world and to see and feel things you never knew before, this is it. Open your mind and heart to Masai Mara; don't let someone's blatant ignorance sway your decision. Go somewhere truly and naturally magnificent - the heart of Africa.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

There is truly no other place like Maasai Mara and this last trip was incredible. We stayed at the Elangata Olerai tent camp! This "tent" camp was not what I had imagined. It is new and has all the amenities that you find in a hotel yet, it is a tent! The beds are extremely comfortable, the environment is purely natural. The game drives were incredible. We had an experienced driver who did whatever he could to make sure we not only saw all the big fives, but the view was incredible. He managed to place the van right where and when the action was taking place. We watched mother lion (lioness) and her four sons (cubs) hunt down dinner! We watched every move, the coordination, the attack and the dinner table manners! All our experiences are unparalleled... The experience could not have been better...

The environment at the came was so peaceful. All the people there were always available to help. We felt so welcome at this Camp. I hope to go back there very soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Masai Mara National Reserve is one of the most truly beautiful places on earth. However, this is not the place for tourists looking for a western experience-you can find that elsewhere. If what you're after is an authentic African safari then look no further than the Masai Mara camp. The bumpy journey getting there further enhanced our African experience, as it is surrounded by luscious greenery, wildlife and the clearest sky I have ever seen. Immediately upon arriving we were greeted by the staff, who are not only wonderfully friendly, but they're Masai and brimming with knowledge about the culture and animals. The tents, if you could even call them that, are equipped with both a shower and a toilet, two beautiful beds and screened windows with a gorgeous view of the land. We couldn't have felt more secure as every employee went above and beyond our expectations to make us feel safe and welcomed. Waking up to that view every morning (always well-rested, I might add) was a gift, especially with the anticipation to see the most majestic animals in the world. The food was delicious and the staff went out of their way to accommodate us. I cannot imagine how anyone could come away from such a gloriously peaceful and wonderful experience with such negativity. I have never in my life seen something so beautiful as Masai Mara. It would take a truly pompous and bigoted person to not recognize that. But, unfortunately for the world, those people insist on leaving their houses. I fell in love with Kenya in previous travels and had doubts that anything could ever top it, but the camp in Masai Mara proved me wrong. Masai Mara will forever be in my heart and was worth every second. If you're looking for an adventure that is otherworldly and exhilarating beyond belief, then come to the camp at Masai Mara.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elangata Olerai Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elangata Olerai Luxury Tented Camp

Address: 66146, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Elangata Olerai Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elangata Olerai Luxury Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.