We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exploreans Mara Rianta Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Exploreans Mara Rianta Camp to your Saves list
Exploreans Mara Rianta Camp
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Cismara Koiyaki Dagurugurueiti | P.O Box 741 - Narok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Wow what a place. From the moment we arrived right up to us leaving they made our stay special. All the staff were amazing and the food was to die for. Anything you needed they would provide from hot water bottles to shoe cleaning. The 'tents' if you can call them that are out of this world with a shower over looking the river, king size beds and the wake up call from the hippos is something I never thought I would hear. When we decided to go on safari we did not know it would be as luxurious as this. We spent two days here and would of liked longer to explore and relax and we will make sure we return. Thank you so much for making our visit special.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    0
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Incredible experience. Accommodations were fantastic and the service was amazing. Never had a personal butler before. The food was also quite good. David the driver/safari guide was exceptionally knowledgeable and was a great driver in difficult rainy season conditions. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Wonderful accommodations, wonderful staff, wonderful experience. Everything about this place is awesome! What made this trip so special is that the guides know so so well the animals who live near the camp. So by the end of the 2nd day, we in the car felt like we knew about the animal families (mom/son/daughter cheetahs, pride of at least 20 lions, leopard brother and sister, elephants --- all of who we saw in one day!) as well. The staff was so gracious and hospitable and went out of their way to make sure that we had every thing we needed to relax and enjoy their wonderful experience. You do hear the hippos making their night sounds, but with all of the fresh air and incredible safari experience - it was only fitting...and you quickly fell back to sleep. The time when not on safari was also so incredibly relaxing. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: All are good -- you have to walk to the dining room no matter where you are. At night they have Mas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I can't say enough good things about Exploreans Mara Rianta lodge. Right from our welcome it was apparent that this place is very special. The staff are very friendly and attentive. The tented suites are amazing and the lodge restaraunt, bar and pool area are beautiful. The level of luxury and service is as good as I've ever experienced. Unlike some other all inclusive hotels there is no cutting corners on food and drinks with a wide selection available. Breakfast was very good. The only small criticism I'd have is that some dishes for lunch and dinner were hit and miss. I think it could be improved if the chef kept the menu to fewer dishes properly executed.

The highlight was the safari game drives. Our guide was very informative and friendly. The conservation is low density compared to other game parks so we were able to get very close to the animals for unparalleled viewing. And there's plenty of game to view. On our first morning drive we saw 4 of the bug 5. Seeing lions feeding and cheetahs hunting up close and personal is a wonderful experience. And sipping a beer on next to our jeep watching the sun set on the savannah is a memory I'll never forget.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I didn't really know what to expect - a friend made reservations on my behalf and I was blown away when I arrived in the 'Mara' last Thursday. The location is fabulous - This permanent tented camp sits along a beautiful, hippo-filled river. I was extremely impressed with the service that was provided. Food was delicious - each meal was a 4 or 5 course event. Eating lunch outside along the river with hippos just a few meters away was a great experience. I was VERY impressed with my guide David. He was extremely knowledgeable, courteous and fun. I had the opportunity to take 4 Game Drives while I was there and saw nearly every one of the amazing animals in the Mara: Elephants, Lions, Leopards, Cheetahs, White Rhinos, etc...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Wonderful permanent tented camp in the spectacular Masa Mara region. Although we were on a private tour group, the camp does offer their own guides and game drives, so one could come here directly without a tour group. The restaurant is as fine a one as you will find anywhere. All the staff were outstanding. Relaxing outdoor pool and plenty of relaxing scenery. Great place to relax and unwind if you want to get away. Make no doubt that this is a luxury property....but worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Quiet, natural beauty, attention to details, outstanding welcoming staff, thrilling game drives, WOW tent and delicious food and two families of hippos... that makes this on my select "I Can't Wait To Return List"! My first experience into the Mara and it was terrific. Traveling alone I believe I received even more TLC. My "private butler" was a delight and he cared for me as if I was a special family member. The deck off my tent gave me views of the river and hippos. I loved it there and had coffee and lunch there on several occasions. The spa service was sensational. The ambiance more than I could ever have expected. My guide, Jackson, was terrific. I learned not only about the Mara but also about the Maasai as he is part of that peaceful tribe. The cuisine and dining service was spectacular. I would strongly recommend this property for not only its amenities but also the game viewing. The first day we watched a leopard in his favorite rock encampment and he was not just sleeping!

Room Tip: My tent was the "Eland" - the largest of the antelopes. Loved the location - private and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exploreans Mara Rianta Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exploreans Mara Rianta Camp

Address: Cismara Koiyaki Dagurugurueiti | P.O Box 741 - Narok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Exploreans Mara Rianta Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Exploreans Mara Rianta Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exploreans Mara Rianta Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exploreans Mara Rianta Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.