We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a Life Time Experience... To Be Done More Than Once!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp

Save Saved
You added Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Once in a Life Time Experience... To Be Done More Than Once!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Summary: At the start of this year my partner and myself spent 3 nights at this camp. For the first two nights we had the place to ourselves having just missed the new-year rush. This new camp stands out over the other camps that I have previously stayed at. The whole experience felt like being on an exclusive honeymoon which will now be hard to beat when the real one comes around!

Service: Everything flowed exceptionally smoothly. The staff were friendly and within a short time it felt as though I was catching up with friends I had known for years. Annemette (manager) and her crew obviously enjoy their job and are good at it. Every need is tended to and every aspect worked like a well-oiled machine.

Value: For a luxury camp, no question it is excellent especially when combined with the flying package.

Sleep Quality: Depends on how you look at it... I find it a novelty being woken up by the sound of the wildlife in camp and loved it, some might not. The beds for me are very comfortable and it is easy to get a great night sleep.

Cleanliness: Tents were cleaned every day. Free standing bath and outdoor shower was enough to keep even myself clean on a dusty safari.

Location: Junction of two rivers in the heart of the park. Enough said. The sounds of the birds and insects are occasionally broken by the sound of the hippos calling out to each other. I had no end of entertainment watching the hippos. The road into the camp itself from the open part of the park is a bit bumpy (excused as an "african massage") and takes a few minutes. The recent unseasonal wet weather had caused the road to break up and it in the progress of being sorted.

Rooms: Have a look at the brochure, does what it says on the tin. Only marginal issue is that each tent, although it has its own private garden down to the river is not "on" the river in the true sense of the word. The 15 yard walk to the edge was not a hardship though. On a different note, there is 24 hour electricity in all the rooms useful for charging a camera that you are guaranteed to keep busy.

Other Info: When you get the choice, definitely opt into the sun downers. A neighbourhood friendly herd of giraffe tend to want to get involved.

Amazing experience to be repeated soon.

Room Tip: Rooms 4, 5 and 6 tend to have more wildlife walk past during the night... Your choice what you prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Excellent service, luxurious tents and great people. Your guaranteed to have a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This hotel was my highlight of my recent trip around kenya.

Rooms - these were excellent, very high quality and I loved the design. They are also great for couples are each room is very private with open showers.

Staff / food- they were very friendly and on hand to deal with our every request. We were especially impressed by the quality of food that we had and the presentation. At points we forgot where we were.

Location - Having been to the mara many times before I have never seen a better located lodge with excellent views.

I will definetly be back with the girlfriend.

Room Tip: There are only six rooms so all are ideally located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We went as a group of 12 to visit the Masai Mara and go on Safari for 3 days. It was rolled into our honeymoon trip and we ended up having the time of our lives here at Mara Ngenche!! There are only 6 tents, so we took up the entire camp and made it our home. Each tent has their own Masai warrior to guard your tent, especially at night from the wild animals. The camp used to be a popular spot for elephants, lions, and hippos, so they still experience "visitors" at night, which keeps us and definitely the Masai warriors on their toes. You can hear these animals throughout the night and it makes for an incredible experience. The camp itself is situated at the convergence of two rivers (Mara and Telek) on top of the river bank where there are hippos and crocodiles (which you can hear!). Right outside the camp site you will see hippos, elephant and giraffe. All the tents are huge and have separate claw bathtubs, outdoor rain showers, his-and-hers sinks, toilet, wardrobes, desk (with outlets), and sitting areas inside and outside as well. Food service was excellent, with plated meals for the whole group. Breakfast buffets and lunch was outdoors riverside and simply fantastic -you're given choices for meal options (style of eggs, 3 choices for lunches and dinners each, including vegetarian options). Pre-dinner drinks in the lounge was amazing -with a full bar, several couches and outdoor seating. Dinner was in a formal dining tent -it was candlelit with a long table. This place was better than any 4 star hotel we have stayed (anywhere in the world) and rivals most 5 star hotels -simply for the equally amazing atmosphere, staff, accommodations, and hospitality.

Room Tip: Farthest room from the camp (#6) is the quietest (from the rest of the guests).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

WE stayed here mid August 2011 and were initially apprehensive because it was an unfenced camp - idea being to get immersed in the experience, nature etc..Within half an hour all jitters were gone.

The camp is amazing and very intimate (only 6 tents) which made for a more authentic and personal experience. Located at the confluence of the Mara and Talek Rivers...you dont need to go far to see action as this is one location for the Wildebeest crossing. Tents are 5*, Food is excellent (try having breakfast by the river bank), staff are friendly and professional. The guides for the game drives always seemed to have the upper hand on their counterparts with other agencies.

All in all an experience (The Mara) everyone must have...No need to over kill it on here...check it out for yourself, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

A brand new property, with just six luxury tents (all with private bathtubs and open to air showers) and solar lighting & heating, located at the V junction of the two biggest rivers in Masai Mara - the Mara & the Talek.
Each tent has it's dedicated masai Warrior Guard, for your safety while you are in the camp 24*&!
The location ensures lots of wildlife walk-throughs the camp at night, like Elephants, Hippos and the occasional big cat!
Annemette, the Camp Manager, - a Danish American vet who's been living in the Maara since 1994 - and her highly committed and dedicated team cater to your personal requirements with smile and grace.
The food is classy too! Here in the jungle, every meal is sit-down service with four courses and a choice of three non-veg (red meat, white meat, seafood) & 2 veg options for the main course. The desserts are to die for! We put on weight!
Tome Lukas, our Masai driver-guide, has a keen eye for game and wildlife and is a guide that most other guides in the Mara look up to!
All in all, a truly enjoyable stay! Exceeded all expectations!

Room Tip: All six rooms are secluded with thatched fences, so provide privacy. Probably, Room 6, right at one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu dhabi
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We enjoyed nature and experienced raw wilderness with luxury thrown in with minimum fuss. Tents are large and kept spotless, we stayed in tents 4 and 5, both overlooking the mighty Mara River. The family enjoyed breakfast and lunch with crocodiles, hippos, elephants and the poor wildebeests who did not make a successful crossing in the background. We witnessed a wildebeest crossing on approach to the camp and there are a couple of nearby crossings points. On the way to the camp we witnessed giraffes sparring, elephants and a lone hippo in the middle of the path. Just as we got to the bush for our sundowner drinks a black rhino walked past. Catering is overlooked by the excellent chef Simon and his brilliant team, enjoy meals on par with the best restaurants. Both the guides Lucas and Milton are excellent. Milton was incredible at pointing out animals and knowledgeable regarding the history and behaviour of these animals, in fact he was genuine in love with nature and passionate in protecting and preserving the Mara ecosystem. None of the cruisers have the irritating two way radios which tend to disturb and infringe on the sounds of nature. Finally the camp manger , Annemette who was amazing at making sure nothing went wrong with our stay and at the same time was almost invisible, she demonstrated a combination of absolute professionalism and the warmest hospitality. i am a seasoned visitor to Mara and have stayed at a number of camps and she stands head and shoulders above every other camp managers. All the people at the camp did everything to make our stay memorable and we will definitely be back in next year or two.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp

Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Ngenche Luxury Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.