We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mara at its Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Eden Safari Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mara Eden Safari Camp to your Saves list
Mara Eden Safari Camp
Masai Mara, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
7 DAYS KENYA TOUR $2049/-
Westport, Massachusetts, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Mara at its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Mara Eden truly is a slice of paradise. It's situated riverside and accessed over a cable bridge. The grounds are lush, the tents are perfect, clean and comfortable and the communal fireplace is a fantastic place to hang at the end of the day. The food was exceptionally prepared with loads of flavor and regional influence. Eden's staff is exceptional, charming and attentive. And the owners? Simply fantastic. I'd return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
29
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

What an experience! The highlight of our 6 week honeymoon in Africa. The care and attention of staff was out of this world. True safari tented experience. From the to your door coffee service to the beautiful fluffy towels and bathrobes, you want for nothing in this blissfull place. The food was delicious and the lounge was always stocked with snacks and freshly brewed coffee for you to enjoy after a safari drive. Would go back tomorrow if I could. Enjoy it while you can!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Mara Eden Safari Camp. The service and attention we received at Mara Eden was unique because it was very homely. The accomodation and food was excellent and we had a memorable bush experience. I highly recommend this facility to any visitor to Maasai Mara. Thank you Jay and Munir for a wonderful time. M Mazrui and family

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nine days to the elections and that’s what everyone’s talking about! Driving on the tarmac through the escarpments, through the Narok county all I see and hear is Campaign cars! And thus my excitement to get on the rough roads! I am off to the Mara with only one thing on my mind- anything but politics please!
“So guys, I need you to listen up carefully. We are about to reach the camp and you need to be a bit careful here. There are buffaloes and hippos that roam this land and you will have to wait to be escorted to the Lounge. There will be men waiting for you when we arrive to do this.”
And Bob’s your Uncle! Welcome to Mara Eden!
Across the bridge over the Talek River, with the cool breeze and the smell of warm buffalo poo- you know you are going to like it here!
‘One does not simply roam in Mara Eden alone’, explains Jay. ‘Blow the whistle in your room and a delighted gentleman will escort you wherever you please to go’
Remember, we are in the Mara!
But of course you already know this. You can’t mistake this place - no sounds of the city at all! Just purely wilderness! Hyenas, Leopards, Hippos, Night Birds and even a Dung beetle shrieking under the dinner table as Squirts tries to catch it!
This is one place Insomnia doesn’t roam, one place you wake up early with a smile on your face eager for the Sunrise (mind you, sunrise is also the best time to be in the bathroom, lovely lighting and temperature!).
Lovely place, Lovely people, Lovely Chow, Lovely scenery!
Many friendly faces we met. Many friendly sightings we saw. Many things we learnt (Thanks for the Hangover remedy Jay!).
Now we drive back to the city, to a different jungle- one with no tranquility. Where one does not have a whistle to call for protection from the beasts that lurk here.
We sit and wait to vote like wilderbeasts waiting to cross the Mara River. And like their fate ours too is unknown.
“It’s a Game.” Says Peter.
Thank you Jay and Munir, Rajiv, Leshon, Peter(only the best guide ever!) and to all the staff at Mara Eden especially Fred and Evans for teaching me how to use the Spear!
Until we meet again.

Isabella xx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Thank you! You have given us the utmost attention at Mara Eden Safari Camp. We felt welcome and are so satisfied with your hospitality, food and service. The camp will be recommended to all our friends and relatives. Hope we can come back some time and see you again. Take care!
Love from Randi Lind and family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Mara Eden, Mara Eden. One cannot help repeating it. Mara Eden is quite unique. I didnt know quite what I was looking for when arriving at the Masai Mara but when I arrived at Mara Eden Safari Camp, I knew immediately that I had found it.
Mara Eden doesnt snuggle or nestle into the bush, it just blends as though it belongs to the bush. It is the real deal, as close to nature, in luxury, as one can possible wish for.
The accomodation, spacious beautifully decorated Tents float on their wooden decks in the bush, unobtrusively, each tents veranda with its own uninterupted view of tranquility.
The vast Masai Mara beckons across the river, the depth and length of this chunk of East Africa is beyond description. It is silent, loud, tranquil and violent. It is Africa at its ancient finest.
Mara Eden operates like a Swiss watch. As a guest huge breakfasts at your leisure or early morning coffee and rusks and then into the bush for a game experience. They dont do bush drives, Oh no, it is a bush experience and the rangers and guides have an intimate knowledge of the Mara and quite obviously a lifetime of love for this bush.
Mara Eden attracts the most interesting people and there are always game guides and balloon pilots or other camp owners sharing their incredible stories of the bush.
Munir and Jay are the perfect hosts and the staff are fantastic.
I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were lucky enough to spend a few days at the Mara Eden Safari Camp and had a wonderful time. Everyone was extremelly friendly and attentive, the food was excellent and the tents are gorgeous and confortable. Our very knowledgeable guide took us to see every animal we could wish for, and was also an excellent driver which comes in handy. We were there with kids and a grandmother, and everyone felt safe and enjoyed it.
This trip was memorable for the beauty of the natural surroundings, and for the cosyness of the resting moments at the camp: Having lunch under the tree, falling asleep listening to the birds and the water... A unique experience. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Eden Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Eden Safari Camp

Address: Masai Mara, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful and serene tented camp with 10 en suite tents on the banks of the Mara River, stunning views, great meals and superb game drives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Mara Eden Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Eden Safari Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Eden Safari Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.