We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation, great food, great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rhino Tourist Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rhino Tourist Camp to your Saves list
Rhino Tourist Camp
Ololaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Dubai
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, great food, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I highly recommend this place if you are visiting the Mara. Rhino has many things going for it - great location (if you want to visit the Masai villages after a game drive, staying here would make that easy), great food, great staff. Few places in the Mara to also have a 'massage' centre.

Food: Everything is freshly prepared, wholesome and suited to all taste buds. Ask for a young chap named Peter - he will share his secret recipes with you. The green lentils, the soups, the pancakes and a variety of jams and butter will ensure you add extra calories!

Rooms: Electricity is generator-driven, so, as on all properties in the Mara, there are specific times when this is shut off. However it has never mattered - since you are out on the game drive anyway. Rooms are clean, the tents are safe, mosquito nets provided.
Hot water is available in the morning and evenings (its really HOT). Soap and bath towels provided. Rooms are clean, beds are large and soft, and blankets are fresh and smell good!

Plenty of places to walk around the camp - beer is served cold.
Staff are very friendly and helpful. Its also a great place to hang out with the Masai - a few can be seen around the camp as well.

Room Tip: Actually, every room you choose is great. It is very quiet everywhere. The camp is rather big, and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
12
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were in a wall room (no tented) and it fitted perfectly to us. There are a few choices for breakfast, lunch and diner, but all of them where really good and they change from one day to another. I was asked for help because mine was the only car at that time going to take some people which car broke in their way and it made me feel part of the community, where each one helps each other. Jackson was a friend for us in such place so far from home.

Oloolaimutia gate is the furthest gate to the main places of interest within Maasai Mara, but the reserve is not that large and we could explore it from one side to the other - we were into Mara Triangle - in a single day.

They got sometimes with problems with generator and dinner beginning time was always unknown. But for the chargers, if the electricity starts late by overloads after everybody returning from their safari, they ends it later too.

I only can recommend Rhino tourist camp.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We do not have experience with other camps in Masai Mara, but the impression we had of this camp was bad, compared to Amboseli and Tsavo East where our camps, at the same budget level, were by far extremely nicer.
Rhino Tourist Camp is located outside the gate in a very dirty and depressed area with a bad arrival impression.
The camp inside is clean and tidy but the level of the tents and the standard of the dining room and of the food is very poor.
I do not recomend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just back from 3 days/2nights. Great communication prior to getting to Kenya. Don't expect luxury, but beds are comfortable and the place is clean. Poor guys who had spent 4 times more on basically the same experience - hey - you are out on the plains all day - who needs a swimmingpool? All you need is a bed and a roof over your head. Food decent.

Many thanks for a great experience

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I did a 3 Days/2 nights Masai Mara Safari and i stayed at Rhino Camp. To be quite honest it was not what i was expecting since i was told i would stay in a budget camp.
When we arrived i was a bit shocked as i was expecting to stay in pitched tent but what i found was different.
The camp is actually a permanent camp with large tents which also happen to be self contained with comfortable beds. I could not believe i was having a HOT SHOWER in the wilderness.
I enjoyed the camp fire at night and also the beer after the Game Drives
The 2 nights i spent there was quite wonderful and i will definately make a point of visiting Rhino Camp once again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were looking forward for the long weekend in the Masai Mara during the migration. We have booked the accommodation, I have received a confirmation of writing that all is well. So far, so good - Ken was helpful and everything went smooth. But when it came to confirm the booking, I was waiting to receive the details for making a payment. For couple days, Ken did not communicate and when we called him, our reservation was cancelled and double booked. We had everything in writing and yet the camp double-booked our rooms. They did not offer any other solution. During this period, camp knows they will have enough guests anyway, so they do not need to care about good service, but it is appalling, not serious and simply bad customer care. I will make sure to let our friends and colleagues know that they cannot count on the Rhino camp.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Had a nice couple of nights stay food was ok but the chef made up for it he was very helpful and went out of his way to please a difficult customer. My grandaughter loved the monkeys and masaii village. I will be sending some pics to you for the masaii alan leming i think his name was a very nice lad thanks it was all fine for us debby and chantelle.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rhino Tourist Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhino Tourist Camp

Address: Ololaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an exclusive tented camp for those who want a true wild experience. The camp is situated within the Masai Mara Eco-system and near Ololaimutia Gate near sopa lodge and 230kms from Nairobi. Approximately 5 hours on tarmac and all weather Murram Road, situated outside the park. Flying is one hour to the nearest airstrip which is 30 minutes drive to the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Rhino Tourist Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhino Tourist Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhino Tourist Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.