We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True luxury in the middle of the Maasai Mara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp

Save Saved
You added Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“True luxury in the middle of the Maasai Mara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Going to the Maasai Mara it is very important which camp you pick. There are a lot of camps in this area and not all of them have a good location. A lot of camps are outside the gate. Of course you will see a lot of animals in these areas but the best changes of seeing the big cats and the wildebeest migration is inside the park. If you’re out of the park it can take you a long time to get to the river to see the migration which means that you have to leave early in the afternoon again to be on time at the gate. The gates opens and closes at 6:30. We stayed in several camps in de Mara and all were inside the gates which will give you the best changes of seeing what you wanted to.

The location of the camp is one of the best in the Mara, it is right at the river side were the Mara and the Talek join each other. If you have seen African Cats, the film of Walt Disney you will recognize the palm tree in the river that is close to camp. For the people that are interested in the wildebeest migration: There is a crossing point at the camp but we haven’t seen the wildebeest cross there. The camp is very close to the main crossing points so you’re right in the middle of all the action and you can be there before it gets crowded.

This is the most exclusive camp with the most beautiful tents we have ever stayed in. It is small and intimate with just 6 tents. The tents are just breathtaking! The tents are huge with a wonderful bed and pillows, a nice corner for relaxing which chairs and a table. A nice bathroom with two sinks a bathtub and an outdoor shower. The tents are very clean as well as the rest of the camp, they maintain it very well. The room has a lot of power sockets so you can charge all the batteries. Power is on 24/7. The nice thing about the camp is that everything is solar powered so good for the environment too.

The food is just amazing! The best we had in the Mara! The chef is a nice men who comes to dinner and check if everything is OK. He also asks you what you want for the day after in case of breakfast time and lunchboxes. They prepare amazing lunches, it isn’t a box but just a whole meal that they bring in boxes that keep the lunch warm. They have 4 choices at dinner, which I think is amazing since they only have 6 tents. They have 4 courses and all are very good, you will need to exercise at home if you stay here too long. Soda’s and water as well as several alcoholic drinks are included. You can make your own plan for the day, so go out first and come back for breakfast or have breakfast first and come back for lunch etc. This is nice since some of the camps have their own program that cannot be changed.

The staff is super friendly and amazing in what they do, they give you a warm feeling. The Masaai guards that escort you to your tent at night are the only ones that we had real faith in. In most camps you will be escorted but they mostly only carry a torch and that’s it. The Masaai at the Ngenche camp are real warrior’s and look fears. They are very nice and appreciate it if you learn some Masaai words.

We didn’t use the driver/ guides from the camp since we had our own driver but the guides of the camp seemed to be very good and knew what there were doing. What we thought was extremely kind was the fact that we had left the camp already for a few days and stayed somewhere else but they called our guide to tell him they spotted a leopard. We believe that was very thoughtful and gives a good idea how the camp works.

Room Tip: They do not have bad rooms on this lodge. This lodge is absolutly fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Excellent Location, Great staff and food. Joseph our guide and driver showed us the big 5 all in one day. Amazing how they put it all together in the middle of Masai Mara. The best place I have stayed in the Mara.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed four nights at Mara Ngenche in early August. Everything exceeded our expectations. The tents were luxurious and the service was impeccable. It is a very small camp with only six tents. All the service was very personal. The tents were also much better than my expectation. It had electricity, full plumbing bathroom and plenty of lights for night. The food and service was also great. The cooked food was delicious and the beers were cold and refreshing. It was hard to ask for anything more.

We arrived shortly after the wildebeests arrived from Tanzania. We saw so many animals and action. We even saw a lion pride plan and execute a hunt on a group of wildebeests. Our guide Lucas was also excellent. He was able to pick out lions in the grass with his naked eye when I can’t even see them with my binoculars! The entire trip was simply amazing.

I included some pictures from our trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The four of us (two couples) spent two nights at the camp in June 2012. For the first night, there were only 6 other guests, a film crew, whom we did not see at all and the second night, we were the only ones at the camp. The tents are luxurious with all the amenities that are provided by 5-star hotels. The location of the rooms with an overlook into a gorge is about 20 feet away and afforded the most beautiful view of the Mara river with several hippos lounging around. The service was absolutely incredible and the staff extremely well trained. Breakfast and lunch were served outdoors near the edge of the gorge and were very enjoyable. The dinner was gourmet quality with desserts which were personalized with our names on the last night. Annamette, the young lady manager was a wonderful, warm and friendly host and we were very happy to have met her.
Kunal and Chitra Shah

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in 3 tents over Easter - wonderful experience with excellent service from all staff - the tents are huge, beautifully furnished, with great views of the river - hippos, crocodiles etc to be viewed at the end of the garden. The baths (with scented candles) are a delight - don't be put off by the outdoor showers - they are great fun! Food is outstanding and we were even left home made chocolates in the tents too. The manager, Annamette, was very attentive and all the staff could not be faulted - Annamette arranged for a cake for our son's birthday whilst we there, along with Maasai dancers, singing etc too. All in all a great experience and we would definitely recommend - one of the best places we have stayed in, not only in the Mara, but throughout Kenya.

Room Tip: We stayed in 4, 5 and 6, which were all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in early Feb. 2012. From the moment we got there until the moment we left there was not a single detail left to prepare for. The tents, which are more like apartments with canvas walls, were totally inviting and had all the amenities you could need. The water was hot, the lighting was ample, even little details like having bug-spray and toiletries already in our room were taken care of.

The staff were extremely hospitable and we interacted with everyone from the manager to Maasai tribesmen also on the premises who are there to escort you from your tent to anywhere in the camp anytime, day or night.

Location wise, the camp is on a cliff overlooking the river where Hippos and sometimes a Crocodile were present. It was the slow time of the year but we still saw all the big attractions (Hippos, Crocs, Wildebeest, Giraffe, Elephants, Lions, Hyenas, Ostrich, Zebra) and about 30 types of deer, and the list goes on. The river has a junction point just metres beyond the far end of the camp and during the migration is supposed to be very active. I myself was able to walk down close to the river bank in the day time (again, happily escorted by a camp tribe member who patiently waited while I got my fill of picture taking of the Hippos 30 metres away).

My wife and I loved every minute of our time there and are anxiously looking to make some time to go back again during the migration season.

Room Tip: Only 6 tents, they are all equally good from what I understand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Summary: At the start of this year my partner and myself spent 3 nights at this camp. For the first two nights we had the place to ourselves having just missed the new-year rush. This new camp stands out over the other camps that I have previously stayed at. The whole experience felt like being on an exclusive honeymoon which will now be hard to beat when the real one comes around!

Service: Everything flowed exceptionally smoothly. The staff were friendly and within a short time it felt as though I was catching up with friends I had known for years. Annemette (manager) and her crew obviously enjoy their job and are good at it. Every need is tended to and every aspect worked like a well-oiled machine.

Value: For a luxury camp, no question it is excellent especially when combined with the flying package.

Sleep Quality: Depends on how you look at it... I find it a novelty being woken up by the sound of the wildlife in camp and loved it, some might not. The beds for me are very comfortable and it is easy to get a great night sleep.

Cleanliness: Tents were cleaned every day. Free standing bath and outdoor shower was enough to keep even myself clean on a dusty safari.

Location: Junction of two rivers in the heart of the park. Enough said. The sounds of the birds and insects are occasionally broken by the sound of the hippos calling out to each other. I had no end of entertainment watching the hippos. The road into the camp itself from the open part of the park is a bit bumpy (excused as an "african massage") and takes a few minutes. The recent unseasonal wet weather had caused the road to break up and it in the progress of being sorted.

Rooms: Have a look at the brochure, does what it says on the tin. Only marginal issue is that each tent, although it has its own private garden down to the river is not "on" the river in the true sense of the word. The 15 yard walk to the edge was not a hardship though. On a different note, there is 24 hour electricity in all the rooms useful for charging a camera that you are guaranteed to keep busy.

Other Info: When you get the choice, definitely opt into the sun downers. A neighbourhood friendly herd of giraffe tend to want to get involved.

Amazing experience to be repeated soon.

Room Tip: Rooms 4, 5 and 6 tend to have more wildlife walk past during the night... Your choice what you prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp

Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.