We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now this is Africa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Vienna, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Now this is Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at many wonderful and beautiful camps on our Aug. Safari and this was by far the best .The road to get to the camp is more of a path in the jungle then a road . There is no fence around the grounds so they have Masi walking you to and from your tent. . The first thing out of our mouths was NOW THIS IS AFRICA. The tent was beyond words we had a beautiful 4 claw tub in the room with candles lit in the bathroom at night and outside shower . A nice view of the river and a hammock to relax outside in. The staff were very friendly and would try and teach us some worlds in Swahili ( I can now count to 3) The lounge area had the most comfortable sofa and chairs I ever sat in and we had nice little snacks at night there with wine or beer before dinner. We spent 4 fantastic nights at this camp with very friendly and welcoming people ..We ordered all of our meals from a menu and if the first course didn't have anything that you liked the chief would make you something else. We were sooo spoiled. If you can stay at Mara Ngenche camp. Oh yea because we were so close to a river we got to see the Wildbeast crossing all by ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This tented camp is truly extraordinary.
The tents are very beautiful, The view above the river is spectacular and the service is unbelievable friendly.
The chef proposes different menus everyday.
Our guide Milton was a very good driver and the maasai mara is really amazing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

There are several "luxury" tented camps in the Mara. This one is absolutely amazing. The fact that there are only 6 tents allows the service to be very personal. The chef will talk to you about the menu and if you have a craving for something, they will do their best to provide it.

The tents are luxuriously appointed, and very private. Each tent is on its piece of land, and you cannot see the other tents. The outside shower is a unique experience, as you can hear the hippos splashing in the river.

The service in the tents is discrete, but thorough. Every time you go out, they will come in, and tidy up, so that when you return, it is to a pristine tent.

They will assign one driver/guide to each party. That way you can build up a personal rapport with one person.

This camp makes a concerted effort to get you to connect with the local Maasai culture.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights during the annual migration and the experience was magical. The location is truly superb as the camp is situated between the Mara and Talek rivers. This truly unique and secure location allowed me to walk freely through the camp with beautiful and expansive views on either side.

The morning and afternoon game drives were led by friendly guides with a wealth of knowledge about the wildlife, birdlife, culture, and surroundings. As my particular hobby is birding my guide was essential in helping with sightings and putting me in the best locations to get the right photograph.

Overall the service, food, and experience were of the highest standard and the attentive hostess Annemette made sure that all requests were met. I was truly impressed that the staff as this camp made sure that everyone (of all ages) had a unique and personalized safari experience.

Room Tip: Tent #6 has the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Paul Maina and his team are exceptional, welcoming and anticipated our every need. The camp is located at the fork where the Mara meets the Talek River in the amazing Maasai Mara. Crocodiles and hippos share the spotlight in the luxurious and intimate setting. There are only six tents and the service was personal and simply put, amazing.
Luxury at its finest in the Maasai Mara.

Room Tip: they are all amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Going to the Maasai Mara it is very important which camp you pick. There are a lot of camps in this area and not all of them have a good location. A lot of camps are outside the gate. Of course you will see a lot of animals in these areas but the best changes of seeing the big cats and the wildebeest migration is inside the park. If you’re out of the park it can take you a long time to get to the river to see the migration which means that you have to leave early in the afternoon again to be on time at the gate. The gates opens and closes at 6:30. We stayed in several camps in de Mara and all were inside the gates which will give you the best changes of seeing what you wanted to.

The location of the camp is one of the best in the Mara, it is right at the river side were the Mara and the Talek join each other. If you have seen African Cats, the film of Walt Disney you will recognize the palm tree in the river that is close to camp. For the people that are interested in the wildebeest migration: There is a crossing point at the camp but we haven’t seen the wildebeest cross there. The camp is very close to the main crossing points so you’re right in the middle of all the action and you can be there before it gets crowded.

This is the most exclusive camp with the most beautiful tents we have ever stayed in. It is small and intimate with just 6 tents. The tents are just breathtaking! The tents are huge with a wonderful bed and pillows, a nice corner for relaxing which chairs and a table. A nice bathroom with two sinks a bathtub and an outdoor shower. The tents are very clean as well as the rest of the camp, they maintain it very well. The room has a lot of power sockets so you can charge all the batteries. Power is on 24/7. The nice thing about the camp is that everything is solar powered so good for the environment too.

The food is just amazing! The best we had in the Mara! The chef is a nice men who comes to dinner and check if everything is OK. He also asks you what you want for the day after in case of breakfast time and lunchboxes. They prepare amazing lunches, it isn’t a box but just a whole meal that they bring in boxes that keep the lunch warm. They have 4 choices at dinner, which I think is amazing since they only have 6 tents. They have 4 courses and all are very good, you will need to exercise at home if you stay here too long. Soda’s and water as well as several alcoholic drinks are included. You can make your own plan for the day, so go out first and come back for breakfast or have breakfast first and come back for lunch etc. This is nice since some of the camps have their own program that cannot be changed.

The staff is super friendly and amazing in what they do, they give you a warm feeling. The Masaai guards that escort you to your tent at night are the only ones that we had real faith in. In most camps you will be escorted but they mostly only carry a torch and that’s it. The Masaai at the Ngenche camp are real warrior’s and look fears. They are very nice and appreciate it if you learn some Masaai words.

We didn’t use the driver/ guides from the camp since we had our own driver but the guides of the camp seemed to be very good and knew what there were doing. What we thought was extremely kind was the fact that we had left the camp already for a few days and stayed somewhere else but they called our guide to tell him they spotted a leopard. We believe that was very thoughtful and gives a good idea how the camp works.

Room Tip: They do not have bad rooms on this lodge. This lodge is absolutly fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Excellent Location, Great staff and food. Joseph our guide and driver showed us the big 5 all in one day. Amazing how they put it all together in the middle of Masai Mara. The best place I have stayed in the Mara.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp

Also Known As:
Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve
Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp to your Saves list